Ironman-Hawaii-Sieger Jan Frodeno

Jan Frodeno

Jan Frodeno has dominated the triathlon scene for years. With three victories at Ironman Hawaii and his gold medal at the 2008 Olympic Games, the Cologne native is one of the stars of his sport. He holds the world record for the Ironman distance and is the only person so far to complete the 3.8-kilometer swim, 180.2-kilometer bike ride and 42.2-kilometer run in under seven and a half hours. In Germany, Frodeno has triggered a triathlon boom and, among other things, was voted Sportsman of the Year.

Jan Frodeno - Waiting for the Ironman World Championship and the end of his career

In October 2019, Jan Frodeno won Ironman Hawaii for the third time. What no one knew at the time was that the chance to defend the title again would be years away. Ironman Hawaii 2020 fell victim to the Corona pandemic. And in 2021, too, the event was postponed at short notice just two months before it was to be held.

On October 6 and 8, 2022, the time has finally come again. The triathlon elite will meet again on the Big Island for the Ironman World Championship. However, without Jan Frodeno, because he cancelled his participation on August 13, after a bike crash led to an inflammation in his hip.

And not only that: Frodeno announces his career end . 2023 is the time, after the world championships in Hawaii he draws the line.

"I don't want to be the next old boy who can't find the jump," the triathlon legend explained.

Hero Moments: Triathlon pioneer and record-breaking athlete

Jan Frodeno has written triathlon history: He is the first person ever to win both the Olympic Games (2008 in Beijing) and the Ironman World Championship in Hawaii. Frodeno has even won the Ironman Hawaii a total of three times. He is also the first person ever to complete the long distance in less than 7:30:00 hours. At the age of 39, he set the triathlon world record of 7:27:53 hours in 2021. Frodeno also holds the course record at Ironman Hawaii.

0
Frodeno's Ironman world record in seconds
0
Wins at Ironman Hawaii
Page 1 of 
0
Frodeno's Ironman world record in seconds
0
Wins at Ironman Hawaii
Page 1 of 
0
Frodeno's Ironman world record in seconds
0
Wins at Ironman Hawaii
Page 1 of 

Training tips from Jan Frodeno's success coach Dan Lorang

Jan Frodeno and Dan Lorang have been a successful team since 2012. Since then, the Luxembourger has been Frodeno's coach - and the graduate sports scientist has also coached German triathlete Anne Haug to the top of the world. In an interview with ISPO.com, Lorang explains the secret of his protégés' success and gives tips for perfect triathlon training.

To the interview with Frodeno coach Lorang

How Jan Frodeno helps develop his racing suit

The Cologne-based startup Ryzon also won a prize at ISPO Brandnew. Together with Jan Frodeno, the Cologne-based startup developed the winning Ironman Hawaii suit.

To the interview with the Ryzon founder

Jan Frodeno - the most important facts in brief

Sport:Triathlon
Height:1,94m
Nationality:Germany
Birthday:August 18, 1981
Born in:Cologne
Places of residence:Noosa (Australia), Girona (Spain), Saarbrücken (Germany)
Followers on Instagram:About 500,000
Wife:Triathlete Emma Snowsill
Wins at Olympics and Ironman World Championships:1x Olympics, 3x Ironman World Championship
Partners of Jan Frodeno (selection)

Triathlet Jan Frodeno auf der Radstrecke in Hawaii 2019

Jan Frodeno

Jan Frodeno dominiert die Triathlon-Szene seit Jahren. Mit drei Siegen beim Ironman Hawaii und seiner Goldmedaille bei den Olympischen Spielen 2008 gehört der Kölner zu den Stars seines Sports. Er hält den Weltrekord auf der Ironman Distanz und ist der einzige Mensch, der die 3,8 Kilometer Schwimmen, 180,2 Kilometer Radfahren und 42,2 Kilometer Laufen bisher in unter siebeneinhalb Stunden absolvieren konnte. In Deutschland hat Frodeno einen Triathlon-Boom ausgelöst und wurde unter anderem zum Sportler des Jahres gewählt.

