Gunnar Jans ist Chefredakteur von ISPO.COM
Author:
Gunnar Jans

Digitalization within the sports sector: summit offers concrete solutions

This is how sports retailers and manufacturers can benefit from ISPO Digitize

Digital transformation is progressing, including in the sports sector - a sector in which speed matters. Anyone who can't keep pace will soon fall behind. The chances offered by digitalization, how obstacles can be overcome and how the sports retail sector as well as the manufacturing sector can benefit - these are the topics of ISPO Digitize on 28/29th June. In an interview, Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO Group explains the added value that the summit offers, and tells us which top speakers will be appearing alongside Adidas CSO Roland Auschel.

The ISPO Digitize Summit provides valuable information on the subject of digitalization
The ISPO Digitize Summit provides valuable information on the subject of digitalization

At ISPO Munich 2018, a start was made: the Digitize space, where companies such as Adidas as well as the technology providers Sportmas and Lectra showed the possibilities that digital transformation offers, proved very popular.

Now the Munich exhibition is organising its own summit on digitalisation for the first time: ISPO Digitize will take place on the 28th and 29th June at the International Congress Centre ICM in Munich. You can register right away. ISPO Digitize is targeting retailers and manufacturers - and will, in future, be an integral part of the ISPO portfolio. In an interview, ISPO Director Tobias Gröber commented, "We want to offer concrete assistance and personal solutions".

ISPO.com: Mr. Gröber, can you explain what exactly ISPO Digitize is, in just a few words?
Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO: ISPO Digitize is a platform that aims to support the sports sector - in this case, retailers and manufacturers - in their digital transformation. And with added value: if I go to ISPO Digitize as a stakeholder in the sports business, pressing digitalisation issues will be tailored to my needs and concrete solutions will be presented.

There are many digital conferences: why do we also need ISPO Digitize?
Indeed: today, the challenge is not that there are too few summits regarding digitalisation. The sports sector is often left out here, however. But if the digital butcher and virtual construction market are presented to specialist sports dealers, the question that emerges is: what knowledge will I gain for my sports business?

ISPO Digitize appeals to everyone who earns money through sport

Who, concretely, is ISPO Digitize aimed at? What is the target group?
We are explicitly orientating ourselves towards the sports sector, the sports industry, and this encompasses brands and manufacturers but also - and above all - retailers. Namely, everyone from small specialists to generalists, independent retailers as well as retail groups. Basically, we are targeting anyone who earns money through sport.

Concrete added value for sports retailers

Concretely, what added value does participation in ISPO Digitize offer retailers?
The benefit is that participants - and above all retailers - will be presented with personal solutions and concepts that are tailor-made to suit their requirements, and which can immediately be implemented into their business. One thing is certain: digitalisation makes the analogue deficit clear. In the sports sector, there is a clear group, perhaps 25%, who have already engaged with digitalisation themselves.

And then there is a relatively large group, who often fail because of the smallest things. It is not a question of every business appointing a Chief Digital Officer right away - but the following question must be asked: do I have any personnel in my business who can be responsible for further promoting digitalisation for me?

Tobias Gröber is looking forward to the ISPO Digitize Summit in June 2018 in Munich.

This is how the sports equipment industry can profit

How can manufacturers benefit from ISPO Digitize?
Manufacturers can enter into dialogue with their retailers on site, in order to clarify how best to deal with digitalisation together. Additionally, the manufacturing sector can present its own digital solutions. Good solutions for this sector do already exist. These, however, often suffer due to problems with acceptance, because the focus of many retailers remains exclusively on the product and not on the service possibilities that digitalisation can offer within the scope of a 360 degree perspective.

Let's take the increasingly important question of rental, for example the rental of ski equipment, where individual companies implement a complete digital infrastructure in trade, and which can illustrate the service perfectly. Here, entrepreneurs can show their own individual use cases. And, of course, also inform themselves: where does this journey lead for me? Is it the Internet of Things? What does the future look like in the manufacture and purchasing process? What effects will digitalisation have on the manufacture of products? Will this remain in the Far East, or might it become possible to produce at German locations in the foreseeable future?

The Digital Readiness Check shows that many are not yet ready

The spectrum between large manufacturing businesses and small specialist retailers is wide. Precisely in this second group, uncertainty regarding digitalisation can be seen among many market players. How do we bring these actors together?
An important point. We developed the Digital Readiness Check precisely for this purpose. This is a free digital questionnaire, with which anyone - where he/she is responsible for digital transformation - can check how far along the digital path he/she is (or isn't). And on the basis of these first results, we can see that, principally, there are exactly two clusters: the first is a hitherto clear and large group, which is already relatively advanced in terms of digitalisation - and, according to its own estimations, the manufacturing sector is further along than retail.

