Lina & Sanna El Kott Helander

Trailrunning Successes in Double

Most of the time you meet the two Swedes in a double pack and with a smile on their lips: The El Kott twins have been regulars in the trail running scene at least since their double win of the Transalpine Run. Here are the most important facts about the two blond Merrell athletes, who eat a completely vegan diet.

El Kott Breakthrough at the Transalpine Run

Loose, light on their feet and smiling, that's how Lina and Sanna El Kott Helander's running style can be described. With a victory in the Transalpine Run, arguably the world's toughest trail running team event, which leads across the Alps in stages, the sisters attracted attention in a big way in 2017. With another victory the following year, they proved once again that they are a force to be reckoned with, as well as wins at the Pitz Alpine Glacier Trail (2020 and 2021), the Monte Rosa Sky Marathon (2021) or the SkySnow World Championship Vertical, when Lina secured the title as world champion.

Sharing the biggest success in their career to date at the Transalpine Run with their sister as a team was of course special for both of them. And the two still enjoy competing in races where they can compete as a team of two. In July 2022, for example, the El Kotts finished second in the women's classification of the Pierra Menta Eté, which takes place in three stages.

The two also spend most of their time on the road together: During the racing season, they tour Europe together, and during the competition break, the two live together in Åre, which is known as a ski resort. There they also organize the Åre Trail Tour, where you can compete against old and new friends in trail running for three days.

Sanna El Kott Helander on the trails on the road
Load more

Lina & Sanna El Kott Helander

Trailrunning Erfolge im Doppelpack

Meistens trifft man die beiden Schwedinnen im Doppelpack und mit einem Lächeln auf dem Lippen: Die El Kott-Zwillinge sind spätestens seit ihrem Doppelgewinn des Transalpine Runs feste Größen in der Trailrunning-Szene. Hier sind die wichtigsten Fakten über die beiden blonden Merrell-Athletinnen, die sich komplett vegan ernähren.

El Kott Durchbruch beim Transalpine Run

Locker, leichtfüßig und lächelnd, so lässt sich der Laufstil von Lina und Sanna El Kott Helander beschreiben. Mit einem Sieg beim Transalpine Run, dem weltweit wohl schwersten Trailrunning-Teambewerb, der in Etappen über die Alpen führt, machten die Schwestern 2017 in großem Stil auf sich aufmerksam. Mit einem weiteren Sieg im Folgejahr bewiesen sie erneut, dass fest mit ihnen zu rechnen ist und auch Siege beim Pitz Alpine Glacier Trail (2020 und 2021), beim Monte Rosa Sky Marathon (2021) oder beim Vertical der SkySnow Weltmeisterschaft, als sich Lina den Titel als Weltmeisterin sicherte. 

Den bis dato größten Erfolg in der Karriere beim Transalpine Run mit der Schwester als Team zu teilen, war für beide natürlich besonders. Und nach wie vor sind die beiden gerne in Rennen am Start, in denen sie sich als Zweierteam messen können. Im Juli 2022 wurden die El Kotts etwa Zweite in der Frauenwertung des Pierra Menta Eté, das in drei Etappen stattfindet. 

Auch sonst sind die beiden die meiste Zeit zu zweit unterwegs: Während der Rennsaison touren sie gemeinsam durch Europa und in der Wettkampfpause wohnen die beiden im als Skiort bekannten Åre zusammen. Dort organisieren sie auch die Åre Trail Tour, auf der man sich drei Tage lang gegen alte und neue Freunde beim Trailrunning messen kann.

Sanna El Kott Helander unterwegs auf den Trails  
Mehr laden