Franz Wagner

A Young Talent Conquers the Basketball World

Franz Wagner is a real hero when it comes to having a mature attitude to life at a young age, pursuing his dreams and fighting hard for them. Giving up is not an option for him. The professional basketball player has already become a legend at the age of 21: in May 2021, he will take part in the NBA draft and was selected eighth overall by the Orlando Magic. 23 years have passed since a German basketball player was selected as one of the first ten players.

0
Size
0
Age
0
Games in the national team
Page 1 of 
0
Size
0
Age
0
Games in the national team
Page 1 of 
0
Size
0
Age
0
Games in the national team
Page 1 of 

Hero Moments

When he makes his professional debut in 2017, he will be 16 and, in addition to his basketball career, will be taking his high school diploma. Yes, at 16, because the young talent skipped a grade in elementary school. He makes the impossible possible and manages to do both. And then he risks the safe money and goes to college, because he does not want half measures. And lo and behold: at the young age of 21, he's been playing for Orlando Magic since 2021 in the Professional basketball league in North America. He proudly plays for the national team in his home country in his first international game and fits in as naturally as if he had always played there. His ambition and discipline make him a real hero.

Franz Wagner Shines at the EM Game

At the European Championship game against Lithuania in September 2022 in the colors of the German national team, Wagner shows everything a professional basketball player must have. He scored 32 points in the game and was celebrated by the spectators in the Cologne arena.

More Highlights from Franz Wagner

NBA Power Ranking Franz Wagner

The exceptional talent Franz Wagner convinces with his young age and occupies the following places in the NBA Power Ranking*:

  • 88th in points per game: 15.18
  • 157th in rebounds per game: 4.14
  • Rank 114 in assists per game: 2.93

*As of September 2022

To the current ranking

The Life of Professional Basketball Player Franz Wagner

Franz Wagner was born in Berlin on August 27, 2001.

He played for two years in the youth of Alba Berlin and in the second men's team from 2017. In April 2018, at the age of 16, he followed his brother, Moritz Wagner and moved to the Basketball Bundesliga, becoming the youngest player to wear an Alba jersey in this context. Alba's junior team became German champions at the end of that season. In the process, he was able to enjoy two awards: league rookie of the year and best player of the final tournament.

August of 2018 meant a great opportunity for him: he was invited to "Basketball without Borders Europe", a training camp organized by the NBA and the world federation FIBA. But unfortunately, he could not participate for the time being due to an injury.

That was far from the end of his career. From the 2018/19 season Wagner got the double license and played for Alba Berlin and SSV Lokomotive Bernau in the 2nd Bundesliga.

At the end of the 2018/19 season, he was named "Best German Young Player U22".

His further path led the young talent to join his brother in the USA: in July 2019, he began playing as a neutral in Michigan.

In early May 2021, his career continued with a major milestone: he participated in the NBA draft and was selected eighth overall by the Orlando Magic. This meant, for him: after 23 years it happened for the first time that a German basketball player was selected as one of the first ten players. Back then, in 1998, it was Dirk Nowitzki. With this selection, both Wagner siblings have now been playing on the same team ever since.

The Wagner Festival of Basketball

The young basketball star causes a big stir in the German team. He is celebrated by the spectators and receives oblique compliments from his teammates. But that's not all. Franz Wagner also receives huge praise from probably the greatest German basketball legend Dirk Nowitzki Wagner.

More info

Wagner Brothers instead of Wagner Pizza

Not only Franz Wagner is a young talent in the basketball scene, but also his brother Moritz Wagner, who is four years older, shows what he can do. He has been under contract with the NBA's Orlando Magic since 2021. Will there be any competition between the brothers?

More info

The Most Important in a Nutshell

Name

Franz Jacob Wagner

Date of birth, place of birth

August 27, 2001, Berlin

Nationality

German

Height

208 cm

Weight

100 kg

Position

Small Forward

College

Michigan,
NBA Draft
2021, 8th pick, Orlando Magic

League

National Basketball Association

Jersey number

22

Franz Wagner

Merken

Ein Nachwuchstalent erobert die Baseketballwelt

Franz Wagner ist ein echter Hero, wenn es darum geht, bereits in jungen Jahren eine reife Einstellung zum Leben zu haben, seine Träume zu verfolgen und hart dafür zu kämpfen. Aufgeben ist für ihn keine Option. Der Basketball-Profi ist bereits mit 21 Jahren zur Legende geworden:  im Mai 2021 nimmt er am Draftverfahren der NBA teil und wurde von der Orlando Magic an achter Stelle ausgewählt. 23 Jahre sind vergangen, seitdem ein deutscher Basketballspieler als einer der ersten zehn Spieler ausgewählt wurde.

