Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra - the best climber in the world

Adam Ondra is considered one of the best climbers in the world. Due to his family background, Adam Ondra has been climbing since he was six years old. He became internationally known in 2009 with his redpoint ascent of the WoGü route. Since then, Ondra has been constantly improving and growing beyond himself and his abilities, making him a role model for many followers. In 2017, he became the first to conquer a route with a difficulty level of 9c. In doing so, he has pushed the boundaries of what is possible not only for himself, but for the entire climbing industry.

Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
Redpoint routes
0
World Cup medals
0
On-sight routes
Page 1 of 
Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
Redpoint routes
0
World Cup medals
Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
On-sight routes
Page 1 of 
Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
Redpoint routes
Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
World Cup medals
Adam Ondra in numbers:
0
On-sight routes
Page 1 of 

Hero Moments

Adam Ondra is a true role model when it comes to ambition, mindset and continuous improvement. He was the first climber to conquer a route with a difficulty of 9c. This pushed the boundaries of what was possible not only for him personally, but also for the entire climbing industry. Nevertheless, Ondra remains down-to-earth and feels a great responsibility for the preservation of the diverse sport of climbing. In several documentaries and his own book, the professional athlete provides inspiring insights into his adventurous life.

Silence - Self-realization instead of competition

Adam Ondra is the first climber in the world to have mastered a route with a difficulty of 9c. On September 3, 2017, the professional climber succeeded in climbing the Silence route in the Hanshelleren Cave in Norway. In an interview with ISPO.com, Ondra stresses that he is not primarily concerned with competition. "For me, it's not about doing something that no one has done before - it's about doing something that I haven't done before. And if that happens to be the hardest route in the world - so much the better. After a certain point, comparing yourself to others demotivates you. You have to always want to improve yourself."

A Year and Half of Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra published a book in 2019 that inspires fans and gives a very personal insight into the life of the exceptional climber. The photo book is full of pure nature, hard work, emotions and shows a two-year journey through breathtaking outdoor areas, quiet rock formations as well as vibrant and lively indoor competitions. The photos are accompanied by unique texts by Adam himself, in which he shares his thoughts about climbing life, motivation, comfort zone, competitions, climbing etiquette.

The Wizard's Apprentice

"The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is the result of two years of filming with Adam Ondra and tells the story of the inspiring adventures of the climbing wizard. It is an all-round portrait of an ordinary man, but at the same time extraordinary athlete, whose successes shake the parameters of vertical sports and make him a hero of his discipline.

"I don't really think about why I climb, I just simply love it."
Adam Ondra

The life of the climbing professional

Adam Ondra was born on February 5, 1993 in Brno, the son of two climbers. His talent was practically born in his cradle. He started climbing at the age of six and as a 13-year-old he conquered his first route with the difficulty grade 9a. At the age of 16, Ondra won his first Lead Climbing World Cup and finished second in the Lead Climbing World Championships. During his career, he mastered some of the most difficult routes in the world, such as "Action Directe" and "La Rambla," among others. His list also includes some difficult first ascents, such as the Italian route "Marina Superstar" (9a/9b).

Adam Ondra's first international success was the opening of what was then the first 9b+ in the Hanselleren Cave in Norway. The professional climber set up the 50-meter route himself. He named it "Change" and conquered it for the first time in October 2012. According to Ondra, the difficulty level is 9b+.

In 2016, Adam Ondra managed the first repetition and first continuous redpoint ascent of the "Dawn Wall" . It took him only eight days.

In September 2017, the professional climber was able to record probably the greatest success of his career. He finished his project in the Hanshelleren Cave in Norway. The route "Silence" is currently the hardest and only route of its kind in the world, with a difficulty of 9c.

With the flash ascent of "Super Crackinette" (9a+) 2018 in France, Ondra achieved the first flash ascent (on the first attempt) in this difficulty grade worldwide.

In addition, he has also won major titles in many competitions. In 2014, for example, the multiple overall World Cup winner made climbing history as the first double world champion in the lead climbing and bouldering disciplines. But that's not all, Ondra continued to provide superlatives and bests. In total, he was awarded ten medals at the European Youth Championships. At the Lead World Cup he has so far won 21 medals and at the Boulder World Cup 13.

