ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

5 Learnings for ISPO Munich Online

Jeanette Friedrich: "We Have to Offer Visibility and Orientation"

ISPO Munich Online will take place completely virtual for the first time from February 1 to 5, 2021. Together with her team, Global ISPO Group Director Jeanette Friedrich is working hard on a platform that brings the sports industry together despite adverse conditions caused by the coronavirus pandemic. For ISPO.com, she has compiled her five most important insights for ISPO Munich.

Jeanette Friedrich, Global ISPO Group Director
Jeanette Friedrich, Global ISPO Group Director

With the start of the year, ISPO Munich is the place to be for everyone in the sports business. Bright halls, the joie de vivre, enthusiasm and excitement grips everyone who has ever been to ISPO Munich. And now someone has hit the pause button. No random conversations in the aisles, no twelve-kilometer daily commute between A1 and the C Halls.

At the same time, the past few months have strengthened our conviction: ISPO Munich is an important impulse for the industry and can't simply be cancelled. A platform where everyone can meet again, at least digitally, do business, make new contacts, and have each other's backs.

In order to set this up for ISPO Munich Online, we are working intensively on a platform that comes as close to a physical ISPO Munich as is possible.

I wanted to share my 5 most important insights with you:

 

Insight 1: Our primary goal must be exhibitor visibility and visitor orientation

Many digital trade shows have shown that navigating through hundreds of digital exhibitors is a major challenge. Nothing is as frustrating as an unclear set-up. Therefore, our primary goal is to create the greatest possible visibility for all exhibitors. This is also the best way for visitors to find their way around. We provide orientation and visibility:

  • With a thematically structured virtual entrance area
  • With an overview of all companies that can be filtered according to various criteria
  • With topic-oriented landing pages with the appropriate companies
  • With visibility for brand room visitors: Exhibitors can see who is in their exhibition area (brand room), just like at a physical trade fair, and can address the visitors directly.
  • With a matchmaking tool that brings together the right contacts
  • With a search for exhibitors who can directly address visitors with a matching profile
  • With a newly designed Expo-TV
ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Suche für Aussteller und Besucher auf der Plattform
ISPO Munich Online: The search for all attendees is pretty easy

Insight 2: Making networking and face-to-face exchange as easy as possible

Our countless conversations before, during and after the ISPO Re.Start Days and in preparation for ISPO Munich Online have shown that our industry misses the personal exchange. And of course, there's no substitute for a cup of coffee and an after-work beer at ISPO Munich, but we can also promote this exchange digitally. That's why our set-up includes

  • a simple chat networking function
  • a planning tool for meetings
  • and integrated meeting options for video calls

 

ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Meetingtools
ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot of the meeting tools

Insight 3: We have digital competence thanks to years of development

After the ISPO Re.Start Days, we received a lot of positive feedback about the event itself. And that was also our biggest realization from the Re.Start Days: Laying the groundwork over the last few years has paid off. We have the competence - we can do digital. And this self-confidence is now helping us to establish ISPO Munich Online.

Insight 4: Online conferences work - when you have the right topics and speakers

The ISPO Re.Start Days also showed how important the right topics and high-quality speakers are for a conference program. Thanks to the detailed, data-based performance evaluation, we have recognized which formats and content work well digitally and which less so. In addition to the number of attendees, the time spent by individuals also allows valuable conclusions to be drawn about which content is received and how.

One key finding: Many of the attendees do not pull themselves out of the day-to-day business entirely, as they would at a physical event, but often consume digital content on the side. Specifically, for the ISPO Munich Online conference program this means, among other things, shorter talks instead of hour-long panels, efficient interaction formats, and emotional moments.

We also saw a change in feedback culture: The digital platform can lower the inhibition threshold for speaking out, as is often the case at on-site events. Feedback from participants comes much more directly. It is important to be prepared for that.

Insight 5: Exhibitors bring visitors...

... this is an important component at physical events, and Messe München's many digital events have proven that this is also the case at digital trade shows. That's why we do everything we can to make it easy for exhibitors to invite visitors.

We have developed our digital invitation tool accordingly. This allows every exhibitor to invite almost unlimited visitors to the expo part of the event free of charge.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com


Comments

ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com

5 Learnings für die ISPO Munich Online

Jeanette Friedrich: „Wir müssen Sichtbarkeit und Orientierung bieten“

Die ISPO Munich Online findet vom 1. bis 5. Februar 2021 erstmals rein virtuell statt. Global ISPO Group Director Jeanette Friedrich feilt zusammen mit ihrem Team unter Hochdruck an einer Plattform, die die Sportbranche trotz widriger Corona-Umstände zusammenbringt. Für uns hat sie ihre fünf wichtigsten Learnings für die ISPO Munich aufgeschrieben.

Jeanette Friedrich, Global ISPO Group Director
Jeanette Friedrich, Global ISPO Group Director

Die ISPO Munich ist mit Jahresbeginn die Anlaufstelle für alle im Sportbusiness. Knallvolle Hallen, die Lebensfreude, Begeisterung und Aufregung erfasst jeden, der schon mal auf einer ISPO Munich war. Und jetzt hat jemand auf den Pauseknopf gedrückt. Keine zufälligen Gespräche in den Gängen, keine zwölf Kilometer Tagespensum zwischen A1 und den C-Hallen.

Gleichzeitig haben die vergangenen Monate unsere Überzeugung gestärkt: Die ISPO Munich ist ein wichtiger Impuls für die Branche und kann nicht einfach ausfallen. Eine Plattform, auf der sich alle zumindest digital wiedersehen, Geschäfte abwickeln, neue Kontakte knüpfen und sich gegenseitig den Rücken stärken können.