And then there is a relatively large group, whose members are either right at the beginning or at best somewhere in the middle of the process, but are nowhere near as far along as they should be. We are aiming our content at both of these target groups.



But how can you succeed in serving both groups?
First of all, by covering the large, visionary topics. Then - and above all - by attaching great importance to winning over those who have not yet recognised digitalisation as a great chance but have instead tended to view it as a hindrance and as an obstacle until now. We want to show these digital sceptics not only that digitalisation represents a huge chance, but also that there are no alternatives to digitalisation if you want to be well-positioned in the future and ultimately survive. And for this reason, we want to offer concrete solutions at ISPO Digitize.

Keynotes, workshops, 1:1 coaching

And we offer this in various forms, of course. Visionary forms are mapped-out during keynote talks with our speakers, who are all role models in the six focal areas that we explore. These relate to the individual relevant management divisions that are affected by digitalisation. These are: ideation, sourcing, production, distribution, retail and marketing.

And then we go into more detail during dedicated workshops and 1:1 coaching sessions, which can be tailored to meet the existential requirements of the individual participants. These coaching sessions can be booked before the event.


Digitalization
Zwischensohle aus dem 3D-Drucker: Mit dem Futurecraft 4D geht Adidas revolutionäre Wege. Bald kann ein passgenauer Schuh innerhalb eines Tages individualisiert hergestellt werden. 
Adidas is leading the way in terms of digitalization. Examples: the Speedfactory and the new Futurecraft 4D. Adidas Executive Board Member Roland Auschel explains in an interview what this means for production and processes.

Keynote addresses from Roland Auschel, Robert Scoble, Peter Schwarzenbauer (among others)

Tell us something about the programme - which speakers have already been confirmed? What areas of expertise do these speakers represent?
We were able to win top-class speakers for this event, who will offer insight into how the potential of digitalisation can be used. We will also hear from leading experts from the sports sector such as Roland Auschel, CSO of the adidas group, and Günter Althaus, chairman of the ANWR (including Sport 2000), as well as top managers from the technology branch.

BMW chairman Peter Schwarzenbauer, and Nils Stamm, CDO of Deutsche Telekom, will share insight into the digital strategies of their companies, and alongside them, visionaries will demonstrate the business and cultural trends of the future. Additionally, renowned speakers such as tech-blogger Robert Scoble and Prof. Bern Thomsen, CEO of Thomsen Group International Strategy Consultants, will also be making appearances.

From the inscription of Google Maps to the Internet of Things

Many market players are asking themselves: what does digitalisation mean for me?
Exactly: this is the big question. Digitalisation touches upon various management areas in my day-to-day business life.

First of all, digitalisation is what has enabled Google Maps inscription, which allows those who want to find me to locate my business precisely. Not everyone needs to suddenly have an online shop, but for starters I need a website - which can be very simple to begin with - showing my address, opening hours, telephone number, and a space where the client can insert their e-mail address and subscribe to my e-mail newsletter. These are all quite easy things to start out with.

For others, however, digitalisation means the automisation of manufacture, the Internet of Things, artificial intelligence, Bots. All of this is digitalisation.

The art lies in reducing this complexity and making it digestible, or bite-sized. And this is the task that we set ourselves at ISPO Digitize - for all market players, from retailers to manufacturers.

And after these two days, will they then be clued-up?
After these two days we will have made a start. This process has no conclusion. It's not the case that you simply 'become' digital, and then everything is concluded: no, I still have to engage with this topic continuously and systematically. And we give support by offering the check, solutions, and the formats of the future from use cases to 1:1 coaching sessions.

Digitize now belongs to ISPO's permanent portfolio.

We are also mindful of the fact that this process can't be concluded with a one-off event. The sector is very homogenous, and developments are constantly in a state of flux.

We will be bringing this topic to Shanghai in July, and will be presenting a digital focus at ISPO Shanghai; we will give this topic plenty of attention at ISPO MUNICH 2019, just as we have at ISPO Munich 2018 - and, of course, also in 2019, at the new ISPO Outdoor event, which we will be organising for the first time at the Munich exhibition. ISPO Digitize will now be a permanent element of our portfolio at ISPO.