Adam Ondra stands out above all for his versatility. Currently, there is no other competitor who climbs at the professional level in sport climbing, competition climbing and multi-pitch, i.e. alpine terrain. Another characteristic of Ondra is that he likes to express his tension and effort noisily while climbing.

"When I was young, I loved the feeling of escaping to the rocks on a Friday afternoon with my parents."
Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra: The most important facts in brief

SportClimbing
Discipline:Lead, Bouldering
Height:185 cm
Nationality:Czech Republic
Birthday:February 05, 1993
Born in:Brno
Followers on Instagram:676.000
Breakthrough to the top of the world:Redpoint ascent of the route WoGü
World Cup debut:01 May. 2009
World Cup victories:15
Patner:Iva Vejmolova
Adam Ondra Sponsors

Adam Ondra gibt einem Fan ein Autogramm

Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra - der beste Kletterer der Welt

Adam Ondra gilt als einer der besten Kletterer weltweit. Durch seinen familiären Hintergrund klettert Adam Ondra bereits seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr. Mit der Rotpunktbegehung der Route WoGü wurde er 2009 international bekannt. Seither verbessert sich Ondra stetig und wächst immer weiter über sich und seine Fähigkeiten hinaus, was ihn zum Vorbild für viele Anhänger macht. Im Jahr 2017 bezwang er als erster eine Route mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad 9c. Dadurch hat er die Grenzen des Möglichen nicht nur für sich selbst, sondern für gesamte Kletter-Branche verschoben.

Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
Redpoint Routen
0
Medaillen im Weltcup
0
On-sight Routen
Seite 1 von 
Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
Redpoint Routen
0
Medaillen im Weltcup
Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
On-sight Routen
Seite 1 von 
Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
Redpoint Routen
Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
Medaillen im Weltcup
Adam Ondra in Zahlen:
0
On-sight Routen
Seite 1 von 

Hero Moments

Adam Ondra ist ein echtes Vorbild, wenn es um Ehrgeiz, Mindset und kontinuierliche Verbesserung geht. Als erster Kletterer bezwang er eine Route mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad 9c. Dadurch wurden die Grenzen des Möglichen nicht nur für ihn persönlich, sondern auch für die gesamte Kletter-Branche verschoben. Trotzdem bleibt Ondra bodenständig und fühlt eine große Verantwortung für die Erhaltung des vielfältigen Klettersports. In einigen Dokumentationen und seinem eigenen Buch gewährt der Pofisportler inspirierende Einblicke in sein abenteuerliches Leben.

Silence - Selbstverwirklichung statt Konkurrenz

Adam Ondra ist der erste Kletterer weltweit, der eine Route mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad 9c bewältigt hat. Am 3. September 2017 gelang es dem Profikletterer, die Silence-Route in der Hanshelleren-Höhle in Norwegen zu durchsteigen. Im Interview mit ISPO.com betont Ondra, dass es ihm nicht primär um Konkurrenz geht. „Es geht mir nicht darum, etwas zu tun, was niemand zuvor getan hat – sondern darum, etwas zu tun, was ich noch nicht getan habe. Und wenn dies zufällig die härteste Route der Welt ist – um so besser. Ab einem bestimmten Punkt demotiviert es, wenn man sich mit anderen vergleicht. Man muss sich selbst immer weiter verbessern wollen.“

A Year and Half of Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra veröffentlichte 2019 ein Buch, das Fans inspiriert und einen ganz persönlichen Einblick in das Leben des Ausnahmekletterers gewährt. Das Fotobuch steckt voller purer Natur, harter Arbeit, Emotionen und zeigt eine zweijährige Reise durch atemberaubende Outdoor-Bereiche, ruhige Felsformationen sowie pulsierende und lebendige Indoor-Wettkämpfe. Die Fotos werden von einzigartigen Texten von Adam selbst begleitet, in denen er seine Gedanken über das Kletterleben, Motivation, Komfortzone, Wettkämpfe, Kletteretikette teilt.

