Timo Boll

Even at the age of 40, Timo Boll is still one of the world's top table tennis players. Since 2002, the Hessian has been consistently in the top 20 of the world rankings. Several times he was at the top of the ranking. For the first time in 2003 as the first German ever and most recently in 2018, when he became the oldest world number one in table tennis history at the age of 37.

But Boll's sporting career is not the only impressive one. He is also involved in charity events and exhibition matches for the "Athletes for Organ Donation" and "Children's Organ Transplant Aid" associations, as well as the "Acción Humana" foundation, which gives street children a home.

By the way, Boll's career is far from over: at the beginning of 2022, he signed a new contract with his club Borussia Düsseldorf, which runs until 2025. At the end of the contract, Boll will be 44 years old.

Timo Boll records
0
World Championship medals (individual and team)
0
Olympic medals
0
EM title
Page 1 of 
Timo Boll records
0
World Championship medals (individual and team)
0
Olympic medals
Timo Boll records
0
EM title
Page 1 of 
Timo Boll records
0
World Championship medals (individual and team)
Timo Boll records
0
Olympic medals
Timo Boll records
0
EM title
Page 1 of 

Sporting successes: Timo Boll's impressive career

Timo Boll's career is rich in titles and medals. Highlights were the Olympic medals Boll collected in four different Olympic Games from 2004 to 2021. In 2008 and 2021 he won silver in the team, in 2012 and 2016 bronze. In singles, he won World Championship bronze in 2011 and 2021 and eight European Championship titles. In addition, there are countless national and Grand Slam victories and a total of eight Champions League titles.

Timo Boll: A superstar in China, too

China has dominated the world's top table tennis for years. The sport is correspondingly popular in the Middle Kingdom - and so is Timo Boll, the eternal rival of the Chinese top players. In China, he is one of the most popular foreigners of all, and was even voted the world's most attractive athlete there in 2007. When Boll is out in public, he quickly becomes an attraction in China. "If someone recognizes me, massive numbers of people come immediately. It's like with soccer players," says Boll.

Boll's love of table tennis is not the only thing he has in common with China. For years, he competed in doubles together with top Chinese player Ma Long. "They are very open and interested in other cultures," says Boll: "I have many Chinese friends and I have the impression that Germans and Chinese go together quite well."

"It's a nice change of scenery. I'd say it's a perfect blend of being a star in one country and living a quiet, normal life in the country where you live most of the time."
Timo Boll

Timo Boll at the plate: The spin doctor

Timo Boll's style of play is unique. The spin, or the cut, that the German brings to his shots is considered one of the best in the world. With his topspin strokes, Boll favors aggressive attacking play. The left-hander is coached by former top German player Jörg Roßkopf, who once played in the Bundesliga with Boll himself at TTV Gönnern.

As a web coach, Boll also passes on his table tennis skills to recreational and junior players in numerous online sessions and YouTube videos.

Timo Boll: Equipment and sponsors

Which racket does table tennis star Timo Boll actually rely on? The table tennis brand Butterfly has been his sponsor for decades. For his own racket, Boll relied on the "Timo Boll ALC" blade for a long time. In 2021 he switched to the blade "Primorac Carbon". As rubbers he uses the Butterfly Dignics 09C for both forehand and backhand.

Boll also supports the Caravaning Industrie Verband as a brand ambassador. The insurer ARAG has also been a Boll sponsor since 2006, and the robotics expert KUKA since 2014.

Over 12 million clicks on YouTube: Timo Boll vs. KUKA Robot

Timo Boll in private: Married and father of a daughter

Timo Boll has been married to Rodelia Jacobi since New Year's Eve 2002. Boll has had daughter Zoey Malaya with the Philippine since 2013. Jacobi, like Boll, shies away from making a big public appearance, but is regularly in the audience at his tournament appearances.

Timo Boll at a glance

Sport:Table Tennis
Playing hand:Left-handed
Grip:Shakehand
Height:1,81 m
Nationality:Germany
Birthday:March 8, 1981
Born in:Erbach, Germany
Hometown:Höchst, Odenwald
First professional season:1997
Coach:Jörg Roßkopf
Followers on Instagram:110.000
Partner:Rodelia Jacobi

Timo Boll

Auch mit über 40 Jahren ist Timo Boll aus der Tischtennis-Weltspitze nicht wegzudenken. Seit 2002 ist der Hesse durchgehend in der Top 20 der Weltrangliste. Mehrmals stand er an der Spitze des Rankings. Erstmals im Jahr 2003 als erster Deutscher überhaupt und zuletzt 2018, als er mit 37 Jahren der älteste Weltranglistenerste der Tischtennisgeschichte wurde.

Doch nicht nur Bolls sportliche Laufbahn ist beeindruckend. Er engagiert sich außerdem auf Benefiz-Veranstaltungen und Schau-Matches für die Vereine „Sportler für Organspende“ und „Kinderhilfe Organtransplantation“ sowie die Stiftung „Acción Humana“, die Straßenkindern ein Zuhause gibt.  

