6

Music for Jogging - 6 Tips for More Motivation

LISTICLE | 06/24/2021
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

With the right playlist, you have twice the power while running. Not without reason: because the right sounds and melodies can actually have a positive effect on motivation and performance.

Headphones in your ears and off to the park: running is simply better with the right music. Rhythm and melody act like a natural turbo, the motivation is right, the mood rises and with it the performance. The inner bastard is buried deep under the pleasant sounds that penetrate the brain from the in-ears. Keep on running, because with music, slacking off is not an option.

But be careful: not every type of music is suitable for running. There are a few things to keep in mind when choosing the right songs: If you're a passionate ballad lover and put songs like "My Heart Will Go On" by Celine Dion or "Another Day in Paradise" by Phil Collins on your workout playlist, you'll probably wait in vain for the desired motivational boost.

1

Proper Preparation - Music Even before the Run

Many people know this: the workout is about to start and you feel tired and sluggish. This is mainly due to the so-called vagotonia, in which our body is put into a kind of resting state by the autonomic nervous system. Pulse and blood pressure are lowered and the body is otherwise occupied, mostly with digestion and regenerative processes. Music now stimulates our system anew. We are thus mentally and physically more ready to take up the upcoming training. This is also confirmed by a study of several sports scientists, including Marcelo Bigliassi from Brunel University in London, which was published in 2015 in the "Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research". According to this study, music before training means a measurable increase in performance.

2

The Right Choice of Music

To really get going, we should first and foremost choose powerful songs that sweep us along and motivate us. Heavy metal, house, rock or techno - the music genre doesn't really matter. The important thing is that you like the songs. As the sports scientist Matthew Biagini and his colleagues were able to prove in a study published in 2012 in the "Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research", self-selected music that we like has a significantly higher effect on our performance than externally prescribed music. So whether you prefer to rev yourself up with the "Rocky" soundtrack or favor the thumping bass of a David Guetta song is up to you. What counts are the happiness hormones that are released in us when we listen to familiar melodies and which soon have a positive effect on our health.

By the way, positive memories that we associate with certain songs can also be of great advantage here. For example, if you set a new personal record during your last fitness workout to a special song, you will also feel the motivation of the track during your next fitness workout. There are plenty of examples here, from all areas of life.

3

Synchronize Beat and Tempo

The beginning is made and we are in the middle of the fitness training - now endurance and stamina are required. Here, too, the right music can give you additional strength, or rather the right beat of the music. While at the beginning it was all about good mood and a good portion of motivation, there is now another aspect: In order for the music to have a positive effect on our performance, the songs should now be adapted to the running speed. Hammering techno beats with 150 or more beats per minute are completely unsuitable for a quiet endurance run. For beginners who are just starting to run, it is advisable to select songs in a range of 110 to a maximum of 130 BPM in order to keep the step sequence and beat as synchronized as possible.

Songs like "Wes" by Fritz Kalkbrenner or "Superlove" by Avicii feat. Lenny Kravitz provide an optimal beat - and thus form the perfect jogging background. For shorter runs with a higher tempo or interval methods, songs with a faster frequency such as "The Rockafeller Skank" by Fatboy Slim or "Pump it" by the Black Eyed Peas are of course also in order. Towards the end of the run, slower tracks help you come back down meter by meter.

4

Top Playlist - Music for Jogging

For anyone who's been craving a proper fitness workout, here are our top jogging playlists to jog to.

⦁ Survivor "The Eye of the Tiger"
⦁ The Subways "Shake! Shake!"
♪ Fritz Kalkbrenner, "Wes" ♪
⦁ Alex Claire "Treading Water"
♪ Ed Sheeran, "Sing" ♪
♪ One Republic, "I Lived" ♪
♪ Faithless, "Insomnia" ♪
⦁ David Guetta, Nicki Minaj & Afrojack "Hey Mama"
Cash Cash "Surrender"
⦁ Empire of the Sun "Half Mast"

5

Music - The Right Beats for the Cool Down

The influence of the rhythms can also be used after fitness training. What initially had an exciting effect on the autonomic nervous system is now supposed to have a calming effect. To achieve this, calm melodies are called for. With their help, pulse and respiration can return to their original state much faster, which also has a positive effect on the regeneration processes and thus on our health.

Of course, personal taste always plays a role in the effect of music. Some techno fans tend to get excited by soft songs, so they are unlikely to achieve the desired effect. The individual feeling for the appropriate sounds hardly deceives us. You should only try it out, because the right music is worthwhile in terms of our well-being and the training effect.

