The top earner in the Forbes Ranking 2020: Naomi Osaka.

Naomi Osaka

Naomi Osaka - Great tennis from a new generation

Young, cool and incredibly successful, that's exceptional tennis talent Naomi Osaka. A face of the Olympic Games in Tokyo, she lit the flame to kick off the Olympic tournament. Just in time for the start of the Olympic Games, on July 16, 2021, it became clear how important the young tennis player is: The streaming provider Netflix published a documentary series that shows two years in Naomi Osaka's life and provides insight into her family environment and her career. Only few athletes before her have received this honor, but Osaka is rightly part of the illustrious group.

At the age of 20, she was the first Japanese to win her first Grand Slam title with the US Open and is also the first Asian to be ranked number 1 in the world in tennis. Despite her youth, she was the highest-earning athlete in 2020, thanks largely to advertising and sponsorship revenue. She campaigns against racism and discrimination, and made her political activism known on social media, but also on the tennis court, especially during tournaments in the US.

0
Grand Slam Title
0
US dollar earnings in 2020
0
different masks against police brutality
Page 1 of 
0
Grand Slam Title
0
US dollar earnings in 2020
0
different masks against police brutality
Page 1 of 
0
Grand Slam Title
0
US dollar earnings in 2020
0
different masks against police brutality
Page 1 of 

Hero Moments

Naomi Osaka is not only becoming a hero of her industry through her extraordinary sporting achievements. The tennis player also stands out for her social and political commitment. Time and again, she makes strong public statements and speaks out against racism and police violence.

Social and political commitment of Naomi Osaka

Although Osaka is considered quiet and shy, it is important for her to speak out politically on the tennis court and elsewhere to publicize injustice. "I sometimes feel like I hold myself back too much by thinking about what others think of me. But when you have a platform, I think it's very important to use it." Especially since 2020, Naomi Osaka has been doing this repeatedly. She repeatedly speaks out against discrimination on social media and, for example, drew attention to racially motivated police violence in the wake of the US Open by wearing a different mask with a victim's name on it for each of her matches.

Naomi Osaka: Career and titles

Naomi Osaka first qualified for a WTA tournament in 2014, followed by her first Grand Slam tournament in 2016 when she qualified for the Australian Open. In 2017, she knocked out defending champion Angelique Kerber in the first round at the US Open and won her first WTA tournament in Indian Wells in 2018. In September 2019, she defeated her great idol Serena Williams in two sets in the US Open final. In doing so, she became the first Japanese woman ever to win a Grand Slam title, which is one of the four most prestigious tournaments in tennis. She has now won four, adding to the young star's first title win with further victories at the US Open in 2020 and Australian Open in 2019 and 2021. She is also the first Asian woman to be ranked No. 1 in the world.

Awards and successes

In addition to Grand Slam titles and WTA tournament victories, Naomi Osaka has won multiple awards as an athlete: in 2016 she was WTA Newcomer of the Year, in 2019 she won the Breakthrough of the Year award from the Laureus World Sports Award, and in 2020 she was honored with the Associated Press' Athlete of the Year award and was Sports Illustrated's Athlete-of-the-Year. In 2021, she won another "Sports Oscar" with the Laureus award for Best Female Athlete. She is also the face of the Tokyo Olympics.

Naomi Osaka on Netflix

Netflix has also noticed that there is a lot to tell about Naomi Osaka. The streaming service has dedicated a documentary to Osaka in 2021 airing prior to the Olympics. It offers sensitive insights into her background and emotional worlds in three parts and broaches issues about prejudice, depression and generally, what it's like to suddenly be in the spotlight as a young athlete. Excitingly told and highly recommended, even if you follow tennis only on the sidelines.

Naomi Osaka's fortune

In terms of income, Naomi Osaka was able to overtake her role model Serena Williams for the first time in 2020. With earnings of US$37.4 million in 2020 ($3.4 million in prize money, $34 million in advertising revenue; source: Forbes), she was just ahead of great Serena Williams with US$36 million ($4 million in prize money, $32 million in advertising revenue). This makes both of them currently the only women in the top 100 highest earning athletes and Naomi Osaka the highest paid athlete of the year despite her youth.

