A winter sports enthusiast plows through the snow on a steep mountain slope

Nadine Wallner

ISPO Award Angel

Image credit: Josef Mallaun

The rookie world champion

For them, the mountains are a playground. And that has been the case since childhood. At the age of three, Nadine Wallner was already skiing on her local Arlberg. The foundation stone for her love of white slopes and for an outstanding professional career. However, she found her passion away from the slopes: after an accident, she ended her nascent alpine skiing career and discovered freeriding for herself. With success: as a rookie, she became world champion for the first time in 2013 - until another accident set her back again.

But the special thing about Nadine: she always gets back up. "Fear can be very paralyzing. But fear can also be something that pushes you." A real heroine.

0
-th World Champion Freeride World Tour
0
Meter hellish plunge into the depths
0
-nd woman to walk the "Principle of Hope" route
Page 1 of 
0
-th World Champion Freeride World Tour
0
Meter hellish plunge into the depths
0
-nd woman to walk the "Principle of Hope" route
Page 1 of 
0
-th World Champion Freeride World Tour
0
Meter hellish plunge into the depths
0
-nd woman to walk the "Principle of Hope" route
Page 1 of 

Everything about the ISPO Award process with Award Angel Nadine Wallner

Nadine Wallner is a freeride world champion, passionate "homo sapiens outdoories" and, as an ISPO Award Angel, takes a look behind the scenes of the ISPO Award process with us. Join us and have a look too!

To the tests on Instagram

Testing boundaries without limits

Discovering untouched snow slopes with lots of thrills - that's freeriding. For Nadine, it's more than that - it's pure freedom. "For me, freeriding means giving free rein to my imagination and my ideas in my lines - and expressing myself in this way."

Hero Moment

Nadine Wallner knows what it means to have a guardian angel. The Austrian falls 250 meters during filming for a ski movie. With an open fracture of the tibia and fibula, she holds out until she is rescued. It took a full six hours before she was in hospital. This is followed by a forced break. But like a true heroine, she fights her way back to her beloved mountains. Even if her freeriding career has come to an end for the time being, giving up completely is never an option for Nadine Wallner. To build up her muscles after her injury, she takes up another alpine sport and starts climbing.

Nadine and the mountains

Nadine and the mountains simply belong together. She wants to play with the elements and feel them. And her ambition doesn't just take hold when it comes to climbing. She is also driven by the energy of the mountains and the joy of the flow of movement when paragliding or trail running. In 2018, Nadine dedicated herself to a remarkable project: she was one of the few women to take on the "Prinzip Hoffnung" (Principle of Hope) route at the challenging difficulty level 8b/+ and conquers it with flying colors.

Nadine Wallner becomes Award Angel

The ISPO Award is a seal of quality that is intended to provide orientation for the media, industry and, above all, end consumers, while focusing on the innovative strength of the sports and outdoor industry. As an Award Angel, Nadine accompanies the ISPO Award process and presents the award-winning products in entertaining videos on social media as well as at OutDoor by ISPO and ISPO Munich.

Freeride successes

In her first year as a professional, Nadine became world champion as a rookie - at the age of 24 and therefore youngest athlete to date.

  • 2016: 3rd place Swatch FWT Mountain/Freeride
  • 2016: 2nd place Swatch FWT Big Mountain/Freeride
  • 2014: 1st place: Freeride World Tour Fieberbrunn, Austria
  • 2014: Vorarlberg sportswoman of the year
  • 2013: 1st place: Freeride World Tour Fieberbrunn, Austria
  • 2013: 2nd place: Freeride World Tour Chamonix, France
  • 2013: 2nd place: Freeride World Tour Revelstoke, Canada
  • 2012: 2nd place: Freeride Festival Montafon by Eric Themel Montafon, Austria
  • 2011: 1st place: Freeride Festival Montafon by Eric Themel Montafon, Austria
"Respect each other and the mountains! Life is a gift!"

More facts about Nadine Wallner

Name:Nadine Wallner
Discipline:Freeskiing Big Mountain/Freeride
Height:1,63 m
Nationality:Austrian
Birthday:May 15, 1989
Born in:Bludenz/Vorarlberg
Followers on Instagram:20.9 thousand
More heroes who inspire us

Ein Wintersportler pflügt durch den Schnee an einem steilen Berghang

Nadine Wallner

ISPO Award Angel

Bildcredit: Josef Mallaun

Die "Rookie"-Weltmeisterin

Für sie sind die Berge ein Spielplatz. Und das schon von Kindheit an. Mit drei Jahren steht Nadine Wallner bereits auf Skiern am heimischen Arlberg. Der Grundstein für ihre Liebe zu weißen Hängen und für eine herausragende Profi-Karriere. Ihre Leidenschaft findet sie jedoch abseits der Pisten: Nach einem Unfall beendetet sie ihre beginnende Ski-Alpin-Karriere und entdeckt das Freeriden für sich. Mit Erfolg: Als Rookie wird sie 2013 zum ersten Mal Weltmeisterin – bis sie ein weiterer Unfall erneut zurückwirft.

