ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

Top 10: Advantages of bouldering

Bouldering for beginners: 10 good reasons for climbing at jumping height

Bouldering is a sophisticated sport - and now permitted again after the Corona crisis, subject to specific hygiene requirements. It places high technical demands on the sport climber, but requires much more than fitness and physical skill. Because only those who have clarified in their heads how the problems on the wall are to be solved can tackle them successfully. These are the top 10 advantages and good reasons for climbing at jump height.

Frau klettert an einer Boulderwand

Reason No. 1 - Climbing sport with calculable risk

Although bouldering does not use ropes or harnesses and can be climbed on high difficulties, the risk of injury to the athlete is limited. The most important reason is the maximum climbing height of about four meters. In the bouldering hall, a thick floor mat also protects against injuries if a fall should occur.

Reason No. 2 - year-round climbing fun

Bouldering is, at least in the big cities, now possible all year round and regardless of the weather. This development is mainly due to the enormous popularity of this climbing sport. It is worthwhile for climbing hall operators to offer separate bouldering areas in which new routes are constantly being marked out. In this way, boulderers can, for example, pursue their sport indoors in winter or when it rains, but can also climb outdoors when conditions are better.

Reason No. 3 - Climbing without high expenses

Bouldering is comparatively cheap. There are no high purchase costs for the equipment, because in addition to magnesium for the hands and suitable bouldering shoes, you only need clothing that leaves enough room for movement. Day tickets for bouldering in the hall can usually be bought for well under ten euros, so they cost less than a cinema ticket. Almost all operators offer additional discounts, i.e. time or quantity discounts or special prices for children and families.

Reason No. 4 - Bouldering is climbing sport for everyone

Many outdoor sports are linked to a minimum age or cannot be performed without significant pre-training. Bouldering is different - regardless of age, gender and previous training, anyone can try their hand on the wall. Bouldering is available in all difficulty levels, a colour coding helps to classify in advance. In addition, short introductory courses are offered in all halls, in which the correct technique is explained. Since newcomers can watch the experienced climbers bouldering, some finesses can be learned.

Gruppe beim Bouldern an einem Felsen im Wald

Reason No. 5 - Reward through many small successes

Each boulder consists of a defined number of holds and steps, with the start and finish marked. Most so-called boulder problems consist of four to eight holds, more than twelve are not even allowed in competitions. The distance on the wall can therefore be overcome relatively quickly, if successful. So there are always successes and thus the necessary motivation boost to tackle the next problem concentrated.

Reason No. 6 - Bouldering is climbing sport for fitness and health

Bouldering not only builds strength, but also strengthens body awareness. In addition, the sport serves to improve sensory perception, motor skills and concentration. "Bouldering activates almost all muscle groups, which makes it the ideal strength training for the whole body," says Dr. Volker Schöffl, team doctor of the German national climbing team, in the Apotheken Umschau. At most, he sees the overexertion as a health risk, as the addiction potential in bouldering is high.

Reason #7 - Bouldering introduces you to the sport

Bouldering is considered family-friendly, precisely because even the youngest can climb the wall. The operators of the halls are prepared for children and often offer special event packages. The children's birthday party in the bouldering hall has become a classic celebration, just like the bowling afternoon or the treasure hunt. Since bouldering also trains coordination, each of these events is a small investment in the fitness and health of the youngsters.



Reason #8 - Bouldering opens up a new world

Every outdoor sport is not only a healthy leisure activity, but also a new perspective on the (surrounding) world. Divers, surfers and sailors will confirm this just as much as marathon runners or mountain bikers. If you travel to Saxon Switzerland for bouldering, to the famous rocks around Fontainebleau in France or to Ausserferrera in Switzerland, you will discover landscapes that seem to be made for bouldering. But even beyond these hotspots, almost every holiday destination offers the chance to explore the surroundings while bouldering.

Mann bouldert in der Halle an einer Boulderwand

Reason #9 - Bouldering and climbing are close relatives

Bouldering is part of sport climbing and those who do well at bouldering will also do well at climbing, for example alpine climbing. Climbers' training plans are largely based on tackling bouldering problems, because this is how certain techniques can be trained and fitness built up.

Reason No. 10 - Bouldering also works without a partner

Bouldering means independence. Since there is no need to secure yourself with a rope, you don't need a partner for the sport. This means that bouldering can be practiced as strength training at any time, just like training in the gym.

Fancy it too? - Discover the best bouldering and climbing gyms in major German cities:

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com
Topics in this article


Comments


ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

ISPO.com is also available in English ×
 Bouldern – zehn gute Gründe für das Klettern auf Absprunghöhe
Outdoor | 19.04.2016

Top 10: gute Gründe für Bouldern

Bouldern – zehn gute Gründe für das Klettern auf Absprunghöhe

Bouldern – zehn gute Gründe für das Klettern auf Absprunghöhe. Bouldern – bei blauem Himmel in der Natur, sonst in der Boulder-Halle (Quelle: Thinkstock )
Bouldern – bei blauem Himmel in der Natur, sonst in der Boulder-Halle
Bild: Thinkstock
Artikel bewerten:
Bouldern ist ein raffinierter Sport. Er stellt hohe technische Anforderungen an den Sportkletterer, setzt aber neben Fitness und körperlichem Geschick weit mehr voraus. Denn erst wer im Kopf geklärt hat, wie die Probleme an der Wand zu lösen sind, kann sie auch erfolgreich in Angriff nehmen. Zehn gute Gründe für das Klettern auf Absprunghöhe.

