High altitude climber Gerlinde Galtenbrunner turns 50.

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner

The extreme mountaineer

The mountaineers in portrait

As a high-altitude mountaineer who was the first woman to climb all 14 eight-thousanders without bottled oxygen, Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner is an exceptional athlete.

The qualified nurse climbed her first eight-thousander at the young age of 23. With the ascent of K2, with a total of 8611 meters in altitude and the second highest mountain on earth, she is the first woman to have reached all eight-thousander peaks without the support of supplemental oxygen and without the help of high altitude porters.

However, her passion is not only for the eight-thousanders. The Austrian is also inspired by the exchange and cooperation with other people. Above all, gratitude, inner passion, and a respectful approach to nature are at the center of her life. Again and again she tries to share these values and attitudes with her fellow men from different cultures in various lectures and workshops.

Highest ascents
0
hm Mount Everest
0
hm K2
0
Kangchendzönga
Page 1 of 
Highest ascents
0
hm Mount Everest
0
hm K2
Highest ascents
0
Kangchendzönga
Page 1 of 
Highest ascents
0
hm Mount Everest
Highest ascents
0
hm K2
Highest ascents
0
Kangchendzönga
Page 1 of 

Sustainability and mountain sports - does that work?

Many people look up to her. As one of the best extreme mountaineers, Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner has a certain role model function, also in terms of sustainability. The athlete gladly accepts this role model function. In this interview, Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner reveals how a sustainable lifestyle can be combined with mountaineering expeditions.

To the interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner in interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner is a high-altitude mountaineer, the first person to conquer all 14 eight-thousanders without carrying oxygen, and a trained nurse. In an interview with ISPO.com, she looks back on her 50th birthday with great satisfaction, gratitude and joy.

To the interview
"Up here I feel free, I can leave all my obligations behind. On the mountain I have a different attitude to life than in the valley. Mountaineering is simply my life. Hiking is my energy booster."
Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner

Why Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner will never climb another eight-thousander:

In 2016, she was awarded the ISPO Cup for her life's work. The extreme mountaineer will also be in Munich for ISPO Munich 2018. In an interview with ISPO.com, she talks about her most emotional moment on an eight-thousander as well as the dangers on the mountain and reveals why she will never climb an eight-thousander again.

To the interview

"Small mistakes can have deadly consequences"

Extreme mountaineer Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner on mountain sports at the limit. In the interview, she talks about the magical attraction of the mountains, encounters with death and a small knife that saved her life.

To the interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner becomes a lifesaver

During the ascent of Moutn Everest, together with Ralf Dujmovits and Japanese Hirotaka Takeuchi there was a medical emergency. The 34-year-old Japanese suffered from cerebral edema and the registered nurse treated the seriously ill Takeuchi. She was rightly voted Sports Personality of the Year at ISPO Munich.

To the article

Mountain addict or record addict?

In addition to the countless successes that Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner has already achieved, setbacks are also always part of her daring ascents. How the extreme athlete deals with this and whether mountaineering is addictive, she reveals in this video.

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner at a glance

Sport:Mountaineering
Height:173 cm
Nationality:Austria
Birthday:December 13, 1970
Born in:Kirchdorf an der Krems
Wonhaft in:Attersee, Upper Austria
Record:First woman to have all 14 eight-thousanders without supplemental oxygen
First eight-thousander:Borad Peak pregipfel in Pakistan, 8,027 vertical meters
Partner:Manfred Jericha
Followers on Instagram:6.234

Höhenbergsteigerin Gerlinde Galtenbrunner wird 50.

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner

Die Extrembergsteigerin

Die Bergsteigern im Portrait

Als Höhenbergsteigerin, die als erste Frau alle 14 Achttausender ohne Flaschensauerstoff bestiegen hat, ist Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner eine Ausnahmesportlerin.

Die diplomierte Krankenschwester bestieg bereits mit jungen 23 Jahren ihren ersten Achttausender. Mit der Besteigung des K2, mit insgesamt 8611 Höhenmetern und zweithöchsten Berges der Erde, ist sie die erste Frau, die sämtliche Achttausendergipfel ohne Unterstützung von zusätzlichem Sauerstoff und ohne die Hilfe von Hochträgern erreicht hat.

