Author:
Lars Becker

The stars of winter sports: Lindsey Vonn, alpine skiing

Lindsey Vonn: Her successes on skis, in the sports business and on Instagram

There was no getting around Lindsey Vonn on and off the slopes. The downhill specialist from the USA is a World Cup record winner and even after the end of her career a phenomenon on Facebook and Instagram, where she shows herself with her fiancé P. K. Subban. But she is also active in the sports business as co-owner of Yniq.

Lindsey Vonn ist die erfolgreichste Weltcup-Fahrerin der Geschichte.
Lindsey Vonn ist die erfolgreichste Weltcup-Fahrerin der Geschichte.

Lindsey Vonn was probably the most dazzling figure in the women's alpine circus from 2004 to 2019. For years, the US American combined sporting success with glamour. The downhill and super-G specialist won the overall World Cup four times, with her last overall triumph dating back to 2012.

With 82 victories, Vonn is the most successful World Cup racer in history. Her 18 World Cup wins at one venue (Lake Louise) are also unparalleled.

After the 2018/19 winter sports season, Vonn ended her career at the age of 34 - befittingly with a World Cup medal (bronze in Are, Sweden).

Glamour girl Lindsey Vonn

Before her big appearances on the slopes, the extroverted American made tabloid headlines as she often does. She is said to have enlisted her male colleagues and friends Kjetil Jansrud and Aksel Lund Svindal to find her a new partner.

In general, it's been Vonn's man stories that have dominated the headlines in recent years - whether it's her failed relationship with golfer Tiger Woods from 2012 to 2015 or her love affair with an NFL assistant coach.Vonn has been engaged to professional ice hockey player P.K. Subban since 2019.

This is Lindsey Vonn: successes, fans, sponsors

Successes:

Four times winner of the overall World Cup, twice world champion as well as once downhill gold at the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver. Lindsey Vonn is the most successful alpine skiing athlete of her generation.

Eight small crystal globes for winning the downhill World Cup demonstrate her dominance in the high-speed discipline.

Social:

Instagram2 million followers

Facebook: 1,4 Mio followers

Lindsey Vonn pulls on Instagram

Lindsey Vonn is the clear number 1 on Instagram and Facebook among the stars in alpine skiing. Even the active alpine men can only dream of her follower numbers.

When the breakup with her boyfriend Kenan Smith was announced in the fall of 2017, she let her fans in on it with a cryptic tweet. "Sometimes no matter how hard you try, you're just not good enough," Vonn tweeted. On Intagram, she also gives glimpses into her private life with fiancé P.K. Subban, but also shows clear edges with political and social statements, such as on the Black Lives Matter movement.

Lindsey Vonn: Involved with Yniq as a businesswoman

Suppliers/Sponsors:

Head (skis), Oakley (goggles), Leki (poles), Briko, Reusch, Rolex, Under Armour.

Revenue:

With an estimated annual income of €2.5 million in her final years as an active athlete, prize money accounted for a relatively small portion, around €100,000 per season, compared to sponsorship income and advertising deals.

Meanwhile, Vonn is also a businesswoman: As the face of ski equipment brand Yniq, in which she became an investor in 2019.

Share article
Author:
Lars Becker
Topics in this article


Author:
Lars Becker






Comments

Autor:
Lars Becker

Die Stars des Wintersports: Lindsey Vonn, Ski alpin

Lindsey Vonn: Ihre Erfolge auf Ski, im Sportbusiness und auf Instagram

An Lindsey Vonn gab es auf und neben der Piste kein Vorbeikommen. Die Abfahrt-Spezialistin aus den USA ist Weltcup-Rekordsiegerin und auch nach dem Karriereende ein Phänomen auf Facebook und Instagram, wo sie sich mit ihrem Verlobten P. K. Subban zeigt. Aber auch im Sportbusiness ist sie als Mitbesitzerin von Yniq aktiv.

Lindsey Vonn ist die erfolgreichste Weltcup-Fahrerin der Geschichte.
Lindsey Vonn ist die erfolgreichste Weltcup-Fahrerin der Geschichte.