Am Ende ist Bolls Karriere übrigens längst nicht: Anfang 2022 unterschrieb er einen neuen Vertrag bei seinem Verein Borussia Düsseldorf, der bis 2025 gilt. Zum Vertragsende wird Boll 44 Jahre alt sein.

Timo Boll Rekorde
0
WM-Medaillen (Einzel und Team)
0
Olympia-Medaillen
0
EM-Titel
Seite 1 von 
Timo Boll Rekorde
0
WM-Medaillen (Einzel und Team)
0
Olympia-Medaillen
Timo Boll Rekorde
0
EM-Titel
Seite 1 von 
Timo Boll Rekorde
0
WM-Medaillen (Einzel und Team)
Timo Boll Rekorde
0
Olympia-Medaillen
Timo Boll Rekorde
0
EM-Titel
Seite 1 von 

Sportliche Erfolge: Timo Bolls eindrucksvolle Karriere

Timo Bolls Karriere ist reich an Titeln und Medaillen. Höhepunkte waren die Olympiamedaillen, die Boll von 2004 bis 2021 in vier unterschiedlichen Olympischen Spielen sammeln konnte. 2008 und 2021 gewann er im Team Silber, 2012 und 2016 Bronze. Im Einzel gewann er 2011 und 2021 WM-Bronze und acht EM-Titel. Dazu kommen unzählige nationale und Grand-Slam-Siege sowie insgesamt acht Champions-League-Titel.

Timo Boll: Auch in China ein Superstar

China dominiert die Weltspitze im Tischtennis seit Jahren. Entsprechend populär ist der Sport im Reich der Mitte – und damit auch Timo Boll, der ewige Konkurrent der chinesischen Topspieler. In China ist er einer der populärsten Ausländer überhaupt, wurde dort 2007 sogar zum attraktivsten Sportler der Welt gewählt. Ist Boll in der Öffentlichkeit unterwegs, wird er in China schnell zur Attraktion. „Wenn jemand mich erkennt, kommen sofort massig Leute. Es ist wie bei Fußballspielern“, so Boll.

Mit China verbindet Boll nicht nur die Liebe zum Tischtennis. Er trat jahrelang im Doppel gemeinsam mit dem chinesischen Top-Spieler Ma Long an. „Sie sind sehr offen und an anderen Kulturen interessiert“, so Boll: „Ich habe viele chinesische Freunde und ich habe den Eindruck, Deutsche und Chinesen passen ganz gut zusammen.“

„Es ist ein schöner Tapetenwechsel. Ich würde sagen, es ist eine perfekte Mischung, in einem Land ein Star zu sein und in dem Land, in dem man die meiste Zeit lebt, ein ruhiges, normales Leben zu führen.“
Timo Boll

Timo Boll an der Platte: Der Spin-Doktor

Timo Bolls Spielstil ist einzigartig. Der Spin, also der Schnitt, den der Deutsche in seine Schläge bringt, gilt als einer der besten der Welt. Mit seinen Topspin-Schlägen bevorzugt Boll das aggressive Angriffsspiel. Trainiert wird der Linkshänder vom ehemaligen deutschen Top-Spieler Jörg Roßkopf, der einst noch selbst zusammen mit Boll in der Bundesliga beim TTV Gönnern gespielt hat.

Als Webcoach gibt Boll seine Tischtennis-Skills übrigens in zahlreichen Online-Sessions und YouTube-Videos an Freizeit- und Nachwuchsspieler weiter.

Timo Boll: Equipment und Sponsoren

Auf welchen Schläger setzt eigentlich Tischtennis-Star Timo Boll? Seit Jahrzehnten ist die Tischtennis-Marke Butterfly sein Sponsor. Bei seinem eigenen Schläger setzte Boll lange auf das Holz „Timo Boll ALC“. 2021 ist er auf das Holz „Primorac Carbon“ umgestiegen. Als Beläge nutzt er sowohl für die Vorhand und Rückhand den Butterfly Dignics 09C.

Zudem unterstützt Boll den Caravaning Industrie Verband als Markenbotschafter. Seit 2006 ist außerdem der Versicherer ARAG Boll-Sponsor, seit 2014 der Robotik-Experte KUKA.

Über 12 Millionen Klicks bei YouTube: Timo Boll vs. KUKA Robot

Timo Boll privat: Verheiratet und Vater einer Tochter

Timo Boll ist seit dem Silvestertag 2002 mit Rodelia Jacobi verheiratet. Mit der Philippinin hat Boll seit 2013 die gemeinsame Tochter Zoey Malaya. Jacobi scheut ähnlich wie Boll den großen Auftritt in der Öffentlichkeit, ist aber regelmäßig bei seinen Turnierauftritten im Publikum.

Timo Boll im Überblick

Sportart:Tischtennis
Spielhand:Linkshänder
Griff:Shakehand
Größe:1,81 m
Nationalität:Deutschland
Geburtstag:8. März 1981
Geboren in:Erbach, Deutschland
Heimatstadt:Höchst im Odenwald
Erste Profi-Saison:1997
Trainer:Jörg Roßkopf
Follower auf Instagram:110.000
Partnerin:Rodelia Jacobi