Eliud Kipchoge

Eliud Kipchoge "The greatest of all time"

Eliud Kipchoge is the fastest marathon runner in the world, over many years he has set countless records. His career started in his younger years rather out of an emergency situation and he had to fight his way from the bottom to the top of the marathon runners. Three times Kipchoge won an Olympic medal. He went down in history as the first person to run a marathon under a time of two hours and at only 18 years of age the Kenyan became world champion in the 5000 meter run. Despite his many successes, Eliud Kipchoge has remained an extremely modest person and continues to impress with his down-to-earth lifestyle:

Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Gold medals at the World Marathon Majors
0
Million estimated assets
0
Medals at the Olympic Games
Page 1 of 
Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Gold medals at the World Marathon Majors
0
Million estimated assets
Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Medals at the Olympic Games
Page 1 of 
Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Gold medals at the World Marathon Majors
Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Million estimated assets
Eliud Kipchoge in numbers:
0
Medals at the Olympic Games
Page 1 of 

Hero Moments

Eliud Kipchoge is the greatest in his discipline, breaking one world record after another. But that was not always the case. The marathon runner grew up in poor circumstances and had to work hard to make his way to the top of the world of runners. Even the disease malaria could not dissuade him from his plans. Precisely because this disease plays a major role in Eliud Kipchoge's life, he has joined forces with the organizationZero Malaria" for the fight against and eradication of malaria. For us, a true role model from whom one can learn above all willpower and perseverance.

Kipochge in the fight against malaria

Early in his career, Kipchoge didn't even come close to competing at the district level. He began training on his own motivation shortly after leaving school and initially finished second overall in 2001 when he took part in a jackpot series of races. He was then spotted by manager Jos Hermens and by that year he had crossed the finish line as the winner of the junior race at Kenya's Trials and was thus selected for the 2002 World Cross Championships in Dublin. But then his career was put on hold: Kipchoge fell ill shortly before the World Championships and again afterwards, among other things with malaria. Once he had fully recovered, however, there was no stopping him and his career took off. Today Kipchoge is working together with the organisation Zero MalariaKipchoge now works with the organization Zero Malaria to fight the disease that threatened his career.

Kipchoge on record hunt

Eliud Kipchoge claimed the title as the greatest marathon runner of all time in Berlin in September 2018 with a time of 2:01:39. Since then, he has been the unbeaten record holder. Kipchoge even managed to break the two-hour mark at the Vienna marathon in 2019, clocking a record time of 1:59.40: Making him the first person to achieve a sub-2-hour time in a marathon. In addition, he took the gold medal in the marathon at the Rio Olympics in 2016 and the Tokyo Olympics in 2021, among other events, and won an Olympic medal two other times. Overall, Kipchoge holds several records that remain unbeaten to this day.

The struggle out of poverty

Originally, Eliud Kipchoge had not planned to pursue a career as a runner, instead he wanted to study human resources management. However, this dream remained unfulfilled because his family lacked the necessary money to enable him to study. So Kipchoge looked for a way to earn money and thus started running. Already as a child he was used to marching many kilometres to school and in the highlands of Kenya a runner has the chance to earn a regular income - and so Kipchoge started running at the age of 16. His hard training paid off: Kipochge won the junior world title as well as several victories in cross country or even on the track. Thus he gradually developed into today's Olympic champion and world record holder in marathon running.

Best times of the runner

YearDistanceTime
20041500m3:33.20
20045000m12:46.53
200710000m26:49.02
20113000m7:27.66
2012Half Marathon59:25
2016Marathon2:03:05
2018Marathon2:01:39
2019Marathon1:59.40

Eliud Kipchoge leads a modest life

Kipchoge has remained incredibly modest despite his countless successes, which are associated with high prize money. He still lives in Eldoret, Kenya, with his family and trains and trains from Monday to Saturday in a nearby training camp in in Kaptagat. Here, nothing resembles luxury accommodation and the runners spend a simple, uncomplicated and down-to-earth life. They cook their own food, keep their rooms clean and fetch drinking water from a nearby well - including millionaire Kipchoge. On Sundays, the world record holder prefers to go to church with his wife and three children. Religion plays a very important role in his life, so that he doesn't let it hold him back from his goals. And his fortune? The marathon runner has invested it down-to-earth in a farm and other real estate.