Um das für die ISPO Munich Online so aufzubauen, arbeiten wir intensiv an einer Plattform, die so nah herankommt an eine physische ISPO Munich, wie das nur möglich ist. 

Dazu wollte ich mit euch meine 5 wichtigsten Learnings teilen: 

 

Freerider Matthias Haunholder mit Sweet-Protection-Helm in Action
Es ist wieder soweit, das Sport Business trifft sich in München: Die Neuheiten und Innovationen der Sportbranche werden gezeigt, besprochen und heiß diskutiert, Brands und Produkte prämiert, Kontakte geknüpft. Jetzt dabei sein und Teil der ISPO Munich vom 23.-26. Januar 2022 werden.

Learning 1: Unser oberstes Ziel muss Sichtbarkeit der Aussteller und Orientierung für Besucher sein

Viele digitale Messen haben gezeigt, dass die digitale Navigation durch hunderte digitale Aussteller eine große Herausforderung ist. Nichts ist so frustrierend wie ein undurchsichtiges Set-up. Daher ist es unser oberstes Ziel, für alle Aussteller größtmögliche Sichtbarkeit herzustellen. So findet sich auch der Besucher am besten zurecht. Wir stellen Orientierung und Sichtbarkeit her:  

  • Mit einem thematisch gegliederten virtuellen Eingangsbereich
  • Mit einer Übersicht aller Firmen, die nach verschiedenen Kriterien filterbar ist
  • Mit themenorientierten Landingpages mit den dazu passenden Firmen
  • Mit Sichtbarkeit für Brandroom-Besucher: Aussteller sehen wie bei einer physischen Messe, wer auf ihrer Ausstellungsfläche (Brandroom) ist und können die Besucher direkt ansprechen
  • Mit einem Matchmaking-Tool, das die richtigen Interessenten zusammenbringt
  • Mit einer Suche für Aussteller, die Besucher mit passendem Profil direkt ansprechen können 
  • Mit einem neukonzipierten Expo-TV
ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Suche für Aussteller und Besucher auf der Plattform
ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Suche für Aussteller und Besucher auf der Plattform

Learning 2: Networking und Face-to-face-Austausch so einfach wie möglich machen

Unsere unzähligen Gespräche vor, während und nach den ISPO Re.Start Days und in Vorbereitung auf die ISPO Munich Online haben gezeigt, unsere Branche vermisst den persönlichen Austausch. Und natürlich ist der gemeinsame Kaffee und das Feierabendbier auf einer ISPO Munich durch nichts zu ersetzen, doch den Austausch können wir auch digital forcieren. Deshalb gibt es in unserem Set-up:

  • eine einfache Chat-Networking-Funktion 
  • ein Planungstool für Meetings
  • und integrierte Meetingmöglichkeiten für Videocalls

 

ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Meetingtools
ISPO Munich Online: Screenshot der Meetingtools

Learning 3: Wir haben Digitalkompetenz dank jahrelanger Aufbauarbeit

Wir haben im Anschluss an die ISPO Re.Start Days sehr viel positives Feedback hinsichtlich des Events an sich bekommen. Und genau das war auch unser größtes Learning aus den Re.Start Days: Die Aufbauarbeit der letzten Jahre hat sich gelohnt. Wir haben die Kompetenz - wir können digital. Und dieses Selbstvertrauen hilft uns jetzt, die ISPO Munich Online aufzubauen.

Learning 4: Online-Konferenzen funktionieren: wenn Thema und Speaker stimmen

Die ISPO Re.Start Days haben zudem gezeigt, wie wichtig die richtigen Themen und hochwertige Speaker für ein Konferenzprogramm sind. Dank der detaillierten, datenbasierten Performance-Auswertung haben wir erkannt, welche Formate und Inhalte digital gut und welche weniger gut funktionieren. Neben der Teilnehmerzahl erlaubt auch die Verweildauer des Einzelnen wertvolle Rückschlüsse, welche Inhalte wie rezipiert werden.

Eine zentrale Erkenntnis: Viele der Besucher ziehen sich nicht wie bei einer physischen Veranstaltung, ganz aus dem Tagesgeschäft heraus, sondern konsumieren digitale Inhalte oftmals nebenbei. Konkret heißt das für das Konferenzprogramm der ISPO Munich Online unter anderem kürzere Talks statt stundenlanger Panels, effiziente Interaktionsformate und emotionale Momente. 

Auch eine veränderte Feedback-Kultur konnten wir erkennen: Die digitale Plattform kann die Hemmschwelle für eine Wortmeldung senken, wie sie häufig bei Vor-Ort-Veranstaltungen besteht. Das Feedback der Teilnehmer kommt viel direkter. Damit gilt es umzugehen.

Learning 5: Aussteller bringen Besucher…

... das ist bei physischen Veranstaltungen eine wichtige Komponente und dass dies auch bei digitalen Messen der Fall ist, haben die vielen Digital-Events der Messe München bewiesen. Deshalb tun wir alles dafür, dass Aussteller ganz einfach Besucher einladen können.

Wir haben dafür unser digitales Einladungstool entsprechend angepasst. Darüber kann jeder Aussteller nahezu unbegrenzt Besucher kostenlos zum Expo-Teil der Veranstaltung einladen.

Artikel teilen
ISPO.com Logo
Autor:
ISPO.com
Kommentare