In part 2 of the interview with Tobias Gröber about ISPO Digitize, you can read: Pricing, Personnel, Data Protection: digitalisation sets challenges for the sports sector

Digital Readiness Check
Alongside pricing and personnel we have also arranged a third gap: cyber-security and data protection 
Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO Group, in part 2 of the interview
Gunnar Jans ist Chefredakteur von ISPO.COM
Author:
Gunnar Jans
Comments

Gunnar Jans ist Chefredakteur von ISPO.COM
Autor:
Gunnar Jans

Digitalisierung im Sportbusiness: Summit bietet konkrete Lösungen

So profitieren Sporthändler und Hersteller von ISPO Digitize

Die digitale Transformation schreitet voran, auch gerade im Sportbusiness – der Branche, in der es um Schnelligkeit geht. Wer nicht am Puls der Zeit ist, gerät schnell ins Hintertreffen. Welche Chancen die Digitalisierung bietet, wie Hürden überwunden werden und wie sowohl der Sporthandel als auch die Sportindustrie profitieren – das sind die Themen von ISPO Digitize am 28./29. Juni. Im Interview erklärt Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO Group den Mehrwert, den das Summit bietet und welche Top-Speaker neben Adidas-Vorstand Roland Auschel auftreten.

Der ISPO Digitize Summit liefert wertvolle Infos rund um das Thema Digitalisierung
Der ISPO Digitize Summit liefert wertvolle Infos rund um das Thema Digitalisierung

Auf der ISPO Munich 2018 wurde ein Anfang gemacht: Die Digitize Fläche, auf der unter anderem Adidas sowie die Technologieanbieter Sportmas und Lectra gezeigt haben, welche Möglichkeiten die digitale Transformation bietet, fand großen Anklang.

Nun richtet die Messe München erstmals ein eigenes Summit zur Digitalisierung aus: ISPO Digitize findet am 28./29. Juni im Internationalen Congress Center ICM in München statt, Anmeldungen sind ab sofort möglich. ISPO Digitize richtet sich an Händler und Hersteller – und wird künftig zum festen Bestandteil des ISPO Portfolios gehören. „Wir wollen konkrete Hilfestellung und individuelle Lösungsansätze bieten“, sagt ISPO Director Tobias Gröber im Interview.

ISPO.com: Herr Gröber, erklären Sie doch einmal in wenigen Worten: Was ist eigentlich ISPO Digitize?
Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO: ISPO Digitize ist eine Plattform, die das Ziel hat, die Sportbranche – in diesem Fall Handel und Industrie – in ihrer digitalen Transformation zu unterstützen. Und dies mit großem Mehrwert: Wenn ich als Akteur des Sportbusiness zu ISPO Digitize gehe, bekomme ich die drängenden Themen der Digitalisierung auf meine Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten und konkrete Lösungen präsentiert.

Digital-Konferenzen gibt es viele – wofür braucht es nun auch noch ISPO Digitize?
Die Herausforderung heute ist in der Tat nicht, dass es zu wenige Summits zur Digitalisierung gibt. Das Sportbusiness allerdings bleibt hier oft außen vor. Wenn dem Sport-Fachhändler aber die digitale Metzgerei und der virtuelle Baumarkt präsentiert werden, stellt sich die Frage: Welchen Erkenntnisgewinn ziehe ich daraus für mein Sportgeschäft?

ISPO Digitize spricht jeden an, der im Sport sein Geld verdient

An wen richtet sich ISPO Digitize konkret? Wer ist die Zielgruppe?
Wir wenden uns explizit an die Sportbranche, die Sport-Industrie, und das umfasst zum einen die Marken, die Hersteller, aber vor allem auch den Handel. Und zwar vom kleinen Spezialisten bis zum Generalisten, den unabhängigen Händler ebenso wie den Verbundhändler. Im Grunde sprechen wir jeden an, der im Sport sein Geld verdient.

Konkreter Mehrwert für Sporthändler

Welchen konkreten Mehrwert haben Händler durch die Teilnahme an ISPO Digitize?
Der Benefit ist, dass die Teilnehmer und hier vor allem die Händler individuelle, auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Lösungen und Konzepte präsentiert bekommen, die sie sofort in ihrem Geschäft umsetzen können. Denn eines ist klar: Die Digitalisierung macht die analogen Defizite sichtbar. Im Sportbusiness gibt es eine überschaubare Gruppe, vielleicht 25 Prozent, die die Digitalisierung für sich schon aufgegriffen haben.

Und dann gibt es eine relativ große Masse, die oft noch an den kleinsten Dingen scheitert. Es geht ja nicht darum, dass jedes Unternehmen gleich einen Chief Digital Officer einstellen muss – sich aber sehr wohl der Frage stellen sollte: Habe ich überhaupt einen Verantwortlichen im Unternehmen, der mich bei der Digitalisierung voranbringt?

Tobias Gröber spricht auf der ISPO Digitize Bühne
Tobias Gröber freut sich bereits auf den ISPO Digitize Summit im Juni 2018 in München.

