Andi Spies
Author:
Andi Spies

A highly functional shell jacket for touring in powder

ISPO AWARD Nominee: Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket

The Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket is a highly technical garment in which every function has been developed specifically for skiing and ski touring. The design guideline was: lightweight, durability and breathability.

Shell jacket for ski touring and splitboard enthusiasts: Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket for women.

When designing the Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket, the Norwegian manufacturer Helly Hansen worked closely with ski and outdoor professionals. The design of the Odin BC is inspired by the brand's bestseller and has the same functionality and features as the award-winning Odin Shell jacket. The new ski touring model is a further development of the Helly Hansen Odin line and is specialised for the needs of tourers. But what should a backcountry jacket be able to do?

Highly functional material for special challenges

A ski touring jacket has to meet two challenges. The ascent is sweaty and requires a light, breathable and durable material. The descent, on the other hand, is much more humid due to swirling snow and the wind cools the body down quickly. To meet these demands, the Helly Hansen Backcountry Shell Jacket is equipped with the innovative Lifa Infinity technology. This highly functional technology gives the jacket many functions that are essential on a ski tour.

On the ascent, the wearer benefits from the highly breathable, lightweight and durable properties of the three-layer Lifa fabric construction. On the descent, the Lifa membrane, which is manufactured without the use of chemicals or solvents, is completely waterproof. The Odin BC is not only waterproof but also windproof. It is cut close to the body without restricting freedom of movement. Another plus point in terms of responsibility is the use of at least 50 percent recycled materials.

Tailor-made features for ski and snowboard tours

Thanks to the Helly Tech construction of the shell jacket, it offers optimal protection even in adverse weather conditions and powder descents. But it also has a few other ski touring-optimised features that have been developed from feedback from ski tourers. The large hood also fits over a helmet and the slightly stiffened peak keeps it in shape at all times. The front zip of the jacket is slightly offset to the side so that it presses less against the neck and chin. With the collar closed, the jacket is more comfortable than conventional ski jackets.

The pockets of the Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket are slightly elevated so that backcountry climbing skins can be stored comfortably in the pockets without reducing comfort on the descent. There is also a special zip opening on the outside that allows you to access an avalanche transceiver without opening the jacket or even taking it off. The zips have tabs to make them glove-friendly. Other additional details of the jacket include an inner pocket for valuables and a Recco reflector that makes the wearer detectable to rescue teams.

Robust materials for durability

The durable materials of the Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket guarantee a long service life. Thanks to the Lifa Infinity technology, the jacket's membrane contains no added chemicals and is therefore particularly environmentally friendly.

Brand statement:
"To be recognized as an ISPO Award nominee for the Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket is a proud achievement. After developing and testing this jacket alongside our professional ski patrol and search and rescue partners, we’re confident that it delivers optimal performance and protection, specifically designed for ski touring, and we’re excited to be launching this jacket in fall/winter ‘23.”
Sofia Jonsson, Category Manager für Outdoor bei Helly Hansen
Jury statement
"A highly functional jacket with clever features every ski touring- and splitboard-enthusiast will love."
ISPO Award Jury

Five reasons why the Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket convinced the ISPO Award jury:

•    Responsible, professional grade Lifa Infinity technology,
•    chemical-free membrane
•    PFC-free durable water repellent (DWR) treatment
•    Lightweight
•    Raised pockets for convenient storage of backcountry ski skins

Key data:

Extras: Recco reflectors for added safety; mechanical ventilation for added breathability; helmet-, harness- and backpack-compatible construction

Target group: Performance and protection for backcountry professionals and enthusiasts

Price: 600

Share article
Andi Spies
Author:
Andi Spies

Andi Spies
Autor:
Andi Spies

Eine hochfunktionelle Shell-Jacke für Touren im Tiefschnee

ISPO AWARD Nominee: Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket

Die Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket ist ein hochtechnisches Kleidungsstück, bei dem jede Funktion spezielle für Ski- und Snowboardtouren entwickelt wurde. Dabei war die Design-Guidline: geringes Gewicht, Strapazierfähigkeit und Atmungsaktivität.

Shell-Jacke für Skitour- und Splitboard-Enthusiastinnen: Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket für Frauen

Bei der Konzeption der Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket hat der norwegische Hersteller Helly Hansen eng mit Ski- und Outdoor-Profis zusammengearbeitet. Das Design der Odin BC ist inspiriert von dem Bestseller der Marke und verfügt über dieselbe Funktionalität und die gleichen Merkmale wie die preisgekrönte Odin Shell-Jacke. Das neue Skitour- und Splitboard Modell ist eine Weiterentwicklung der Helly Hansen Odin Serie und ist spezialisiert auf die Bedürfnisse von Tourengeher*innen. Doch was sollte eine Backcountryjacke überhaupt können?

