Foto von Marc Pinsach Rubirola

Marc Pinsach Rubirola

Facts and Figures: Merrell Trail Runners in Portrait

Marc Pinsach achieved many top 10 finishes with the Spanish national team in ski mountaineering and three podium places in World Cups, reached peak performance in many racing classics and could also record success in trail running in the toughest races. Since last winter, the Catalan focuses entirely on trail running and has a lot of plans this season. ISPO.com introduces Merrell athlete Pinsach in facts and figures.

Trailrunning auf einem Berganstieg
Bild von Marc Pinsach Rubirola beim Trailrunning

Marc Pinsach Rubirola: From Ski Mountaineering to Trail Running

Over 15 years, Marc Pinsach has focused mainly on ski mountaineering in outdoor sports career. He participated in world championships and world cups as a member of the Spanish national team and celebrated successes in classics such as the Pierra Menta, Patrouille des Glaciers and Mezzalana. In the summer he also ran a lot in the mountains for training - and successed both in Skyraces and in trail running. He finished third in the OCC event of the UTMB races in 2014. Then the next year he stood at the top of the podium as the fastest over 55 km and over 3500 meters of altitude, winning the OCC. The Catalan also won the Olla de Núria four times. Also he holds the best time on the Aneto, which is known as a historic marathon route in mountain running.

With his career in ski mountaineering ending in 2021, Marc is now fully focused on trail running and living out his love of the outdoors on long runs in the mountains. As part of the Merrell Trail Team, he will now devote himself entirely to trail running and bring new wind into his career as an outdoor athlete. In doing so, he is especially careful not to harm the environment in the mountains. With Merrell he has found a like-minded sponsor.

Ausblick auf die Natur

What Motivates Trail Runner Marc Pinsach

What drives Marc Pinsach to always stay on the ball is mostly the outdoors and the experiences he has with projects, runs and training sessions outside. "I am still incredibly motivated to keep pursuing these beautiful adventures that training and racing in the mountains are for me. Mountain sports for me is the best balance between effort, hard work and long training sessions - and the sense of adventure of exploring nature."

Marc Pinsach in den Bergen

How the Merrell Athlete Trains

Last winter, Marc Pinsach ended his competitive career in skimo. Since then, he now focuses fully on trail running. Nevertheless, ski touring has of course not completely disappeared from his life. In winter, he combines skimo and trail in his training: ski mountaineering to gain altitude without the impact of a running session on his legs. At the same time, he relies on fast units in running training in preparation for the season.

Load more

Foto von Marc Pinsach Rubirola

Marc Pinsach Rubirola

Zahlen und Fakten: Merrell Trailrunner im Porträt

Marc Pinsach erreichte mit dem spanischen Nationalteam im Skibergsteigen viele Top 10 Platzierungen und drei Podest-Plätze in Weltcups, erreichte Höchstleistungen bei vielen Renn-Klassikern und konnte auch im Trailrunning Erfolge in den härtesten Rennen verbuchen.

Trailrunning auf einem Berganstieg
Bild von Marc Pinsach Rubirola beim Trailrunning

Marc Pinsach Rubirola: Vom Skibergsteigen zum Trailrunning

Über 15 Jahre hat sich Marc Pinsach im Outdoor-Sport vor allem aufs Skibergsteigen konzentriert. Er nahm als Mitglied der spanischen Nationalmannschaft an Weltmeisterschaften und Weltcups teil und feierte Erfolge bei Klassikern wie dem Pierra Menta, Patrouille des Glaciers und Mezzalana Im Sommer lief er zum Training auch viel in den Bergen - ebenfalls mit Erfolgen bei Skyraces und im Trailrunning. Er wurde 2014 Dritter beim OCC Event der UTMB Rennen. Im nächsten Jahr stand er dann als Schnellster über 55 km und über 3500 Höhenmeter ganz oben auf dem Podest und gewann den OCC. Den Olla de Núria gewann der Katalane ebenfalls vier Mal. Auch hält er die Bestzeit auf den Aneto, welche als historische Marathonstrecke im Berglauf bekannt ist. 

Mit Karriere-Ende im Skibergsteigen 2021 konzentriert Marc sich jetzt voll aufs Trailrunning und lebt seine Liebe zur Natur auf langen Läufen in den Bergen aus. Als Teil des Merrell Trail Teams wird er sich jetzt ganz dem Trailrunning widmen und neuen Wind in seine Karriere als Outdoor-Athlet bringen. Dabei ist er besonders darauf bedacht, die Umwelt in den Bergen nicht zu beeinträchtigen. Mit Merrell hat er einen gleichgesinnten Sponsor gefunden.

Ausblick auf die Natur

Was Trailrunner Marc Pinsach motiviert

Was Marc Pinsach anspornt, immer am Ball zu bleiben, ist vor allem die Natur und die Erlebnisse, die er mit Projekten, Läufen und Trainingseinheiten draußen hat. „Mich motiviert es immer noch unglaublich, diese schönen Abenteuer, welche das Training und die Rennen in den Bergen für mich sind, weiter zu verfolgen. Bergsport ist für mich die beste Balance zwischen Anstrengung, harter Arbeit und langen Trainingseinheiten - und dem Gefühl des Abenteuers, die Natur zu erkunden.“

Marc Pinsach in den Bergen

Wie der Merrell Athlet trainiert

Im letzten Winter beendete Marc Pinsach seine Wettkampf-Karriere im Skimo-Bereich. Seitdem konzentriert er sich jetzt voll aufs Trailrunning. Dennoch ist das Skitourengehen natürlich nicht komplett aus seinem Leben verschwunden. Im Winter kombiniert er Skimo und Trail in seinem Training: Skibergsteigen, um Höhenmeter zu machen, ohne den Impact einer Laufeinheit auf die Beine zu haben. Zugleich setzt er in der Saisonvorbereitung auf schnelle Einheiten im Lauftraining.

Mehr laden