So profitiert die Sportartikel-Industrie

Wie profitieren Hersteller von ISPO Digitize?
Die Hersteller können zum einen mit ihren Händlern vor Ort in Dialog treten, um zu klären, wie man die Digitalisierung gemeinsam angeht. Und zudem kann die Industrie ihre eigenen digitalen Lösungen präsentieren. Es gibt ja bereits gute Lösungen in der Industrie. Diese haben aber teilweise ein Akzeptanzproblem haben, weil der Fokus vieler Händler weiterhin nur auf dem Produkt ist und nicht an den Service-Möglichkeiten, die mir die Digitalisierung im Rahmen einer 360 Grad Betrachtung bietet.

Nehmen wir das immer wichtiger werdende Thema Rental, beispielsweise Ski-Rental, wo einzelne Firmen schon eine komplette digitale Infrastruktur im Handel hinstellen, mit denen der Service perfekt abgebildet werden kann. Hier können die Unternehmen ihre einzelnen Use Cases zeigen. Und natürlich auch sich selber informieren: Wohin geht die Reise für mich? Ist es das Internet of Things? Wie sieht die Zukunft im Herstellungs- und Beschaffungs-Prozess aus? Welche Auswirkungen wird die Digitalisierung auf die Herstellung von Produkten haben? Wird es weiterhin in Fernost sein, oder ist es möglich, in absehbarer Zukunft am Standort Deutschland zu produzieren?

Digital Readiness Check zeigt: Viele sind noch nicht so weit

Die Spannbreite vom großen Industrie-Unternehmen bis zum kleinen Fachhändler ist groß. Gerade in der zweiten Gruppe ist bei vielen Marktteilnehmern zuweilen Unsicherheit zu spüren, was die Digitalisierung angeht. Wie bringen Sie diese Akteure zusammen?
Ein wichtiger Punkt. Genau dafür haben wir den Digital Readiness Check entwickelt. Eine kostenlose digitale Umfrage, mit der jeder ermitteln kann, wo er bei der digitalen Transformation gerade steht, wie weit er wirklich digital aufgestellt ist – oder eben nicht. Und anhand der ersten Ergebnisse können wir sehen, dass es im Prinzip genau diese beiden Cluster gibt: Zum einen ist da eine bisher überschaubar große Gruppe, die schon relativ weit ist mit der Digitalisierung – wobei die Industrie laut Selbsteinschätzung weiter ist als der Handel.

Und dann gibt es eine relativ große Gruppe, die sich entweder noch ganz am Anfang steht oder bestenfalls irgendwo mittendrin steckt im Prozess, aber bei weitem noch nicht so weit ist, wie sie sein sollte. Auf diesen beiden Zielgruppen richten wir unsere Inhalte aus.



Wie aber gelingt es Ihnen, beide Gruppen zu bedienen?
Zum einen, indem wir die großen, visionären Themen abdecken. Und dann aber vor allem Wert darauf legen, auch diejenigen mitzunehmen, die bisher die Digitalisierung noch nicht als große Chance für sich ausgemacht haben, sondern in ihr ein Hindernis, eine Hürde sehen. Genau diesen Digital-Skeptikern wollen wir aufzeigen, dass die Digitalisierung nicht nur eine riesige Chance ist, sondern dass es gar keine Alternative zur Digitalisierung gibt, wenn du auch in Zukunft gut aufgestellt sein und am Ende überleben willst. Und dafür wollen wir bei ISPO Digitize konkrete Lösungsansätze bieten.

Keynotes, Workshops, 1:1-Coaching

Und das machen wir natürlich in unterschiedlichen Formaten. Visionäre Formen werden in den Keynotes abgebildet mit unseren Sprechern, die Role Models sind in den sechs Schwerpunkt-Bereichen, die wir thematisieren. Dabei handelt es sich um die jeweils relevanten Management-Dimensionen, die durch die Digitalisierung betroffen sind: Ideation, Sourcing, Production, Distribution, Retail und Marketing.

Und dann geht es im Detail weiter über monothematische Workshops bis hin zu 1:1-Coachings, die ganz konkret auf die existentiellen Bedürfnisse des einzelnen Teilnehmers zugeschnitten werden können. Diese Coachings kann ich vor der Veranstaltung buchen.


Digitalisierung
Zwischensohle aus dem 3D-Drucker: Mit dem Futurecraft 4D geht Adidas revolutionäre Wege. Bald kann ein passgenauer Schuh innerhalb eines Tages individualisiert hergestellt werden. 
Adidas geht bei der Digitalsierung voran. Beispiele: die Speedfactory und der neue Futurecraft 4D. Was dies für die Produktion bedeutet und ob Adidas noch eigene Sportgeschäfte braucht, erklärt Vorstand Roland Auschel im Interview.

