ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

ISPO Consumer Insights Report Q3/2022 Download Now for Free!

Sustainability Megatrend: Lifestyle Lovebrands with a Tailwind

What do all lovebrands have in common? They care a lot about sustainability, and customers appreciate that more and more. Because quality beats quantity. This is one of the trends identified by the new Consumer Insights Report for the third quarter of 2022. Want more facts? Simply download our trend barometer.

New Perspectives on Sustainability: Sustainability is one of the major themes of ISPO Munich 2022.

Sustainability Increasingly in the Focus of Customers

When looking at the top rankings of the brands, the question remains as to what would actually persuade opinion-forming end consumers to switch. Two trends can be identified in this regard in the current Consumer Insights Report - this time in cooperation with Alibaba.com.

Download Consumer Insights Report Now

As an ISPO Business Member you get free access to the latest Consumer Insights Report.
All you have to do is click on the link and download the report.

Trend 1: The three most important motivations for a purchase: climate-friendly, fair and social production. It also fits in with the fact that renting sports equipment is becoming increasingly hip. In addition to the classics such as ski hardware, bicycles and surf equipment, there is now new potential, such as tents and fitness equipment; Peloton and Vaha, among others, should be mentioned here.

Trend 2: The new buzzword is quality. The main criterion for purchasing is not the price, but an expected longevity of the products in order to avoid new purchases. Only in second place does price sensitivity come into play. Read the conclusion for the sports industry in the current Consumer Insights Report.

Quality is trumps

A Lot of Movement among the Top Brands

In the truest sense of the word, there is currently a lot of movement in the rankings of the top brands. Founder Yvon Chouinard is giving his company away to the earth, and in addition to media attention, Patagonia is also getting top marks from customers. In the latest Consumer Insights Report, the outdoor brand is clearly in the lead. Adidas, Ortovox, On and Dynafit also perform in the top group. But this report also proves one thing: that size and market power do not necessarily have anything to do with brand perception.

Top perfomer: Patagonia continues its winning streak

Discounter Decathlon in the Chasing Pack

Absolutely worth mentioning is Decathlon's entry into the chasing pack with brands such as Salomon, Nike and Mammut. This amounts to a bit of a market shakeup, as the discounter is sometimes very controversial among sports retailers in the industry. And in the second chasing group, Hoka One One continues its success and would certainly like to pass Deuter, Salewa and The North Face.

Digital and Analog: Playing Sports Increasingly Important

Whether hiking alone in the mountains, or feeling part of an online community, or playing a team sport: a sporty lifestyle is becoming increasingly important across all target groups. The best conditions, then, for sports brands of all stripes.

Patagonia can look forward to many new buyers in the "urban culture" segment, and On is making the turnaround from a pure running brand to a lifestyle brand.

Little has changed in "Connected Athletics" - Garmin remains in the sights of new buyers. But Outdooractive's recent efforts seem to have paid off: The app provider is overtaking competitor Komoot.

In the "Team Sport & Spirit" segment, Adidas and Puma are currently enjoying a tailwind - fueled, of course, by the(controversial) soccer World Cup in Qatar.

New in the "Adrenaline & Adventure" field is the Red Bull brand, which now has more than just its energy drink in its portfolio.

On the other hand, the development in the "Nature Escapes" lifestyle is exciting. Despite the enormous attention paid to Patagonia, Ortovox has managed to be on a par with the US giant. The approaching winter is shaking up the ranking a bit here.

An increase in purchase intent can also be seen in "Performance, Body & Mind" - especially in the nutritional and dietary supplements sector: Powerbar, Clifbar and Orthomol are on the rise.

Luxury and Sport

The latest Consumer Insights Report also looked at the impact of brand collaborations. Does the collaboration with Gucci harm The North Face, for example? Clear answer: No. In summary, the majority of the existing target group finds it exciting when the trusted sports brand reinvents itself and helps to make a fashion statement as well. And at the same time, brands can reach new target groups. However: caution is advised...

The majority finds brand collaborations good

ISPO Consumer Insights Report: Become a Partner with Your Brand

Do you want to become a panel partner of the trend barometer with your brand and ask your own questions to the consumer experts? Become an ISPO Business Member with your brand and become an exclusive panel partner of the quarterly report. We will be happy to advise you.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com

ISPO Consumer Insights Report Q3/2022 jetzt kostenlos downloaden!

Megatrend Nachhaltigkeit: Lifestylige Lovebrands mit Rückenwind

Was haben alle Lovebrands gemeinsam? Sie kümmern sich stark um das Thema Nachhaltigkeit, und das schätzen Kund*innen immer mehr. Denn Qualität schlägt Quantität. Einer der Trends, den der neue Consumer Insights Report zum dritten Quartal 2022 herausgefunden hat. Noch mehr Facts gewünscht? Einfach unser Trendbarometer downloaden.

New Perspectives on Sustainability: Nachhaltigkeit ist eines der großen Themen der ISPO Munich 2022.

Nachhaltigkeit immer stärker im Fokus der Kund*innen

Bei der Betrachtung der Top-Platzierungen der Marken bleibt die Frage, was meinungsmachende Endverbraucher*innen eigentlich zum Wechsel bewegen würde. Zwei Trends lassen sich diesbezüglich im aktuellen Consumer Insights Report – dieses Mal in Kooperation mit Alibaba.com – ausmachen.