Hochfunktionelles Material für besondere Challenges

Eine Skitourenjacke muss zwei Herausforderungen gerecht werden. Der Aufstieg ist schweißtreibend und erfordert ein leichtes, atmungsaktives sowie strapazierfähiges Material.

Die Abfahrt hingegen ist durch aufwirbelnden Schnee deutlich feuchter und der Fahrtwind kühlt den Körper schnell aus. Um den Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden, ist die Helly Hansen Backcountry Shell Jacket ist mit der innovativen Lifa Infinity Technologie ausgestattet. Diese hochfunktionelle Technik verleiht der Jacke viele Funktionen, die bei einer Skitour essenziell sind. Beim Aufstieg kommt der Träger*in die sehr atmungsaktive, leichte und haltbare Eigenschaft der dreilagigen Lifa Stoffkonstruktion zu gute.

Bei der Abfahrt kann die Lifa-Membran, die ohne den Einsatz von Chemikalien und Lösungsmitteln hergestellt wird, mit ihrer vollständigen Wasserdichte überzeugen. Die Odin BC ist aber nicht nur wasserdicht, sondern auch winddicht. Sie ist körperbetont geschnitten, ohne dabei die Bewegungsfreiheit einzuschränken. Ein weiterer Pluspunkt hinsichtlich der Nachhaltigkeit ist die Verwendung von mindestens 50 Prozent an recycelten Materialien.

Maßgeschneiderte Feature für Ski-und Snowboardtouren

Durch die Helly Tech Konstruktion der Shell-Jacke bietet sie auch bei widrigen Wetterverhältnissen und Powderabfahrten optimalen Schutz. Sie hat aber noch einige weitere Skitouren optimierte Features, die aus dem Feedback von Tourengeher*innen entstanden sind. Die große Kapuze passt auch über den Helm und der leicht versteifter Schirm hält sie stets in Form. Der Frontreißverschluss der Jacke ist etwas zur Seite versetzt, sodass er weniger gegen Hals und Kinn drückt. Bei geschlossenem Kragen ist die Jacke somit bequemer als herkömmliche Skijacken.

Die Taschen der Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket sind etwas erhöht, damit Backcountry-Steigfelle bequem in den Taschen verstaut werden können ohne dabei den Tragekomfort bei der Abfahrt zu schmälern. Zudem gibt es an der Außenseite eine spezielle Reißverschlussöffnung, mit der man ohne Öffnen der Jacke oder gar Ausziehen auf ein LVS-Gerät zugreifen kann. Die Reißverschlüsse sind mit Laschen versehen, damit sie handschuhfreundlich sind. Weitere Zusatzdetails der Jacke sind eine Innentasche für Wertsachen und ein Recco Reflektor, der den Tragenden für Rettungskräfte auffindbar macht.

Robuste Materialien für eine lange Haltbarkeit

Die widerstandsfähigen Materialien der Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket garantieren eine lange Lebensdauer. Dank der Lifa Infinity-Technologie enthält die Membran der technische Backcountry Shell-Jacke keine Chemikalien und ist daher besonders umweltfreundlich.

Brand statement
„Die Nominierung für den ISPO Award für die Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket ist eine Leistung, auf die wir stolz sind. Nach der Entwicklung und dem Testen dieser Jacke zusammen mit unseren professionellen Skipatrouillen sowie Such- und Rettungspartnern sind wir zuversichtlich, dass sie eine optimale Leistung und Schutz bietet, speziell für Skitouren, und wir freuen uns, diese Jacke im Herbst/Winter '23 auf den Markt zu bringen."
Sofia Jonsson, Category Manager für Outdoor bei Helly Hansen
Statement der Jury
Eine hochfunktionelle Jacke mit cleveren Features, die jeder Skitouren- und Splitboard-Enthusiast lieben wird.
ISPO Award Jury

Fünf Gründe, warum die Helly Hansen Odin BC Infinity Shell Jacket die ISPO Award Jury überzeugt hat:

•    Verantwortungsvolle, professionelle Lifa Infinity Technologie,
•    chemiefreie Membran
•    PFC-freie dauerhaft wasserabweisende (DWR) Behandlung
•    Leichtes Gewicht
•    Erhöhte Taschen zur bequemen Aufbewahrung von Backcountry-Ski-Fellen
 

Eckdaten:

Extras: RECCO®-Reflektoren für zusätzliche Sicherheit; mechanische Belüftung für zusätzliche Atmungsaktivität; helm-, gurt- und rucksacktaugliche Konstruktion

Zielgruppe: High-end Jacke für Backcountry-Profis

Preis: 600

Artikel teilen
Andi Spies
Autor:
Andi Spies