ISPO Brandnew 2021 | Jury Panel

Our Jury Members

They have all been in precisely the same situation: a panel observed their product, their brand and decided that they receive the unique opportunity to present themselves at ISPO Munich as one of the best start-ups of the sports business. Now they had the same task. Almost all the ISPO Brandnew jury members were founding members of former ISPO Brandnew winners and finalists. From their own experiences, they know precisely what is of importance. In addition, further sports professionals add their expertise to generate the best selection of the emerging start-ups in the ISPO Brandnew competition.

 

Andreas Sczekalla (GER)
Andreas Sczekalla
Bereichsleiter & Manager YKK EUROPE
Andreas Sczekalla (GER)

"I'M HONORED TO BE PART OF THE PANEL AND TO SELECT THE MOST PROMISING START-UPS"

Since 8 years I'm heading to Munich in January/February. It is and will always be the main motivation to discover unique ideas at ISPO. As a member of the jury I will now experience this in concentrated form. The concept of ISPO BRANDNEW is a great opportunity for start-ups to present their ideas and developments on the big stage. They proved to have the needed and untamed entrepreneurial spirit and the motivation to manifest an inventive idea and I'm honored to be part of the panel and therefore help to select the most promising start-ups.

Profile

My first experiences in sales were gained in the plastics industry, primarily in the areas of stationary, medical and packaging. After I finished my studies in which my focus was put on marketing and the psychological aspects of customer satisfaction, I went straight to the traditional japanese company YKK as key Account Manager. Here I was able to specialize on the needs of the sports industry, which always is a source of never ending innovation. This specialization led me into various project groups (hi-tech&functional), which deal with this important sector for our company. For me it is very exciting to work on new ideas and solutions together with our customers.

When it comes to sport I'm into dance sport, ice hockey and trying out new Outdoor Apparel.

Address

YKK EUROPE Ltd.
Andreas Sczekalla
Head Of Category
Niederkassler Lohweg 181-183
40547 Duesseldorf
Deutschland

Share article
Close
Britta Weddeling (GER)
Editor-in-Chief | Bits & Pretzels
Britta Weddeling (GER)

Britta Weddeling is Editor-in-Chief of Bits & Pretzels, the largest European founders festi-val that connects 5 000 entrepreneurs, investors and decision-makers of the startup-world and brought Barack Obama to Munich in 2019.

Former Silicon Valley Correspondent with Handelsblatt, Germany's leading business daily, based in San Francisco. For five years she reported on innovations directly from the heart of the tech industry.

Her cover stories, editorials and features were published in English and German. For her journalistic work she received the Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Business Journalism 2019 and 2018 and the Friedwart-Bruckhaus-Förderpreis of the Hanns Martin Schleyer Foundation 2017/2018.

Alumna of the German-American Young Leaders Conference of AtlantikBrücke e. V.

 

Why I'm a member of the jury:

"All innovation always comes from startups, never from legacy companies. To fos-ter innovation, we need to foster entrepreneurship. So I'm curious to learn about new ideas from new founders and help the best of them to thrive."

Share article
Close
Iris Córdoba (ESP)
Iris Córdoba
GSIC powered by Microsoft | General Manager
Iris Córdoba (ESP)

She has developed her professional career linked to enterprise development and the support of SMEs from the public and private side, with a special focus on the culture sector, Spanish language-related economy, entertainment, and sports industry, both in Latam and in Spain. Specializing in project management, networking creation, and business development. Since the beginning of 2015, she has launched the Global Sports Innovation Center powered by Microsoft, a collaborative initiative between the public, private and academic sectors, which aims to promote innovation in the sports industry, creating an ecosystem composed by over 230 companies and institutions from 38 different countries that generate synergies and value projects in the sector.

Iris is also actively supporting women’s professionals in the sports industry both for entrepreneurship and leadership. Her achievements in this labour were recognized by Spanish Association ‘Mujeres and Cia’ that included het in Top 100 Female Leaders of Spain in 2018, same year when sports magazine MetaDeporte recognized her as Top 20 Most Influential Women in Sports Industry. In 2020 Iris was nominated to Globant Awards - Women that Build Edition in Tech Executive category for her work helping women in tech.