0
Größe
0
Alter
0
Spiele in der Nationalmannschaft
Seite 1 von 
0
Größe
0
Alter
0
Spiele in der Nationalmannschaft
Seite 1 von 
0
Größe
0
Alter
0
Spiele in der Nationalmannschaft
Seite 1 von 

Hero Moments

Bei seinem Debüt im Profibereich in 2017 ist er 16 und macht neben seiner Basketball-Karriere gerade sein Abitur. Ja, mit 16. Denn das junge Talent übersprang in der Grundschule eine Klasse. Er macht das Unmögliche möglich und schafft beides. Und dann riskiert er das sichere Geld und geht aufs College, weil er keine halben Sachen möchte. Und siehe, da: mit seinen jungen 21 Jahren spielt er seit 2021 für Orlando Magic in der Basketball-Profiliga in Nordamerika. Mit Stolz spielt er bei der Nationalmannschaft in seinem Heimatland bei seinem ersten Länderspiel und fügt sich so selbstverständlich in die Mannschaft ein, als würde er schon immer dort spielen. Sein Ehrgeiz und seine Disziplin machen ihn zu einem echten Hero.

Franz Wagner glänzt beim EM-Spiel

Beim EM-Spiel gegen Litauen im September 2022 in den Farben der deutschen Nationalmannschaft zeigt Wagner alles, was ein Profi-Basketballspieler haben muss. Bei dem Spiel wirft er stolze 32-Punkte und wird in der Kölner Arena von den Zuschauern gefeiert.

Mehr Highlights von Franz Wagner

NBA Power Ranking Franz Wagner

Das Ausnahmetalent Franz Wagner überzeugt mit seinen jungen Jahren und belegt die folgenden Plätze im NBA Power Ranking*:

  • Platz 88 in Punkte pro Spiel: 15.18
  • Platz 157 in Rebounds pro Spiel: 4.14
  • Platz 114 in Assists pro Spiel: 2.93

*Stand September 2022

Zum aktuellen Ranking

Das Leben des Basketball-Profis Franz Wagner

Franz Wagner wurde am 27. August 2001 in Berlin geboren.

Er spielte ab 2017 zwei Jahre lang in der Jugend von Alba Berlin und in der zweiten Herrenmannschaft. Im April 2018, im Alter von 16 Jahren folgte er seinem Bruder, Moritz Wagner und zog in die Basketball-Bundesliga ein und galt somit als jüngster Spieler, der in diesem Zusammenhang ein Alba-Trikot tragen durfte. Die Nachwuchsmannschaft der Alba wurde am Ende dieser Saison deutscher Meister. Dabei durfte er sich über zwei Auszeichnungen freuen: Liganeuling des Jahres und bester Spieler des Finalturniers.

August des Jahres 2018 bedeutete für ihn eine große Chance: Er wurde zu „Basketball without Borders Europe“, einem von der NBA und dem Weltverband FIBA veranstalteten Trainingslager, eingeladen. Doch konnte er vorerst leider aufgrund einer Verletzung nicht teilnehmen. 

Das war noch längst nicht das Ende seiner Karriere. Ab der Saison 2018/19 bekam Wagner die Doppellizenz und spielte bei Alba Berlin und bei SSV Lokomotive Bernau in der 2. Bundesliga.

Am Ende der Saison 2018/19 wurde er als „Bester deutscher Nachwuchsspieler U22" ausgezeichnet.

Sein weiterer Weg führte das junge Talent zu seinem Bruder in die USA: im Juli 2019 begann er als Neutalent in Michigan zu spielen. 

Anfang Mai 2021 ging seine Karriere mit einem großen Meilenstein weiter: Er nahm am Draftverfahren der NBA teil und wurde von Orlando Magic an achter Stelle ausgewählt. Das bedeutete: nach 23 Jahren passierte es zum ersten Mal, dass ein deutscher Basketballspieler als einer der ersten zehn Spieler ausgewählt wurde. Damals, im Jahr 1998, war es Dirk Nowitzki. Mit dieser Auswahl spielen nun beide Wagner-Geschwister seither in der gleichen Mannschaft.
 

Die Wagner-Festspiele des Basketballs

Der junge Basketballstar sorgt im Deutschen Team für großes Aufsehen. Von den Zuschauern wird er gefeiert und von seinen Teamkollegen erhält er schräge Komplimente. Doch damit nicht genug. Franz Wagner erhält außerdem ein riesiges Lob von der wohl größten deutsche Basketball-Legende Dirk Nowitzki Wagner.

Mehr Infos

Wagner Brüder statt Wagner Pizza

Nicht nur Franz Wagner ist ein junges Talent in der Basketballszene, auch sein vier Jahre älterer Bruder Moritz Wagner zeigt, was er kann. Dieser ist seit 2021 bei den Orlando Magic der NBA unter Vertrag. Ob es zwischen den Brüdern wohl einen Konkurenzkampf gibt?

Mehr Infos

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

Name

Franz Jacob Wagner

Geburtsdatum, Geburtsort

27. August 2001, Berlin

Nationalität

Deutsch

Größe

208 cm

Gewicht

100 kg

Position

Small Forward

College

Michigan,
NBA Draft
2021, 8. Pick, Orlando Magic

Liga

National Basketball Association

Trikotnummer

22