6

Effect during Training: Music for Jogging

Even during the workout, the right beats ensure an increased willingness and ability to perform. However, according to the aforementioned study, which takes the 5km run as an example, it is remarkable that music apparently only has a measurable effect on our performance at the beginning. When listening to our favorite songs, the brain initially associates positive sensations or memories, and our mood lifts significantly. Thanks to this endorphin release, pain tolerance also increases, so that we perceive efforts less intensely. However, the initial euphoria gives way to more dominant physical symptoms as the training progresses. If the load and intensity increase significantly, our body focuses more on the exhaustion signals again and the influence of the music decreases.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com
Topics in this article


ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com






Comments

6

Musik zum Joggen - 6 Tipps für mehr Motivation

LISTICLE | 24.06.2021
ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com

Mit der richtigen Playlist hat man beim Laufen gleich doppelte Power. Nicht ohne Grund: Denn tatsächlich können sich die richtigen Klänge und Melodien positiv auf Motivation und Leistung auswirken.

Kopfhörer in die Ohren und ab in den Park: Mit der richtigen Musik läuft es sich einfach besser. Rhythmus und Melodie wirken wie ein natürlicher Turbo, die Motivation stimmt, die Stimmung steigt und damit auch die Leistungsfähigkeit. Der innere Schweinehund liegt tief unter den Wohlklängen begraben, die aus den in-Ears ins Gehirn dringen. Weiterlaufen, denn Schlappmachen ist mit Musik keine Option.

Doch Vorsicht: Nicht jede Art von Musik ist zum Laufen geeignet. Bei der Auswahl der richtigen Songs gilt es ein paar Dinge zu beachten: Wer sich als leidenschaftlicher Balladen-Freund nämlich Lieder wie „My Heart will go on“ von Celine Dion oder „Another Day in Paradise“ von Phil Collins in die Workout-Playlist packt, wird wohl vergeblich auf den gewünschten Motivationsschub warten.

1

Richtige Vorbereitung - Musik schon vor dem Lauf

Viele kennen das: Das Workout steht kurz bevor und man fühlt sich schlapp und träge. Das liegt vor allem an der sogenannten Vagotonie, bei der unser Körper vom vegetativen Nervensystem in eine Art Ruhezustand versetzt wird. Puls und Blutdruck sind heruntergefahren und der Körper ist anderweitig beschäftigt, meist mit der Verdauung und regenerativen Prozessen. Durch Musik wird unser System nun neu angeregt. Wir sind damit mental und physisch eher bereit, das anstehende Training aufzunehmen. Das bestätigt auch eine Studie mehrerer Sportwissenschaftler, unter anderem von Marcelo Bigliassi von der Brunel University in London, die 2015 im „Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research“ veröffentlicht wurde. Musik vor dem Training bedeutet demnach einen messbaren Zuwachs an Leistungsfähigkeit.

2

Die richtige Musikauswahl

Um so richtig in Fahrt zu kommen, sollten wir in erster Linie kraftvolle Songs auswählen, die uns mitreißen und motivieren. Heavy Metal, House, Rock oder Techno - das Musik-Genre spielt da erstmal keine große Rolle. Wichtig ist, dass man die Lieder mag. Wie der Sportwissenschaftler Matthew Biagini mit seinen Kollegen in einer 2012 im „Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research“ veröffentlichten Studie belegen konnte, hat selbstgewählte Musik, die uns gefällt, einen wesentlich höheren Effekt auf unser Leistungsvermögen, als von außen vorgegebene. Ob man sich also lieber mit dem „Rocky“-Soundtrack auf Touren bringt oder die hämmernden Bässe eines David Guetta-Songs favorisiert, bleibt jedem selbst überlassen. Was zählt sind die Glückshormone, die beim Hören bekannter Melodien in uns freigesetzt werden und sich alsbald positiv auf unsere Gesundheit auswirken.

Von großem Vorteil können hier übrigens auch positive Erinnerungen sein, die wir mit bestimmten Liedern verknüpfen. Wer beispielsweise bei seinem letzten Fitness-Workout zu einem speziellen Song einen neuen persönlichen Rekord aufgestellt hat, wird die Motivation des Tracks auch beim nächsten Fitness-Training spüren. Beispiele gäbe es hier reichlich, aus allen Lebensbereichen.