Ihre Leidenschaft gilt jedoch nicht nur den Achttausendern. Auch der Austausch sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit andern Menschen beflügelt die Österreicherin. Vor allem Dankbarkeit, innere Passion, und ein respektvoller Umgang mit der Natur stehen in ihrem Lebensmittelpunkt. Immer wieder versucht sie diese Werte und Einstellungen in diversen Vorträgen und Workshops mit ihrem Mitmenschen aus den verschiedensten Kulturen zu teilen.

Höchste Besteigungen
0
hm Mount Everest
0
hm K2
0
Kangchendzönga
Seite 1 von 
Höchste Besteigungen
0
hm Mount Everest
0
hm K2
Höchste Besteigungen
0
Kangchendzönga
Seite 1 von 
Höchste Besteigungen
0
hm Mount Everest
Höchste Besteigungen
0
hm K2
Höchste Besteigungen
0
Kangchendzönga
Seite 1 von 

Nachhaltigkeit und Bergsport - klappt das?

Viele Menschen schauen zu ihr auf. Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner hat als eine der besten Extrembergsteigerinnen eine gewisse Vorbildfunktion, auch in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Diese Vorbildfunktion nimmt die Sportlerin gerne an. Wie sich ein nachhaltiger Lebensstil mit Bergsportexpeditionen vereinen lässt, verrät Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner im Interview.

Zum Interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner im Interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner ist Höhenbergsteigerin, erste Bezwingerin aller 14 Achttausender ohne mitgeführtem Sauerstoff und ausgebildete Krankenschwester. Im Interview mit ISPO.com blickt sie zu ihrem 50. Geburtstag mit großer Zufriedenheit, Dankbarkeit und Freude zurück.

Zum Interview
„Hier oben fühle ich mich frei, ich kann alle Verpflichtungen hinter mir lassen. Am Berg habe ich ein anderes Lebensgefühl als im Tal. Das Bergsteigen ist einfach mein Leben. Wandern ist mein Energiespender.“
Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner

Warum Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner nie wieder auf einen Achttausender steigen wird:

2016 bekommt sie für ihr Lebenswerk den ISPO Pokal verliehen. Auch bei der ISPO Munich 2018 ist die Extrembergsteigerin in München. Im Interview mit ISPO.com spricht sie über ihren emotionalsten Moment auf einem Achttausender sowie die Gefahren auf dem Berg und verrät, warum sie nie wieder auf einen Achttausender steigen wird.

Zum Interview

„Kleine Fehler können tödliche Folgen haben“

Extrembergsteigerin Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner über Bergsport am Limit. Im Interview spricht sie über die magische Anziehungskraft der Berge, Begegnungen mit dem Tod und ein kleines Messer, das ihr Leben gerettet hat.

Zum Interview

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner wird zur Lebensretterin

Bei der Besteigung des Moutn Everest, zusammen mit Ralf Dujmovits und Japaner Hirotaka Takeuchi kam es zu einem medizinischen Notfall. Der 34-jährige Japaner erlitt ein Hirnödem und die examinierte Krankenschwester behandelte den schwer erkrankten Takeuchi. Zurecht wurde sie auf der ISPO Munich zur Sportpersönlichkeit des Jahres gewählt.

Zum Artikel

Berg- oder rekordsüchtig?

Neben den unzähligen Erfolge, die Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner bereits verzeichnen konnte, sind auch immer wieder Rückschläge Teil ihrer gewagten Besteigungen. Wie die Extremsportlerin damit umgeht und ob das Bergsteigen süchtig macht, verrät sie in diesem Video.

Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner im Überblick

Sportart:Bergsteigen
Größe:173 cm
Nationalität:Österreich
Geburtstag:13.Dezember 1970
Geboren in:Kirchdorf an der Krems
Wonhaft in:am Attersee, Öberösterreich
Rekord:Erste Frau, die alle 14 Achttausender ohne zusätzlichen Sauerstoff hat
Erster Achttausender:Borad Peak Vorgipels in Pakistan, 8.027 Höhenmeter
Partner:Manfred Jericha
Follower auf Instagram:6.234