Doch das Besondere an Nadine: Sie steht immer wieder auf. „Angst kann etwas sehr Lähmendes sein. Angst kann aber auch etwas sein, das dich pusht.“ Eine echte Heldin.

0
-te Weltmeisterin Freeride World Tour
0
Meter Höllensturz in die Tiefe
0
-te Frau, die die Route "Prinzip Hoffnung" begeht
Seite 1 von 
0
-te Weltmeisterin Freeride World Tour
0
Meter Höllensturz in die Tiefe
0
-te Frau, die die Route "Prinzip Hoffnung" begeht
Seite 1 von 
0
-te Weltmeisterin Freeride World Tour
0
Meter Höllensturz in die Tiefe
0
-te Frau, die die Route "Prinzip Hoffnung" begeht
Seite 1 von 

Alles zum ISPO Award Prozess mit Award Angel Nadine Wallner

Nadine Wallner ist Freeride-Weltmeisterin, leidenschaftliche "homo sapiens outdoories" und wirft als ISPO Award Angel mit uns einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des ISPO Award Prozesses. Begleite du uns ebenfalls und schau vorbei!

Zu den Tests auf Instagram

Grenzenlos Grenzen testen

Mit einer Menge Nervenkitzel unberührte Schneehänge entdecken – das ist Freeriden. Für Nadine ist es mehr als das, nämlich pure Freiheit. "Freeriden bedeutet für mich, meiner Fantasie und meinen Ideen in meinen Linien freien Lauf zu lassen – und mich so selbst zum Ausdruck zu bringen."

Hero Moment

Nadine Wallner weiß, was es heißt, einen Schutzengel zu haben. 250 Meter stürzt die Österreicherin während Dreharbeiten für einen Skifilm in die Tiefe. Mit einem offenen Schien- und Wadenbeinbruch harrt sie bis zur Bergung aus. Ganze sechs Stunden dauert es, bis sie im Krankenhaus liegt. Danach folgt eine Zwangspause. Doch wie eine echte Heldin kämpft sie sich zurück auf ihre geliebten Berge. Auch wenn ihre Freeride-Karriere vorerst ein Ende nimmt, ganz aufgeben ist nie eine Option für Nadine Wallner. Für den Muskelaufbau nach ihrer Verletzung nutzt sie einen weiteren Alpinsport und beginnt mit dem Klettern.

 

Nadine und die Berge

Nadine und die Berge gehören einfach zusammen. Sie möchte mit den Elementen spielen und sie spüren. Und der Ehrgeiz ergreift sie nicht nur, wenn es ums Klettern geht. Auch beim Gleitschirmfliegen oder Trailrunning treiben sie die Energie der Berge und die Freude am Flow der Bewegung voran. 2018 widmet sich Nadine einem bemerkenswerten Projekt: Als eine der wenigen Frauen wagt sie sich an die Route "Prinzip Hoffnung" im herausfordernden Schwierigkeitsgrad 8b/+ und bezwingt sie mit Bravour.

Nadine Wallner wird Award Angel

Der ISPO Award ist ein Qualitätssiegel, das Medien, Industrie und vor allem auch Endverbraucher*innen Orientierung geben soll und dabei die Innovationskraft der Sport- und Outdoorindustrie in den Fokus stellt. Als Award Angel begleitet Nadine den ISPO Award Prozess und präsentiert die ausgezeichneten Produkte in unterhaltsamen Videos auf Social Media sowie auf der OutDoor by ISPO sowie der ISPO Munich.

Freeride Erfolge

In ihrem ersten Profi-Jahr wurde Nadine als „Rookie“ gleich Weltmeisterin – und das mit 24 und somit als bislang jüngste Athletin.

  • 2016: 3. Platz Swatch FWT Mountain/Freeride
  • 2016: 2. Platz Swatch FWT Big Mountain/Freeride
  • 2014: 1. Platz: Freeride World Tour 

Fieberbrunn, Österreich
  • 2014: Vorarlberger Sportlerin des Jahres
  • 2013: 1. Platz: Freeride World Tour 

Fieberbrunn, Österreich
  • 2013: 2. Platz: Freeride World Tour 

Chamonix, Frankreich
  • 2013: 2. Platz: Freeride World Tour

 Revelstoke, Kanada
  • 2012: 2. Platz: Freeride Festival Montafon by Eric Themel 

Montafon, Österreich
  • 2011: 1. Platz: Freeride Festival Montafon by Eric Themel 

Montafon, Österreich
„Respect each other and the mountains! Life is a gift!“

Weitere Fakten zu Nadine Wallner

Name:Nadine Wallner
Disziplin:Freeskiing Big Mountain/Freeride
Größe:1,63 m
Nationalität:Österreichisch
Geburtstag:15. Mai 1989
Geboren in:Bludenz/Vorarlberg
Follower auf Instagram:20,9 Tausend
Mehr Heroes, die uns inspirieren