Private life of the young tennis phenomenon

Naomi Osaka was born in 1997 in the Japanese city of Osaka and moved to the US with her family at the age of three. Her mother is Japanese and her father is from Haiti. While she initially held US citizenship as a dual national, Naomi Osaka opted for Japanese citizenship at the age of 22 to represent Japan on the tennis court. Her older sister Mari also plays tennis professionally, although not as successfully as Naomi. Naomi is engaged to US rapper Cordae, whom she met at a basketball game in her adopted home of Los Angeles in 2019.

"You just have to keep going and fighting for everything and one day you'll be where you want to be."
Naomi Osaka

Naomi Osaka in a nutshell:

Sport:Tennis
Playing Hand:Right hand, double handed backhand
Height:180cm
Nationality:Japan
Birthday:October 16, 1997
Born in:Osaka, Japan
Hometown:Los Angeles, USA
Estimated net worth:US$25 million
First professional season:2013
Coach:Wim Fissette
Followers on Instagram:2.2 million
Partner:Cordae

Die Top-Verdienerin im Forbes-Ranking 2020: Naomi Osaka.

Naomi Osaka

Naomi Osaka - Großes Tennis einer neuen Generation

Jung, cool und unglaublich erfolgreich, das ist Ausnahme-Tennistalent Naomi Osaka. Als Gesicht der Olympischen Spiele in Tokio entzündete sie das olympische Feuer in Japan. Wie bedeutend die junge Tennisspielerin ist, wurde pünktlich zum Start der Olympischen Spiele, am 16. Juli 2021, deutlich: Da veröffentlichte nämlich der Streaming-Anbieter Netflix eine Dokuserie, die zwei Jahre im Leben Naomi Osakas zeigt und Einblick in ihr familiäres Umfeld und ihre Karriere gibt. Nur wenigen Sportlern vor ihr wurde diese Ehre zuteil, aber Osaka reiht sich ganz zurecht in die illustre Runde ein.

Im Alter von 20 Jahren gewann sie als erste Japanerin mit den US Open ihren ersten Grand Slam Titel und ist außerdem noch die erste Asiatin, die auf Weltranglistenplatz 1 im Tennis stand. Trotz ihrer Jugend war sie vor allem dank Werbe- und Sponsoring-Einnahmen die Sportlerin mit dem höchsten Einkommen in 2020. Sie setzt sich gegen Rassismus und Diskriminierung ein und machte ihren politischen Aktivismus über Social Media, aber auch auf dem Tennisplatz, vor allem während Turnieren in den USA, deutlich.

 

0
Grand Slam Titel
0
US-Dollar Verdienst in 2020
0
verschiedene Masken gegen Polizeibrutalität
Seite 1 von 
0
Grand Slam Titel
0
US-Dollar Verdienst in 2020
0
verschiedene Masken gegen Polizeibrutalität
Seite 1 von 
0
Grand Slam Titel
0
US-Dollar Verdienst in 2020
0
verschiedene Masken gegen Polizeibrutalität
Seite 1 von 

Hero Moments

Naomi Osaka wird nicht nur durch ihre außergewöhnlichen sportlichen Leistungen zur Heldin ihrer Branche. Die Tennisspielerin fällt außerdem auch durch ihr soziales und politisches Engagement positiv auf. Immer wieder setzt sie öffentlich starke Zeichen und spricht sich gegen Rassismus und Polizeigewalt aus.

Soziales und politisches Engagement von Naomi Osaka

Obwohl Osaka als eher ruhig und schüchtern gilt, ist es ihr wichtig, sich auf dem Tennisplatz und auch sonst politisch zu äußern und Ungerechtigkeit publik zu machen. „Ich habe manchmal das Gefühl ich halte mich zu sehr zurück, dadurch dass ich darüber nachdenke was andere von mir denken. Aber wenn du eine Plattform hast, finde ich es sehr wichtig, diese auch zu nutzen.“ Besonders seit 2020 tut Naomi Osaka dies auch wiederholt. Sie spricht sich immer wieder über Social Media gegen Diskriminierung aus und machte beispielsweise im Zuge der US Open auf rassistisch motivierte Polizeigewalt aufmerksam, indem sie bei jedem ihrer Matches eine andere Maske mit dem Namen eines Opfers trug.