„No human is limited. But it’s also human nature to put limits on yourself.“
Eliud Kipchoge

Eliud in brief

Sport:Long distance runner
Nationality:Kenya
Birthday:November 05. 1984
Born in:Kapsisiywa, Kapsabet
Place of residence:Eldoret
Height:167 cm
Estimated net worth:2.5 million euros
Coach:Patrick Sang
National squad:Since 2002
Followers on Instagram:1.4 million
Wife:Grace Sugutt
Sponsors

Eliud Kipchoge

Eliud Kipchoge „The greatest of all time“

Eliud Kipchoge ist der schnellste Marathonläufer der Welt, über viele Jahre hinweg konnte er unzählige Rekorde aufstellen. Dabei startete seine Karriere in jüngeren Jahren eher aus einer Notsituation heraus und er musste sich von ganz unten an die Spitze der Marathonläufer kämpfen. Dreimal gewann Kipchoge gewann eine olympische Medaille. Er ging als erster Mensch, welcher einen Marathon unter einer Zeit von zwei Stunden lief, in die Geschichte ein und bereits mit nur 18 Jahren wurde der Kenianer Weltmeister im 5000 Meter Lauf. Trotz seiner etlichen Erfolge ist Eliud Kipchoge ein äußerst bescheidener Mensch geblieben und beeindruckt mit einem nach wie vor bodenständigen Lebensstil:

Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Goldmedaillen bei den World Marathon Majors
0
Millionen geschätztes Vermögen
0
Medaillen bei den Olympischen Spielen
Seite 1 von 
Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Goldmedaillen bei den World Marathon Majors
0
Millionen geschätztes Vermögen
Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Medaillen bei den Olympischen Spielen
Seite 1 von 
Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Goldmedaillen bei den World Marathon Majors
Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Millionen geschätztes Vermögen
Eliud Kipchoge in Zahlen:
0
Medaillen bei den Olympischen Spielen
Seite 1 von 

Hero Moments

Eliud Kipchoge ist der Größte seiner Disziplin und bricht einen Weltrekord nach dem anderen. Dabei war das nicht immer so. Der Marathonläufer wuchs nämlich in ärmlichen Verhältnissen auf und musste sich seinen Weg an die Weltspitze der Läufer erst hart erarbeiten. Auch die Krankheit Malaria konnte ihn nicht von seinen Plänen abbringen. Gerade weil diese Krankheit eine große Rolle im Leben von Eliud Kipchoge spielt, macht er sich zusammen mit der Organisation Zero Malariafür die Bekämpfung und Ausrottung von Malaria stark. Für uns ein echtes Vorbild, von dem man vor allem Willensstärke und Ausdauer lernen kann.

Kipochge im Kampf gegen Malaria

Zu Beginn seiner Karriere kam Kipchoge nicht einmal in die Nähe der Wettkämpfe auf Bezirksebene. Er begann kurz nach seinem Schulabschluss aus eigener Motivation zu trainieren und erreichte zunächst 2001 bei der Teilnahme einer Jackpot-Wettkampfserie Platz Zwei in der Gesamtwertung. Daraufhin entdeckte ihn der Manager Jos Hermens und schon das Jahr ging er als Sieger im Juniorenrennen bei Kenias Trials über die Ziellinie und wurde so für die Cross-Weltmeisterschaften 2002 in Dublin ausgewählt. Dann wurde seine Karriere allerdings erst einmal ausgebremst: Kipchoge erkrankte nämlich kurz vor den Weltmeisterschaften und auch im Anschluss noch einmal, unter anderem an Malaria. Nachdem er sich vollständig erholt hatte, war er allerdings nicht mehr zu stoppen und seine Karriere ging steil bergauf. Heute setzt sich Kipchoge gemeinsam mit der Organisation Zero Malaria, für die Bekämpfung der Krankheit ein, die seine Karriere bedrohte.