The Wizard's Apprentice

„Der Zauberlehrling“ ist das Ergebnis von zwei Jahren Dreharbeiten mit Adam Ondra und erzählt die Geschichte der inspirierenden Abenteuer des Kletterzauberers. Es ist das Rundum-Porträt eines normalen Menschen, aber zugleich außergewöhnlichen Sportlers, dessen Erfolge die Parameter des vertikalen Sports erschüttern und ihn zum Helden seiner Disziplin machen.

„I don't really think about why I climb, I just simply love it.“
Adam Ondra

Das Leben des Kletterprofis

Adam Ondra wurde am 5. Februar 1993 in Brünn als Sohn zweier Kletterer geboren. Das Talent wurde ihm quasi in die Wiege gelegt. Mit sechs Jahren begann er bereits mit dem Klettersport und als 13-Jähriger bezwang er seine erste Route mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad 9a. Im Alter von 16 Jahren gewann Ondra seinen ersten Lead Climbing World Cup und wurde Zweitbester in der Lead Climbing World Championships. In seiner Laufbahn bewältigte er unter anderem einige der schwersten Touren weltweit, wie „Action Directe“ und „La Rambla“. Außerdem stehen auch einige schwierige Erstbegehungen wie die italienische Route „Marina Superstar“ (9a/9b) auf seiner Liste.

Der erste internationale Erfolg von Adam Ondra war die Eröffnung der damaligen ersten 9b+ in der Hanselleren-Höhle in Norwegen. Der Profikletterer richtete die 50 Meter lange Route selbst ein. Er benannte sie „Change“ und bezwang sie im Oktober 2012 zum ersten Mal. Der Schwierigkeitsgrad liegt laut Ondra bei 9b+.

Im Jahr 2016 gelang Adam Ondra die erste Wiederholung und erste durchgehende Rotpunktbegehung der „Dawn Wall“ . Er brauchte dafür nur acht Tage. 

Im September 2017 konnte der Profikletterer den wohl größten Erfolg seiner Karriere verzeichnen. Er beendete sein Projekt in der Hanshelleren Höhle in Norwegen. Die Route „Silence“  ist mit dem Schwierigkeitsgrad 9c die derzeit härteste und einzige Route dieser Art weltweit.

Mit der Flash-Begehung von „Super Crackinette“ (9a+) 2018 in Frankreich gelang Ondra die erste Flash-Begehung (beim ersten Versuch) in diesem Schwierigkeitsgrad weltweit.

Darüber hinaus konnte er aber auch bei vielen Wettkämpfen große Titel für sich entscheiden. So schrieb der mehrfache Gesamtweltcupsieger 2014 als erster Doppelweltmeister in den Disziplinen Lead-Klettern und Bouldern Klettergeschichte. Doch damit nicht genug, Ondra sorgte auch weiterhin für Superlative und Bestmarken. Insgesamt wurde er mit zehn Medaillen bei den europäischen Jugendmeisterschaften ausgezeichnet. Beim Lead-Weltcup konnte er bisher 21 Mal und beim Boulder-Weltcup 13 Mal Edelmetall erreichen.

Adam Ondra zeichnet vor allem seine Vielseitigkeit aus. Aktuell gibt es keinen anderen Mitstreiter, der im Sportklettern, im Wettkampfklettern und in Mehrseillängen, das heißt in alpinem Gelände, auf Profiniveau klettert. Ein weiteres Merkmal von Ondra ist es, dass er seine Anspannung und Anstrengung während des Kletterns gerne geräuschvoll äußert.

„When I was young, I loved the feeling of escaping to the rocks on a Friday afternoon with my parents.“
Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra: Das Wichtigste in Kürze

SportartKlettern
Disziplin:Lead, Bouldern
Größe:185 cm
Nationalität:Tschechien
Geburtstag:05. Februar 1993
Geboren in:Brünn
Follower auf Instagram:676.000
Durchbruch an die Weltspitze:Rotpunktbegehung der Route WoGü
Debut im Weltcup:01. Mai. 2009
Weltcupsiege:15
Patnerin:Iva Vejmolova
Adam Ondra Sponsoren