Tony Hawk

No one has shaped skateboarding like Tony Hawk. The US American is the pioneer of the modern vert style and advanced to become the first world star of skating in the 1990s - including his own Tony Hawk Pro Skater video game series and film appearances (Jackass, Triple X). But Tony Hawk has also left his mark on the scene away from the halfpipe: with his Birdhouse skateboard brand and his Tony Hawk Foundation, with which he builds skate parks in disadvantaged neighborhoods.

Tony Hawk: A unique career

Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Wins at the X Games
0
Instagram fans
0
Estimated assets in US dollars (2021)
Page 1 of 
Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Wins at the X Games
0
Instagram fans
Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Estimated assets in US dollars (2021)
Page 1 of 
Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Wins at the X Games
Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Instagram fans
Tony Hawk in numbers
0
Estimated assets in US dollars (2021)
Page 1 of 

Tony Hawk - Life of the skate legend

Tony Hawk was born on May 12, 1968 in San Diego, California. Even as a child he was difficult to control: hyperactive and with almost boundless energy, which sometimes turned into aggressiveness, highly gifted and impatient. His mother took him to psychologists several times.

Until Hawk discovered skateboarding at the age of nine. Now he was able to let out all his energy on the board, until his rather lanky body could master the most daring tricks. His father, a former Navy officer, even built his youngest son his own halfpipe in his backyard in California.

The rise was rapid: at fourteen Tony became part of the Powell Peralta professional team and showed his tricks in the famous Bone Brigade videos. At the age of 16 he was already the world's best. Numerous victories, videos and a business empire born out of the skateboarding scene followed. He became skateboarding world champion eleven times in a row, won 73 of 103 professional competitions, won six gold medals at the X-Games, was on the cover of "People", "Esquire", "Rolling Stone" and the "New Yorker".

Hawk has four children and is married for the fourth time. His son Riley is also a professional skateboarder.

The skate pioneer and his tricks

Hawk is considered a pioneer of the so-called vert style and is at home in the halfpipe. But his tricks could also be seen in street style. No other skateboarder has invented as many tricks and jumps as he has, almost a hundred in total. His most difficult trick is the "900": a two-and-a-half turn around the body's longitudinal axis. He was the first person ever to do it, 20 years ago. Even in his forties he was still able to do it, until he officially gave up the trick with one last video.

Since Tony Hawk retired from the competition scene in 2003, he still skates privately, in videos and at events. And also active in the skateboarding scene, hosted the X-Games for example. On an invitation from Barack Obama, Tony Hawk showed some tricks and was the first person who was officially allowed to skateboard in the White House.

Load more

Tony Hawk

Niemand hat das Skateboarden so geprägt wie Tony Hawk. Der US-Amerikaner ist der Pionier des modernen Vert-Styles und avancierte in den 1990er Jahren zum ersten Weltstar des Skatens - inklusive eigener Tony Hawk Pro Skater Videospielreihe und Filmauftritten (Jackass, Triple X). Aber auch abseits der Halfpipe prägt Tony Hawk die Szene: mit seiner Skateboard-Marke Birdhouse und seiner Tony Hawk Foundation, mit der er Skateparks in benachteiligten Vierteln errichtet.

Tony Hawk: Eine einzigartige Karriere

Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Siege bei den X Games
0
Instagram-Fans
0
Geschätztes Vermögen in US-Dollar (2021)
Seite 1 von 
Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Siege bei den X Games
0
Instagram-Fans
Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Geschätztes Vermögen in US-Dollar (2021)
Seite 1 von 
Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Siege bei den X Games
Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Instagram-Fans
Tony Hawk in Zahlen
0
Geschätztes Vermögen in US-Dollar (2021)
Seite 1 von 

Tony Hawk - Leben der Skate-Legende

Tony Hawk wurde am 12. Mai 1968 in San Diego, Kalifornien geboren. Schon als Kind war er schwer zu bändigen: hyperaktiv und mit schier grenzenloser Energie, die sich zuweilen in Aggressivität verwandelte, hochbegabt und ungeduldig. Mehrmals besuchte seine Mutter mit ihm Psychologen. 

Bis Hawk dann mit neun Jahren das Skateboarden für sich entdeckte. Nun konnte er seine ganze Energie auf dem Brett ausleben, bis sein eher schmächtiger Körper die waghalsigsten Tricks meistern konnte. Sein Vater, ein ehemaliger Offizier der Navy, baute seinem jüngsten Sohn dafür sogar eine eigene Halfpipe in den heimischen Garten in Kalifornien.

Der Aufstieg erfolgte rasant: Mit vierzehn wurde Tony Teil des Powell Peralta Profi-Teams und zeigte seine Tricks in den berühmten Bone Brigade Videos. Mit 16 Jahren war er bereits der Weltbeste. Es folgten zahlreiche Siege, Videos und ein Business-Imperium geboren aus der Skateboard-Szene. Elf Mal in Folge wurde er Skateboard-Weltmeister, gewann 73 von 103 Profi-Wettkämpfen, holte sechs Goldmedaillen bei den X-Games, war auf dem Cover von „People“, „Esquire“, „Rolling Stone“ und dem „New Yorker“.

Hawk hat vier Kinder und ist zum vierten Mal verheiratet. Sein Sohn Riley ist ebenfalls Skateboard-Profi. 

Der Skate-Pionier und seine Tricks

Hawk gilt als Pionier des sogenannten Vert-Styles und ist in der Halfpipe zuhause. Aber auch Street-Style konnten sich seine Tricks sehen lassen. Kein anderer Skateboarder hat so viele Tricks und Sprünge erfunden wie er, fast hundert sind es insgesamt. Sein schwerster Trick ist der „900“: eine zweieinhalbfache Drehung um die Körperlängsachse. Der gelang ihm vor 20 Jahren erstmals, als erstem Menschen überhaupt. Auch über vierzig hatte er ihn noch drauf, bis er den Trick offiziell mit einem letzten Video an den Nagel hing.

Seitdem sich Tony Hawk 2003 aus der Wettbewerbs-Szene zurückgezogen hat, skatet er immer noch privat, in Videos und auf Events. Und auch in der Skateboard-Szene aktiv, moderierte beispielsweise die X-Games. Auf einer Einladung von Barack Obama zeigte Tony Hawk einige Tricks und war die erste Person, die offiziell im Weißen Haus skateboarden durfte.

Mehr laden