Share article
Close
Danielle Reiff-Jongerius (NED)
CEO
Danielle Reiff-Jongerius (NED)

As owner and managing director of the Munich-based communications and content agency, 138, Danielle has been supporting international brands in their European communications for many years. The majority of 138's clients are in the outdoor segment. Her career has included Esprit and O'Neill Europe in the Netherlands. In her career as a freelance marketing and communications consultant, she helped many outdoor brands to enter the European market and supported them in their ISPO Award applications.

Why I am involved in the jury:

"As a passionate skier and snowboarder from the Netherlands, I grew up on a bicycle and am at home in the mountains. So it was not only through my work that I came into contact with innovative products at an early age. As a result, I have developed a very sharp, but also critical eye for new products. As a member of the jury I have the unique opportunity to set my personal impulses and help to make innovations known in the world.

Close
Luise Wunner (GER)
Co-founder | SensuSport GmbH & Five Oceans
Luise Wunner (GER)

At FiveOceans, Luise and her team were among the first to transform plastic waste from Indonesia into a successful consumer product. Their Kickstarter campaign was funded in 2015, the ecoFin project received multiple awards and 50+ international media appearances. As Managing Director, she worked in business strategy, scientific research, project management and public speaking to become a Circular Economy and Sustainability advocate. Afterwards, she joined SensuSport as CMO, advancing the sports tech start-up from idea to market-readiness. Last year the team won the ISPO Brand New Award with the SensuGlasses in the category Matchtime. Her entrepreneurial experiences led her to share her knowledge as a lecturer at various business schools and universities.

Share article
Close
Svenja Lassen (GER)
Managing Director | primeCROWD Deutschland GmbH
Svenja Lassen (GER)

As Managing Director, Svenja Lassen has been responsible for the development of the primeCROWD start-up investor network in Germany for the past two years. In addition to the desire to promote innovation, she is particularly concerned with informing more women about the topic of start-up investment and to inspire them to take advantage of the opportunities for this influence - also in order to increase the number of female founders and impact investments in the long term. To this end, she conducted a study on 'female business angels in Germany' in Q1/2020 with the Chair of Entrepreneurship at the IUBH. Based on the results, she started her own investor network at primeCROWD with exclusive offers for female business angels and female founders.

The trained and long-standing journalist is a certified business coach, experienced moderator, pitch trainer and passionate networker. She teaches at universities and coaches communication and presentation in companies - in groups as well as in individual training sessions. She also moderates trade fairs, congresses and events.

Share article
Close
Tobias Deckert (GER)
ShredRack GmbH | Managing Director
Tobias Deckert (GER)

The combination of his passions extreme sports and engineering has given Tobi the necessary tools to gain a foothold on the market with innovative products. With his start-up ShredRack, an inflatable roof rack founded in 2017, he secured the Green Product Award in 2018 and was a member of ISPO Brandnew in 2020.

Specialising in product development in the hardware sector, his know-how ranges from conception and CAD design to production-ready manufacturing. Whether inflatable, textile supporting structures or injection moulded parts as a special module, he faces every challenge. Together with his experienced team and broad network Tobi is planning the launch of numerous products in the field of adventure sports in the future. 

Being part of the ISPO Brandnew Jury is not only a lot of fun for him, but also broadens his horizon regarding new partnerships. In the evaluation process, he attaches particular importance to the technical feasibility of a real innovation.

When Tobi is not sitting in his office, you can find him out on the mountain or in the sea speedriding, wavekiting, freeriding or mountain biking.

"The thought of not rising anything, is terrifying to me"

Share article
Close
Lukas Angst (CH)
Founder | KEEGO
Lukas Angst (CH)

Lukas Angst is the founder of KEEGO - a high-tech bottle (elastic titanium) with production in Switzerland, Denmark and Austria. On his journey he has gone through all the stages of a young start-up.

Lukas was previously a competitive athlete in Switzerland (floorball) and has implemented projects in ecommerce at Hugo Boss, Red Bull and Amazon.

"To be part of the ISPO brandnew jury is a great honour for me. The blood, sweat and tears behind these products are almost unbelievable and inspiring. It is extremely important to give at least some of them the visibility they deserve through ISPO".

Close
Kolja Plegt (GER)
Managing Director Europe POC
Kolja Plegt (GER)

Kolja Plegt has been with POC since 2013 and previously gained experience as a brand coach at adidas.