3

Takt und Tempo synchronisieren

Der Anfang ist gemacht und wir befinden uns mitten im Fitness-Training - nun sind Ausdauer und Durchhaltevermögen gefragt. Auch hier kann dir die richtige Musik zusätzliche Kraft verleihen, besser gesagt der richtige Takt der Musik. Kam es zu Beginn vor allem auf gute Laune und eine gehörige Portion Motivation an, folgt nun ein weiterer Aspekt: Damit sich die Musik positiv auf unsere Leistungsfähigkeit auswirken kann, sollten die Lieder jetzt nämlich dem Lauftempo angepasst werden. Bei einem ruhigen Dauerlauf sind hämmernde Technobeats mit 150 und mehr Schlägen pro Minute völlig ungeeignet. Für Anfänger, die erst mit dem Laufen beginnen, empfiehlt es sich, Lieder in einem Bereich von 110 bis maximal 130 BPM auszuwählen, um Schrittfolge und Takt möglichst synchron zu halten.

Songs wie „Wes“ von Fritz Kalkbrenner oder „Superlove“ von Avicii feat. Lenny Kravitz geben einen optimalen Takt vor - und bilden so den perfekten Jogging-Background. Bei kürzeren Läufen mit höherem Tempo oder Intervall-Methoden sind natürlich auch Lieder mit schnellerer Frequenz wie „The Rockafeller Skank“ von Fatboy Slim oder „Pump it“ von den Black Eyed Peas angesagt. Zum Ende des Laufs helfen langsamere Stücke, um Meter für Meter wieder runterzukommen.

4

Top-Playlist – Musik zum Joggen

Für alle, die Lust auf ein ordentliches Fitness-Workout bekommen haben, gibt es hier unsere Top-Jogging-Playlists zum Joggen.

⦁ Survivor „The Eye of the Tiger“
⦁ The Subways „Shake! Shake!“
⦁ Fritz Kalkbrenner „Wes“
⦁ Alex Claire „Treading Water“
⦁ Ed Sheeran - „Sing“
⦁ One Republic „I lived“
⦁ Faithless „Insomnia“
⦁ David Guetta, Nicki Minaj & Afrojack „Hey Mama“
⦁ Cash Cash „Surrender“
⦁ Empire of the Sun „Half Mast“ 

5

Musik - Die richtigen Beats für das Cool Down

Nutzen lässt sich der Einfluss der Rhythmen auch nach dem Fitness-Training. Was zu Beginn einen erregenden Effekt auf das vegetative Nervensystem hatte, soll nun allerdings beruhigend wirken. Um dies zu erreichen, sind ruhige Melodien angesagt. Mit ihrer Hilfe können Puls und Atmung wesentlich schneller wieder in ihren Ausgangszustand zurückkehren, was sich auch positiv auf die Regenerationsprozesse und damit auch auf unsere Gesundheit auswirkt.

Natürlich spielt bei der Wirkung von Musik der persönliche Geschmack immer eine Rolle. Manchen Techno-Fan regen softe Songs eher auf, werden also kaum den gewünschten Effekt erzielen. Das individuelle Gefühl für die passenden Klänge trügt uns kaum. Nur ausprobieren sollte man es, den die passende Musik lohnt im Sinne unseres Wohlgefühls und des Trainingseffekts.

6

Auswirkung während des Trainings: Musik zum Joggen

Auch während des Workouts sorgen die passenden Beats für eine erhöhte Leistungsbereitschaft und -fähigkeit. Dabei ist allerdings bemerkenswert, so die genannte Studie, die sich den 5km-Lauf als Beispiel nimmt, dass die Musik offenbar nur zu Beginn einen messbaren Effekt auf unsere Leistung besitzt. Beim Hören unserer Lieblingslieder assoziiert das Gehirn zunächst positive Empfindungen oder Erinnerungen, unsere Stimmung hebt sich deutlich. Dank dieser Endorphin-Ausschüttung erhöht sich auch die Schmerztoleranz, so dass wir Anstrengungen weniger intensiv wahrnehmen. Die anfängliche Euphorie weicht im Laufe des Trainings jedoch den dominanteren körperlichen Symptomen. Nehmen Belastung und Intensität nämlich deutlich zu, legt unser Körper den Fokus wieder stärker auf die Erschöpfungssignale und der Einfluss der Musik nimmt ab.

Artikel teilen
ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com
Themen dieses Artikels


ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com






Kommentare