Naomi Osaka: Karriere und Titel

Naomi Osaka qualifizierte sich erstmals 2014 für ein WTA-Turnier, 2016 folgte mit der Qualifikation zu den Australian Open erstmals ein Grand Slam Turnier. 2017 warf sie bei den US Open Titelverteidigerin Angelique Kerber in der ersten Runde aus dem Turnier und gewann 2018 ihr erstes WTA-Turnier in Indian Wells. Im September 2019 bezwang sie im US Open-Finale ihr großes Idol Serena Williams in zwei Sätzen. Damit war sie die erste Japanerin überhaupt, die einen Grand Slam Titel, das heißt eines der vier prestigeträchtigsten Turniere im Tennis, gewinnen konnte. Mittlerweile sind es vier, zum ersten Titelgewinn des Jungstars kamen weitere Siege bei den US Open 2020 und Australian Open 2019 und 2021 hinzu. Ebenso ist sie die erste Asiatin, die Weltranglistenplatz 1 im Tennis erobern konnte.

Auszeichnungen und Erfolge

Neben Grand Slam Titeln und WTA-Turniersiegen wurde Naomi Osaka mehrfach als Sportlerin ausgezeichnet: 2016 war sie WTA Newcomer of the Year, 2019 die Auszeichnung zum Durchbruch des Jahres vom Laureus World Sports Award und wurde sie 2020 mit der Sportler-des-Jahres-Auszeichnung der Associated Press geehrt und war „Athlete-of-the-Year“ der Sports Illustrated. 2021 gewann sie noch einen „Sport-Oscar“ mit der Laureus-Auszeichnung als beste Sportlerin. Sie ist ebenfalls das Gesicht der Olympischen Spiele in Tokio.

Naomi Osaka auf Netflix

Auch Netflix hat bemerkt, dass es viel über Naomi Osaka zu erzählen gibt. Der Streaming-Dienst widmet Osaka 2021 im Vorfeld von Olympia eine Doku, die einfühlsam Einblicke in ihre Hintergründe und Gefühlswelten bietet. In drei Teilen geht es um Vorurteile, Depression und ganz allgemein, wie es ist, als junge Sportlerin plötzlich im Rampenlicht zu stehen. Spannend erzählt und selbst dann ein Tipp, wenn man Tennis nur am Rande folgt.

Naomi Osakas Vermögen

In Bezug auf ihr Einkommen konnte Naomi Osaka ihr Vorbild Serena Williams 2020 erstmals überholen. Mit einem Verdienst von 37,4 Millionen US-Dollar in 2020 (3,4 Mio. Dollar Preisgelder, 34 Mio. Dollar Werbeeinnahmen; Quelle: Forbes) lag sie knapp vor Großmeisterin Serena Williams mit 36 Millionen US Dollar (4 Mio. Dollar Preisgelder, 32 Mio. Dollar Werbeeinnahmen). Damit sind beide derzeit die einzigen Frauen in den Top 100 der bestverdienenden Sportler und Naomi Osaka trotz ihrer Jugend die bestbezahlte Sportlerin des Jahres.

Privatleben des jungen Tennis-Phänomens

Naomi Osaka wurde 1997 in der japanischen Stadt Osaka geboren und zog im Alter von drei Jahren mit ihrer Familie in die USA. Ihre Mutter ist Japanerin und ihr Vater stammt aus Haiti. Während sie als doppelte Staatsbürgerin zunächst auch die US-amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft besaß, entschied sich Naomi Osaka mit 22 Jahren für die japanische um Japan auf dem Tennisplatz zu vertreten. Auch ihre ältere Schwester Mari spielt professionell Tennis, wenn auch nicht so erfolgreich wie Naomi. Liiert ist Naomi mit dem US-Rapper Cordae, den sie 2019 bei einem Basketballspiel in ihrer Wahlheimat Los Angeles kennengelernt hatte.

„Du musst nur weitermachen und für alles kämpfen und eines Tages wirst du da sein, wo du hinwillst.“
Naomi Osaka

Naomi Osaka in Kürze:

Sportart:Tennis
Spielhand:Rechtshand, doppelhändige Rückhand
Größe:180cm
Nationalität:Japan
Geburtstag:16. Oktober 1997
Geboren in:Osaka, Japan
Heimatstadt:Los Angeles, USA
Geschätztes Netto-Vermögen:25 Millionen US-Dollar
Erste Profi-Saison:2013
Trainer:Wim Fissette
Follower auf Instagram:2,2 Millionen
Partner:Cordae