Consumer Insights Report jetzt downloaden

Als ISPO Business Member erhältst du kostenfreien Zugang zum aktuellsten Consumer Insights Report.
Alles, was du dafür tun musst: auf den Link klicken und den Report downloaden. 

Trend 1: Die drei wichtigsten Beweggründe für einen Kauf: klimafreundliche, faire und soziale Produktion. Dazu passt auch, dass das Mieten von Sportgeräten immer hipper wird. Neben den Klassikern wie Ski-Hardware, Fahrräder und Surf-Equipment gibt es nun neue Potenziale, wie beispielsweise Zelte und Fitnessgeräte; genannt seien hier unter anderem Peloton und Vaha.

Trend 2: Das neue Buzzword heißt Qualität. Das Hauptkriterium für den Kauf ist nicht der Preis, sondern eine erwartete Langlebigkeit der Produkte, um Neuanschaffungen zu vermeiden. Erst an zweiter Stelle kommt die Preissensibilität ins Spiel. Das Fazit für die Sportbranche lest ihr im aktuellen Consumer Insights Report.

Qualität ist Trumpf
Qualität ist Trumpf

Viel Bewegung bei den Top-Marken

Im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes: Derzeit ist viel Bewegung in den Platzierungen der Top-Marken. Da verschenkt Gründer Yvon Chouinard sein Unternehmen an die Erde, und neben medialer Aufmerksamkeit bekommt Patagonia auch von den Kund*innen Bestnoten. Die Outdoormarke setzt sich im aktuellen Consumer Insights Report deutlich an die Spitze. Ebenfalls in der Spitzengruppe performen Adidas, Ortovox, On und Dynafit. Eines beweist dieser Report aber auch: dass Größe und Marktmacht nicht zwangsläufig etwas mit der Markenwahrnehmung zu tun haben müssen.

Spitzen-Perfomer: Patagonia setzt Siegeszug fort
Spitzen-Perfomer: Patagonia setzt Siegeszug fort

Discounter Decathlon in der Verfolgergruppe

Absolut erwähnenswert ist der Einzug von Decathlon in die Verfolgergruppe mit Marken wie Salomon, Nike und Mammut. Dies kommt einer kleinen Markterschütterung gleich, denn der Discounter ist unter den Sporthändlern in der Branche teilweise sehr umstritten. Und in der zweiten Verfolgergruppe setzt Hoka One One seinen Erfolg fort, und würde sicher gerne an Deuter, Salewa und The North Face vorbeiziehen.

Digital und analog: Sporttreiben immer wichtiger

Ob allein zum Wandern in die Berge, oder sich als Teil einer Online-Community fühlen, oder einen Mannschaftssport betreiben: über alle Zielgruppen hinweg wird ein sportlicher Lifestyle immer wichtiger. Beste Voraussetzungen also für Sportbrands jeglicher Couleur.

Patagonia darf sich über viele neue Käufer*innen im Segment „Urban Culture“ freuen, und On schafft den Turnaround von einer reinen Running- zu einer Lifestyle-Marke.

Bei „Connected Athletics“ verändert sich wenig – Garmin bleibt im Visier neuer Käufer*innen. Aber: Die jüngsten Anstrengungen von Outdooractive scheinen sich gelohnt zu haben: Der App-Anbieter zieht an Mitbewerber Komoot vorbei.

Im Segment „Teamsport & Spirit“ haben Adidas und Puma derzeit Rückenwind – natürlich befeuert durch die (umstrittene) Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft in Katar.

Neu im Feld „Adrenaline & Adventure“ ist die Marke Red Bull, die mittlerweile mehr als nur ihren Energy-Drink im Portfolio hat. 

Spannend ist hingegen die Entwicklung im Lifestyle „Nature Escapes“. Trotz der enorm hohen Aufmerksamkeit für Patagonia hat es Ortovox geschafft, gleichauf mit dem US-Riesen zu sein. Der nahende Winter wirbelt hier ein bisschen die Rangfolge durcheinander.

Eine gestiegene Kaufabsicht lässt sich auch bei „Performance, Body & Mind“ feststellen – vor allem im Ernährungs- und Nahrungsergänzungsmittelbereich: Powerbar, Clifbar und Orthomol legen zu.

Luxus und Sport

Der aktuelle Consumer Insights Report hat sich auch noch mit der Wirkung von Markenkollaborationen beschäftigt. Schadet beispielsweise The North Face die Zusammenarbeit mit Gucci? Klare Antwort: Nein. Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass die bestehende Zielgruppe es mehrheitlich spannend findet, wenn sich die Sportmarke des Vertrauens neu erfindet und dazu beiträgt, auch eine modische Aussage zu treffen. Und gleichzeitig können die Marken neue Zielgruppen erreichen. Allerdings: Vorsicht ist geboten…

Die Mehrheit findet Markenkollaborationen gut
Die Mehrheit findet Markenkollaborationen gut

ISPO Consumer Insights Report: Werde mit deiner Marke Partner

Du willst mit deiner Marke Panel-Partner des Trendbarometers werden und eigene Fragen an die Consumer Experts stellen? Werde als ISPO Business Member mit deiner Marke exklusiver Panel-Partner des Quartalsreports. Wir beraten dich gerne.

Artikel teilen
ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com