Jan Frodeno - Das Warten auf die Ironman-WM und sein Karriereende

Im Oktober 2019 gewann Jan Frodeno den Ironman Hawaii zum dritten Mal. Was damals keiner wusste: Die Chance auf die nächste Titelverteidigung sollte anschließend Jahre auf sich warten lassen. Der Ironman Hawaii 2020 fiel der Corona-Pandemie zum Opfer. Und auch 2021 wurde die Veranstaltung knapp zwei Monate vor der Austragung kurzfristig verschoben. 

Am 6. und 8. Oktober 2022 ist es nun endlich wieder soweit. Die Triathlon Elite trifft auf Big Island wieder aufeinander zur Ironman-Weltmeisterschaft. Jedoch ohne Jan Frodeno, denn dieser sagte am 13. August seine Teilnahme ab, nachdem ein Radsturz zur einer Entzündung in der Hüfte geführt hat. 

Und nicht nur das: Frodeno kündigt sein Karriereende an. 2023 ist es so weit, nach der WM auf Hawaii zieht er den Schlussstrich.

"Ich will nicht der nächste alte Junge sein, der nicht den Absprung findet.", erklärte die Triathlon Legende.

Hero Moments: Triathlon-Pionier und Rekord-Athlet

Jan Frodeno hat Triathlon-Geschichte geschrieben: Er ist der erste Mensch überhaupt, der sowohl bei den Olympischen Spielen (2008 in Peking) als auch bei der Ironman-WM auf Hawaii gewinnen konnte. Den Ironman Hawaii gewann Frodeno insgesamt sogar schon dreimal. Er ist außerdem der erste Mensch überhaupt, dem es gelang, die Langdistanz in weniger als 7:30:00 Stunden zu bewältigen. Mit 39 Jahren stellte er 2021 den Triathlon-Weltrekord von 7:27:53 Stunden auf. Auch den Streckenrekord beim Ironman Hawaii hält Frodeno.

0
Frodenos Ironman Weltrekord in Sekunden
0
Siege beim Ironman Hawaii
Seite 1 von 
0
Frodenos Ironman Weltrekord in Sekunden
0
Siege beim Ironman Hawaii
Seite 1 von 
0
Frodenos Ironman Weltrekord in Sekunden
0
Siege beim Ironman Hawaii
Seite 1 von 

Trainings-Tipps von Jan Frodenos Erfolgscoach Dan Lorang

Seit 2012 sind Jan Frodeno und Dan Lorang ein Erfolgsteam. Seitdem ist der Luxemburger Frodenos Trainer - und auch die deutsche Triathletin Anne Haug hat der Diplom-Sportwissenschaftler in die Weltspitze gecoacht. Im Interview mit ISPO.com erklärt Lorang das Erfolgsgeheimnis seiner Schützlinge und gibt Tipps für das perfekte Triathlon-Training.

Zum Interview mit Frodeno-Coach Lorang

Wie Jan Frodeno seinen Rennanzug mitentwickelt

Das Kölner Startup Ryzon hat auch bei ISPO Brandnew abgeräumt. So entwickelte das Kölner Startup gemeinsam mit Jan Frodeno den Sieger-Anzug vom Ironman Hawaii.

Zum Interview mit dem Ryzon-Gründer

Jan Frodeno - das Wichtigste in Kürze

Sportart:Triathlon
Größe:1,94m
Nationalität:Deutschland
Geburtstag:18. August 1981
Geboren in:Köln
Wohnorte:Noosa (Australien), Girona (Spanien), Saarbrücken
Follower bei Instagram:ca. 500.000
Ehefrau:Triathletin Emma Snowsill
Siege bei Olympia und Ironman-WM:1x Olympia, 3x Ironman-WM
Partner von Jan Frodeno (Auswahl)
Triathlon-Tipps von Profis