Close

ISPO Brandnew 2021 | Jury Panel

Unsere Juroren

Sie waren alle schon einmal in exakt der gleichen Situation: Eine Jury bewertete ihr Produkt, ihre Marke und entschied, dass sie sich auf der ISPO Munich als eines der besten Start-Ups des Sports Business präsentieren dürfen. Und jetzt hatten sie selbst diese verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe. Fast alle ISPO Brandew Juroren waren ehemalige Gewinner oder Finalisten des Jungunternehmerwettbewerbs. Sie wissen aus eigener Erfahrung genau worauf es ankommt. Ergänzend kommt die Expertise von weiteren Sportfachleuten dazu, um die beste Auswahl an aufstrebenden Start-Ups im ISPO Brandnew Wettbewerb zu treffen.

Andreas Sczekalla (GER)
Andreas Sczekalla
Bereichsleiter & Manager YKK EUROPE
Andreas Sczekalla (GER)

"ES IST MIR EINE EHRE ALS TEIL DIESES GREMIUMS DIE VIELVERSPRECHENDSTEN START-UPS ZU WÄHLEN"

"Im Januar/Februar ist München schon seit 8 Jahren mein festes Ziel. Es ist und bleibt immer die Hauptmotivation das Einzigartige auf der ISPO zu entdecken. Als Mitglied der Jury darf ich dies nun in konzentrierter Form erleben. Das ISPO BRANDNEW Konzept ist eine wunderbare Möglichkeit für Startups ihre Innovationen und Erfindungen auf der großen Bühne zu präsentieren. Den notwendigen, ungebändigten Unternehmergeist und die Motivation eine originelle Idee in einem fertigen Produkt zu manifestieren haben sie bewiesen und es ist mir eine Ehre als Teil dieses Gremiums die Vielversprechendsten zu wählen."

Profil

Erste Vertriebserfahrung habe ich der Kunststoffindustrie, auf dem Gebiet der Kunstofffolien gesammelt. Damals primär in den Bereichen Stationery, Medical & Packaging. Nach meinem Studium in dem ich meinen Schwerpunkt auf Marketing und die psychologischen Aspekte der Kundenzufriedenheit gelegt hatte, ging es dann lückenlos zu dem japanischen Traditionsunternehmen YKK als Key Account Manager. Hier durfte ich mich auf die Bedürfnisse der Sportindustrie spezialisieren, die sich immer wieder als ein Quell endlosen Innovationsbedarfs erweist. Dieser Fokus hat schließlich dazu geführt in diverse Projektteams (Hi-Tech & Functional) berufen zu werden oder sie zu leiten, welche sich mit diesem, für unser Unternehmen sehr wichtigen Teil der Branche auseinandersetzen. Für mich ist außerordentlich spannend mit unsere Kunden an neuen Ideen zu arbeiten und diese in greifbare Lösungen umzusetzen.

Meine sportlichen Leidenschaften liegen im Tanzsport, Eishockey und aus beruflich inspiriertem Interesse erwachsen, dem Ausprobieren von Outdoorbekleidung in freier Wildbahn.

Adresse

YKK EUROPE Ltd.
Andreas Sczekalla
Head Of Category
Niederkassler Lohweg 181-183
40547 Duesseldorf
Deutschland

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Britta Weddeling (GER)
Chefredakteurin | Bits & Pretzels
Britta Weddeling (GER)

Britta Weddeling ist Chefredakteurin von Bits&Brezels, dem größten europäischen Gründer-festival, das 5. 000 Unternehmer, Investoren und Entscheidungsträger der Startup-Welt verbindet und 2019 Barack Obama nach München brachte.

Ehemalige Silicon Valley Korrespondentin beim Handelsblatt, Deutschlands führender Wirtschaftszeitung, mit Sitz in San Francisco. Fünf Jahre lang berichtete sie über Innovationen direkt aus dem Herzen der Tech-Industrie.

Ihre Titelgeschichten, Leitartikel und Features wurden in englischer und deutscher Sprache veröffentlicht. Für ihre journalistische Arbeit erhielt sie den Georg-von-Holtzbrinck-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik 2019 und 2018 und den Friedwart-Bruckhaus-Förderpreis der Hanns-Martin-Schleyer-Stiftung 2017/2018.

Alumna der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Young Leaders Conference der AtlantikBrücke e. V. 

 

Warum ich mich in der Jury engagiere: 

"Alle Innovationen kommen immer von Start-ups, nie von etablierten Unternehmen. Zur Förderung von Innovationen, müssen wir das Unternehmertum fördern. Also bin ich neugierig, was es Neues gibt. Ideen von neuen Gründern und helfen den Besten von ihnen, zu gedeihen."