Kipchoge auf Rekordjagd

Eliud Kipchoge holte sich im September 2018 in Berlin mit einer Zeit von 2:01:39 Stunden den Titel als größter Marathonläufer aller Zeiten. Seitdem ist er ungeschlagener Rekordhalter. Sogar die zwei Stunden-Marke konnte Kipchoge beim Marathon in Wien im Jahr 2019 brechen und schaffte dabei eine Rekordzeit von 1:59.40 Stunden: Somit ist er der erste Mensch, der bei einem Marathonlauf eine Zeit von unter 2 Stunden erreichen konnte. Darüber hinaus holte er unter anderem bei den Olympischen Spielen in Rio 2016 und in Tokio im Jahr 2021 im Marathon die Goldmedaille und gewann zwei weitere Male eine olympische Medaille. Insgesamt hält Kipchoge einige Rekorde, die bis heute ungeschlagen bleiben.

Der Kampf aus der Armut

Ursprünglich hatte Eliud Kipchoge gar nicht geplant, eine Karriere als Läufer einzuschlagen, stattdessen wollte er eigentlich ein Studium im Bereich Personalmanagement beginnen. Allerdings blieb dieser Traum unerfüllt, da seiner Familie das nötige Geld fehlte, um ihm das Studium zu ermöglichen. So suchte Kipchoge nach einer Möglichkeit, Geld zu verdienen und begann dadurch mit dem Laufen. Bereits als Kind war er es gewohnt, viele Kilometer in die Schule zu marschieren und im Hochland von Kenia hat ein Läufer die Chance auf ein geregeltes Einkommen - und so begann Kipchoge mit 16 Jahren das Laufen. Sein hartes Training zahlte sich aus: Kipochge erlangte den Junior Weltmeistertitel genauso wie mehrere Siege beim Crosslauf oder auch auf der Bahn. So entwickelte er sich nach und nach zum heutigen Olympiasieger und Weltrekordhalter im Marathonlauf.

Bestzeiten des Läufers

JahrDistanzZeit
20041500m3:33.20
20045000m12:46.53
200710000m26:49.02
20113000m7:27.66
2012Halbmarathon59:25
2016Marathon2:03:05
2018Marathon2:01:39
2019Marathon1:59.40

Eliud Kipchoge führt ein bescheidenes Leben

Kipchoge ist trotz seiner unzähligen Erfolge, welche mit hohen Preisgeldern verbunden sind, unglaublich bescheiden geblieben. Nach wie vor lebt er mit seiner Familie in Kenia in Eldoret und trainiert von Montag bis Samstag in einem nahegelegenen Trainingslager in Kaptagat. Hier erinnert nichts an eine Luxusunterkunft und die Läufer verbringen hier ein einfaches, unkompliziertes und bodenständiges Leben. Sie kochen ihr Essen selbst, kümmern sich um die Sauberkeit in ihren Zimmern und holen sich das Trinkwasser aus einem nahegelegenen Brunnen - so auch der Millionär Kipchoge. Sonntags bevorzugt es der Weltrekordhalter, gemeinsam mit seiner Frau und seinen drei Kindern die Kirche aufzusuchen. Die Religion spielt für ihn eine sehr große Rolle im Leben, um sich nicht von seinen Zielen abhalten zu lassen. Und sein Vermögen? Das hat der Marathonläufer ganz bodenständig in eine Farm und in andere Immobilien investiert.

„Kein Mensch ist limitiert, es sind die Menschen, die sich Grenzen setzen.“
Eliud Kipchoge

Eliud in Kürze

Sportart:Langstreckenläufer
Nationalität:Kenia
Geburtstag:05. November. 1984
Geboren in:Kapsisiywa, Kapsabet
Wohnort:Eldoret
Größe:167 cm
Geschätztes Netto-Vermögen:2,5 Millionen Euro
Trainer:Patrick Sang
Nationalkader:seit 2002
Follower auf Instagram:1,4 Millionen
Ehefrau:Grace Sugutt
Sponsoren