Lindsey Vonn war von 2004 bis 2019 die wohl schillerndste Figur im Alpin-Zirkus der Frauen. Die US-Amerikanerin vereinte jahrelang sportliche Erfolge mit Glamour. Die Abfahrt- und Super-G-Spezialistin gewann viermal den Gesamtweltcup, wobei der letzte Gesamttriumph noch aus dem Jahr 2012 datiert.

Mit 82 Siegen ist Vonn die erfolgreichste Weltcup-Fahrerin der Geschichte. Auch ihre 18 Weltcupsiege an einem Ort (Lake Louise) sind einmalig.

Nach der Wintersport-Saison 2018/19 hat Vonn mit 34 Jahren ihre Karriere beendet - standesgemäß mit einer WM-Medaille (Bronze im schwedischen Are).

Glamourgirl Lindsey Vonn

Vor ihren großen Auftritten auf der Piste machte die extrovertierte Amerikanerin wie so oft Boulevard-Schlagzeilen. So soll sie ihre männlichen Kollegen und Freunde Kjetil Jansrud und Aksel Lund Svindal eingespannt haben, um für sie einen neuen Partner zu finden. 

Überhaupt waren es zuletzt eher Vonns Männergeschichten, die in den letzten Jahren die Schlagzeilen dominierten – ob ihre gescheiterte Beziehung mit Golfer Tiger Woods von 2012 bis 2015 oder ihre Liebschaft mit einem NFL-Assistenzcoach. Seit 2019 ist Vonn mit dem Eishockey-Profi P. K. Subban verlobt.

Das ist Lindsey Vonn: Erfolge, Fans, Sponsoren

Erfolge:

Viermal Siegerin im Gesamtweltcup, zweimal Weltmeisterin sowie einmal Abfahrtgold bei den Olympischen Spielen 2010 in Vancouver. Lindsey Vonn ist die erfolgreichste Ski-alpin-Athletin ihrer Generation.

Acht kleine Kristallkugeln für den gewonnen Abfahrtsweltcup demonstrieren ihre Dominanz in der High-Speed-Disziplin.

Social:

Instagram: 2 Mio Follower

Facebook: 1,4 Mio Follower

Lindsey Vonn zieht auf Instagram

Lindsey Vonn ist die klare Nummer 1 bei Instagram und Facebook unter den Stars im Ski Alpin. Von ihren Follower-Zahlen können auch die aktiven Alpin-Männer nur träumen.

Als im Herbst 2017 die Trennung von ihrem Freund Kenan Smith bekannt wurde, ließ sie ihre Fans mit einer kryptischen Tweet teilhaben. „Manchmal bist du, egal wie sehr du dich anstrengst, einfach nicht gut genug", twitterte Vonn. Auf Intagram gibt sie auch Einblicke in ihr Privatleben mit ihrem Verlobten P. K. Subban, zeigt aber auch mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Statements, etwa zur Bewegung Black Lives Matter, klare Kante.

Lindsey Vonn: Bei Yniq als Geschäftsfrau involviert

Ausrüster/Sponsoren:

Head (Ski), Oakley (Brille), Leki (Stöcke), Briko, Reusch, Rolex, Under Armour

Einnahmen:

Bei den geschätzten Jahreseinnahmen von 2,5 Millionen Euro in ihren letzten Jahren als aktive Sportlerinnen machten die Preisgeldern mit etwa 100.000 Euro pro Saison im Vergleich zu Sponsoreneinnahmen und Werbedeals einen verhältnismäßig geringen Anteil aus.

Inzwischen ist Vonn auch als Geschäftsfrau tätig: Als Gesicht der Ski-Equipment-Marke Yniq, in die sie 2019 als Investorin eingestiegen ist.

 

Autor:
Lars Becker
Themen dieses Artikels


Autor:
Lars Becker




Wintersport
Storys, News, Ratgeber und Hintergründe aus der Welt des Wintersports lesen Sie hier.


Kommentare