Keynotes u.a. von Roland Auschel, Robert Scoble, Peter Schwarzenbauer

Erzählen Sie uns etwas zum Programm – welche Speaker stehen schon fest? Für welche Expertise stehen diese Sprecher?
Wir haben hochkarätige Key Note Speaker gewinnen können, die Insights liefern, wie das Potenzial der Digitalisierung genutzt werden kann. Dabei lassen wir führende Experten aus der Sportindustrie wie Roland Auschel, Vertriebsvorstand der adidas group, oder Günter Althaus, Vorstandsvorsitzender der ANWR (u.a. Sport 2000), genauso zu Wort kommen wie Top Manager aus der Technologiebranche.

BMW Vorstand Peter Schwarzenbauer und Nils Stamm, CDO Deutsche Telekom werden Einblicke in die Digitalstrategien ihrer Unternehmen teilen, daneben zeigen Visionäre gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Zukunftstrends. Zudem treten weitere namhafte Speaker auf wie der renommierte Techblogger Robert Scoble und Prof. Bernd Thomsen, CEO der Thomsen Group International Strategy Consultants.

Vom Google Maps Eintrag bis zum Internet of Things

Viele Marktteilnehmer fragen sich noch: Was bedeutet Digitalisierung überhaupt für mich?
Ganz genau, das ist ja die große Frage. Digitalisierung deckt in meinem täglichen Geschäftsleben unterschiedliche Management-Bereiche ab.

Für den einen bedeutet Digitalisierung zunächst, überhaupt einen Google Maps Eintrag zu haben, der demjenigen, der mich sucht, zeigt, wo genau mein Geschäft lokalisiert ist. Nicht jeder muss gleich einen Webshop haben, aber ich brauche zunächst mal eine Webseite, die am Anfang durchaus simpel sein kann – mit meiner Adresse, den Öffnungszeiten, der Telefonnummer und mit einem Slot, in dem der Kunde seine E-Mail-Adresse eingeben und sich für meinen E-Mail-Newsletter anmelden kann – also ganz einfache Dinge zum Einstieg.

Und für andere wiederum bedeutet Digitalisierung schon Automatisierung der Fertigung, Internet of Things, künstliche Intelligenz, Bots. Das alles ist Digitalisierung.

Diese Komplexität zu reduzieren und verdaubar zu machen, neudeutsch snackable – das ist die Kunst. Und dieser Aufgabe stellen wir uns bei ISPO Digitize – für alle Markteilnehmer vom Händler bis zur Industrie.

Und nach den zwei Tagen sind sie dann schlauer?
Nach den zwei Tagen ist ein Anfang gemacht. Dieser Prozess ist nie abgeschlossen. Man ist nicht einfach digital geworden, und dann ist es gut – nein, ich muss mich konsequent und kontinuierlich mit dem Thema beschäftigen. Und wir geben Hilfestellung, indem wir den Check, die Lösungsansätze, die Formate der Zukunft vom Use Case bis zu den 1:1-Coachings Lösungen anbieten.

Digitize gehört zum festen Portfolio von ISPO

Dass dieser Prozess nicht mit einem einmaligen Event erledigt sein wird, haben wir ebenfalls berücksichtigt. Die Branche ist sehr heterogen, und die Entwicklungen sind permanent im Fluss.

Wir werden das Thema schon im Juli nach Shanghai bringen und auf ISPO Shanghai einen digitalen Schwerpunkt abbilden, wir werden dem Thema auf der ISPO MUNICH 2019 einen großen Raum geben, so wie wir es auf der ISPO Munich 2018 schon getan haben – und natürlich auch 2019 auf der neuen OutDoor by ISPO, die wir nächstes Jahr erstmals als Messe München ausrichten dürfen. ISPO Digitize wird ab sofort kontinuierlicher Bestandteil unsere Portfolios bei ISPO.

In Teil 2 des Interviews mit Tobias Gröber zu ISPO Digitize lesen Sie: Pricing, Personal, Datenschutz: Digitalisierung stellt Sportbranche  vor Herausforderungen

Digital Readiness Check
Neben Pricing und Personal haben wir noch ein drittes Gap ausgemacht: Cybersecurity und Datenschutz. 
Tobias Gröber, Head of ISPO Group, in Teil 2 des Interviews
Gunnar Jans ist Chefredakteur von ISPO.COM
Autor:
Gunnar Jans
Kommentare