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Iris Córdoba (ESP)
Iris Córdoba
GSIC powered by Microsoft | Geschäftsführerin
Iris Córdoba (ESP)

Sie hat ihre berufliche Karriere im Zusammenhang mit der Unternehmensentwicklung und der Unterstützung von KMUs von öffentlicher und privater Seite entwickelt, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf dem Kultursektor, der Wirtschaft im Zusammenhang mit der spanischen Sprache, der Unterhaltungs- und Sportindustrie, sowohl in Latam als auch in Spanien. Sie hat sich auf Projektmanagement, Netzwerkbildung und Unternehmensentwicklung spezialisiert. Seit Anfang 2015 hat sie das Global Sports Innovation Center powered by Microsoft ins Leben gerufen, eine Gemeinschaftsinitiative des öffentlichen, privaten und akademischen Sektors zur Förderung der Innovation in der Sportindustrie, mit dem Ziel, ein Ökosystem aus über 230 Unternehmen und Institutionen aus 38 verschiedenen Ländern zu schaffen, das Synergien und Wertschöpfungsprojekte in diesem Sektor hervorbringt.

Iris unterstützt auch aktiv weibliche Fachkräfte in der Sportindustrie sowohl im Hinblick auf Unternehmertum als auch auf Führungspositionen. Ihre Leistungen in diesem Bereich wurden vom spanischen Verband "Muje-res und Cia" anerkannt, der sie 2018 in die Top 100 der weiblichen Führungskräfte Spaniens aufnahm, im selben Jahr, als das Sportmagazin MetaDeporte sie als Top 20 der einflussreichsten Frauen in der Sportindustrie auszeichnete. Im Jahr 2020 wurde Iris für die Globant Awards - Women that Build Edition in der Kategorie Tech Executive für ihre Arbeit zur Unterstützung von Frauen in der Technik nominiert.

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Danielle Reiff-Jongerius (NED)
Geschäftsführerin | Alternative 138 GmbH
Danielle Reiff-Jongerius (NED)

Als Inhaberin und Geschäftsführerin der Münchener Kommunikations- und Content Agentur, 138, steht Danielle schon seit vielen Jahren internationalen Marken bei ihrer europäischen Kommunikation zur Seite. Der Großteil der Kunden von 138 sind im Outdoor Segment ange-siedelt. Stationen Ihrer Karriere waren unter anderem Esprit sowie O’Neill Europe in den Nie-derlanden. In Ihrer Laufbahn als freie Marketing- und Kommunikationsberaterin verhalf sie vielen Outdoor Marken beim Markt-Eintritt in Europa und unterstützte diese unter anderem bei den ISPO Award Bewerbungen.

Warum ich mich in der Jury engagiere:

„Als leidenschaftliche Ski- und Snowboardfahrerin aus den Niederlanden, bin ich auf dem Fahrrad aufgewachsen und in den Bergen Zuhause. So kam ich nicht nur durch meine Arbeit, schon früh mit innovativen Produkten in Berührung. Dadurch habe ich ein sehr scharfes, aber auch kritisches Auge für Neuheiten entwickelt. Als Jurymitglied habe ich die einzigartige Mög-lichkeit meine persönlichen Impulse zu setzen und dabei zu helfen Innovationen in der Welt bekannt zu machen.''
 

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Luise Wunner (GER)
Mitgründerin | SensuSport GmbH & Five Oceans
Luise Wunner (GER)

Mit FiveOceans gehörten Luise und ihr Team zu den Ersten, die Plastikmüll aus Indonesien in ein erfolgreiches Lifestyle-Produkt verwandelten. Ihre Kickstarter-Kampagne wurde 2015 erfolgreich finanziert, das ecoFin-Projekt erhielt mehrere Auszeichnungen und mehr als 50 internationale Medienauftritte. Als Geschäftsführerin arbeitete sie in den Bereichen Geschäftsstrategie, wissenschaftliche Forschung, Projektmanagement und hielt zahlreiche Vorträge, die sie als Experte für Circular Economy und Nachhaltigkeit qualifizierten. Danach wechselte sie als CMO zu SensuSport und brachte das Sporttechnologie Start-up von der Idee zur Marktreife. Letztes Jahr gewann das Team den ISPO Brand New Award mit den SensuGlasses in der Kategorie Matchtime. Ihre unternehmerischen Erfahrungen führten sie dazu, ihr Wissen als Dozentin an verschiedenen Business Schools und Universitäten zu teilen.

