Denisa Dragomir

Denisa Dragomir

Higher and faster, at the same time always better: that's the trend for exceptional skyrunner Denisa Dragomir. The Romanian runner won the Skyrunning World Series in 2021 and her success curve points just as steeply upward as her mountain runs. High time to introduce the Merrell athlete on ISPO.com.

How Denisa Dragomir to Run

Denisa likes to tell that running decided for her and not she decided for running. But in turn, because it all began at a tender elementary school age, when little Denisa desperately wanted to participate in a running race like her cousin and prove to everyone that she could do it just as well as the older kids. Denisa was much too young to start and ran outside the rating with.

At that time, running was more fun and games. But even then, the ambitious girl wanted to get better and better, to learn more and more. At 14, the passion for athletics was then firmly anchored in Denisa. Her favorite discipline in her youth was the hurdles. There she won junior titles over 1000, 2500 and 3000 meters.

The transition to the seniors was not seamless for Dragomir, however. Injuries followed, things didn't go well in competitions, and after a series of setbacks and failures, the doubts came. Denisa Dragomir considered quitting running altogether. But then she discovered running in the mountains for herself.

Denisa Dragomir steht auf einem Felsen
When Denisa discovers skyrunning for herself, a career end is forgotten for the time being

Mountain Running or the Moment When It “Clicked"

In 2010 Denisa took part in her first mountain race, which earned her qualification to the Junior European Championships, which she won. Victories and successes at long distances followed and over the years Denisa Dragomir managed to win five bronze medals at the World Long Distance Championships. But it really "clicked" for her when she took her first victory in a skyrunning competition. ".I realized I was made for skyrunning. The adrenaline took over my mind. The mountains gave me the new opportunity and challenge I needed, because I didn't want to end my athletic career so soon." 

Now she has been competing in what is arguably the most technically demanding discipline of trail running for more than seven years, but she is far from done. The racing circus leads her to always new venues, which Denisa insanely likes to discover for herself. "Trail running is more than sports. For me, it's about always discovering new mountains, understanding them and respecting them at the same time."

Load more

Denisa Dragomir

Denisa Dragomir

Höher und schneller, gleichzeitig immer besser: Dorthin geht der Trend bei Ausnahme-Skyrunnerin Denisa Dragomir. Die rumänische Läuferin gewann 2021 die Skyrunning World Series und ihre Erfolgskurve zeigt ebenso steil nach oben wie ihre Bergläufe. Höchste Zeit die Merrell-Athletin auf ISPO.com vorzustellen.

Wie Denisa Dragomir zum Laufen kann

Denisa erzählt gern, dass das Laufen sich für sie entschieden hat und nicht sie sich fürs Laufen. Aber der Reihe nach, denn alles begann bereits im zarten Grundschulalter, als die kleine Denisa unbedingt wie ihre Cousine an einem Laufrennen teilnehmen und allen beweisen wollte, dass sie es genauso gut kann wie die älteren Kinder. Dabei war Denisa viel zu jung um zu starten und lief außerhalb der Wertung mit.

Damals war das Laufen mehr Spiel und Spaß. Aber schon damals wollte das ehrgeizige Mädchen immer besser werden, immer mehr dazulernen. Mit 14 wurde dann die Leidenschaft für Leichtathletik fest bei Denisa verankert. Ihre Herzens- und Paradedisziplin war in der Jugend vor allem der Hürdenlauf. Dort holte sie Juniorentitel über 1000, 2500 und 3000 Meter.

Der Übergang zu den Senioren verlief für Dragomir allerdings nicht nahtlos. Es folgten Verletzungen, bei den Wettkämpfen lief es nicht und nach einer Reihe von Rückschlägen und Misserfolgen kamen die Zweifel. Denisa Dragomir überlegte ganz mit dem Laufen aufzuhören. Doch dann entdeckte sie das Laufen in den Bergen für sich.

Denisa Dragomir steht auf einem Felsen
Als Denisa Skyrunning für sich entdeckt, ist ein Karriereende erstmal vergessen

Berglauf oder der Moment, als es „Klick" machte

2010 nahm Denisa an ihrem ersten Berglauf teil, welches ihr die Qualifikation zu den Junioren-Europameisterschaften einbrachte, welche sie gewann. Es folgten Siege und Erfolge auf langen Distanzen und über die Jahre konnte Denisa Dragomir fünf Bronze-Medaillen bei den Weltmeisterschaften auf der Langstrecke holen. Doch so richtig machte es erst für sie „Klick“, als sie ihren ersten Sieg in einem Skyrunning Wettbewerb holte. „ Ich merkte, dass ich wie fürs Skyrunning geschaffen war. Das Adrenalin übernahm meinen Verstand. Die Berge gaben mir die neue Chance und Herausforderung, die ich brauchte, denn ich wollte meine sportliche Karriere nicht so schnell beenden.“ 

Nun tritt sie bereits mehr als sieben Jahre in der wohl technisch anspruchsvollsten Disziplin des Trailrunnings an und hat aber noch lange nicht genug. Der Rennzirkus führt sie an immer neue Austragungsorte, die Denisa wahnsinnig gerne für sich entdeckt. „Trailrunning ist mehr als Sport. Für mich geht es dabei darum, immer neue Berge zu entdecken, diese zu verstehen und gleichzeitig zu respektieren.“

Mehr laden