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Svenja Lassen (GER)
Geschäftsführerin | primeCROWD Deutschland GmbH
Svenja Lassen (GER)

Svenja Lassen verantwortet als Managing Director seit zwei Jahren den Aufbau des in Österreich gegründeten Startup-Investoren-Netzwerks primeCROWD in Deutschland. Neben dem Wunsch, Innovationen zu fördern, ist es ihr vor allem ein Anliegen, mehr Frauen über das Thema Startup-Investment zu informieren und für die Möglichkeiten dieser Einflussnahme zu begeistern – auch, um so nachhaltig die Anzahl von Gründerinnen und Impact-Investments zu erhöhen. Dafür hat sie in Q1/2020 mit dem Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship der IUBH eine Studie zum Thema ‚weibliche Business Angels in Deutschland‘ durchgeführt. Aufgrund der Ergebnisse startete sie bei primeCROWD ein eigenes Investorinnen-Netzwerk mit exklusiven Angebote für weibliche Business Angels und Gründerinnen. 

Die ausgebildete und langlährige Journalistin ist zertifizierter Business-Coach, erfahrene Moderatorin, Pitch-Trainerin und Vollblut-Netzwerkerin. Sie lehrt an Hochschulen und coacht in Unternehmen die Themen Kommunikation und Präsentation – in Gruppen wie in individuellen Einzeltrainings. Zudem moderiert sie Messen, Kongresse und Events. 

Schließen
Tobias Deckert (GER)
ShredRack GmbH | Geschäftsführer
Tobias Deckert (GER)

Die Kombination seiner Leidenschaften Extremsport und Ingenieurwissenschaft hat Tobi das nötige Handwerkszeug mitgegeben, um mit innovativen Produkten am Markt Fuß zu fassen. Mit seinem 2017 gegründeten Startup ShredRack, einem aufblasbaren Dachgepäckträger, sicherte er sich 2018 den Green Product Award und war 2020 bei ISPO Brandnew dabei. 

Spezialisiert auf Produktentwicklung im Hardwarebereich, reicht sein Know-How von der Konzeption, über die CAD-Konstruktion, bis hin zur serientauglichen Fertigungsumsetzung. Ob aufblasbare, textile Tragwerkstrukturen oder Spritzgussteile als Spezialmodul, er nimmt jede Herausforderung an. Zusammen mit seinem eingespielten Team und weitläufigen Netzwerk plant Tobi auch in Zukunft den Launch zahlreicher Produkte im Bereich Abenteuersport. 

Teil der ISPO Brandnew Jury zu sein macht ihm nicht nur sehr viel Spaß, sondern erweitert auch seinen Horizont hinsichtlich neuer Partnerschaften. Bei der Bewertung legt er besonderen Wert auf die technische Umsetzbarkeit zu einer richtigen Innovation.

Wenn Tobi nicht in seinem Büro sitzt, findet man ihn draußen am Berg oder im Meer beim Speedriden, Wavekiten, Freeriden oder Mountainbiken.

"The thought of not rising anything, is terrifying to me"

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Lukas Angst (CH)
Gründer | KEEGO
Lukas Angst (CH)

Lukas Angst ist der Gründer von KEEGO - einer hightech Flasche (elastisches Titan) mit Produktion in der Schweiz, Dänemark und Österreich. Auf seiner Reise hat er sämtliche Stadien eines jungen Startups durchlaufen.

Vorher war Lukas Leistungssportler in der Schweiz (Unihockey) und hat im Ecommerce bei Hugo Boss, Red Bull und Amazon Projekte umgesetzt.

„Bei der ISPO brandnew Jury dabei zu sein ist eine große Ehre für mich. Das Blut, der Schweiß und die Tränen, welche hinter diesen Produkten stecken, ist kaum zu fassen und inspirierend. Es ist extrem wichtig, zumindest einigen davon über die ISPO die Sichtbarkeit zu geben, die sie verdienen.“

Artikel teilen
Schließen
Kolja Plegt (GER)
Managing Director Europe POC
Kolja Plegt (GER)

Kolja Plegt ist seit 2013 bei POC tätig und hat vorher als Brandcoach bei adidas Erfahrung gesammelt.

Schließen