Grund Nr. 1 – Klettersport mit kalkulierbarem Risiko

Obwohl beim Bouldern keine Seile oder Gurte verwendet werden und auch in hohen Schwierigkeiten geklettert werden kann, hält sich das Risiko von Verletzungen für den Sportler in Grenzen. Der wichtigste Grund ist die maximale Kletterhöhe von circa vier Metern. In der Boulderhalle schützt zudem eine dicke Bodenmatte vor Verletzungen, wenn es zum Sturz kommen sollte.

Grund Nr. 2 – ganzjährige Klettervergnügen

Bouldern ist, zumindest in den Großstädten, inzwischen ganzjährig und unabhängig von der Witterung möglich. Zu verdanken ist diese Entwicklung vor allem dem enormen Zulauf, die diese Klettersportart inzwischen verzeichnet. Für Betreiber von Kletterhallen lohnt es sich, separate Boulder-Bereiche anzubieten, in denen immer neue Routen abgesteckt werden. So können Boulderer zum Beispiel im Winter oder bei Regen Indoor ihrem Sport nachgehen, bei besseren Bedingungen aber auch im Freien Klettern.


Grund Nr. 3 – Klettern ohne hohe Ausgaben

Bouldern ist vergleichsweise günstig. Hohe Anschaffungskosten für die Ausrüstung fallen nicht an, da es neben dem Magnesium für die Hände und geeigneten Boulderschuhen lediglich Kleidung braucht, die genügend Bewegungsspielraum lässt. Tageskarten für das Bouldern in der Halle sind meist deutlich unter zehn Euro zu haben, kosten also weniger als eine Kinokarte. Fast alle Betreiber bieten zusätzliche Ermäßigungen an, also Zeit- oder Mengenrabatte beziehungsweise Sonderpreise für Kinder und Familien.

Grund Nr. 4 – Bouldern ist Klettersport für jedermann

Viele Outdoor-Sportarten sind an ein Mindestalter gekoppelt oder ohne ein erhebliches Vortraining nicht ausführbar. Beim Bouldern ist das anders – unabhängig von Alter, Geschlecht und Vorbildung kann sich jeder an der Wand versuchen. Boulder gibt es in allen Schwierigkeitsstufen, eine farbliche Kennzeichnung hilft schon im Vorfeld bei der Einordnung. In allen Hallen werden zudem kurze Einführungskurse angeboten, in denen die richtige Technik erläutert wird. Da Neulinge den versierten Kletterern beim Bouldern zuschauen können, lassen sich manche Finessen abschauen.

Grund Nr. 5 – Belohnung durch viele kleine Erfolge

Jeder Boulder besteht aus einer definierten Anzahl von Griffen und Tritten, wobei Start und Ziel gekennzeichnet sind. Die meisten sogenannten Boulderprobleme bestehen aus vier bis acht Griffen, mehr als zwölf sind in Wettbewerben gar nicht zugelassen. Die Distanz an der Wand lässt sich also, wenn es gelingt, relativ schnell überwinden. So gibt es immer wieder Erfolge und damit den notwendigen Motivationsschub, um das nächste Problem konzentriert in Angriff zu nehmen.

Grund Nr. 6 – Bouldern ist Klettersport für Fitness und Gesundheit

Beim Bouldern wird nicht nur die Kraft ausgebaut, sondern auch das Körpergefühl gestärkt. Zusätzlich dient der Sport einer Verbesserung von Sensorik, Motorik und Konzentration. „Bouldern aktiviert nahezu alle Muskelgruppen, das macht es zum idealen Krafttraining für den ganzen Körper“, sagt Dr. Volker Schöffl, Mannschaftsarzt der deutschen Kletternationalmannschaft, 2015 in der Apotheken Umschau. Als gesundheitliches Risiko sieht er höchstens die Überanstrengung, da das Suchtpotential beim Bouldern hoch sei.


Grund Nr. 7 – Bouldern führt an den Sport heran

Bouldern gilt als familienfreundlich, eben weil schon die Jüngsten an die Wand können. Die Betreiber der Hallen sind auf Kinder eingestellt und bieten oft spezielle Event-Pakete an. Der Kindergeburtstag in der Boulderhalle zählt inzwischen zu den Feier-Klassikern, so wie der Bowling-Nachmittag oder die Schatzsuche. Da beim Bouldern auch die Koordination geschult wird, ist jeder dieser Events eine kleine Investition in die Fitness und Gesundheit des Nachwuchses.

Grund Nr. 8 – Bouldern eröffnet eine neue Welt

Mit jedem Outdoor-Sport erschließt man sich nicht nur ein gesundes Freizeitvergnügen, sondern auch einen neuen Blickwinkel auf die (Um-)Welt. Taucher, Surfer und Segler werden das ebenso bestätigen wie Marathonläufer oder Mountainbiker. Wer zum Bouldern in die Sächsische Schweiz, zu den berühmten Felsen um Fontainebleau nach Frankreich oder nach Ausserferrera in die Schweiz reist, wird Landschaften entdecken, die für das Bouldern wie geschaffen scheinen. Aber auch jenseits dieser Hotspots bietet fast jedes Urlaubsziel die Chance, die Umgebung beim Bouldern zu erkunden.

Grund Nr. 9 – Bouldern und Klettern sind enge Verwandte

Bouldern gehört zum Sportklettern und wer sich beim Bouldern gut schlägt, wird auch beim Klettern, zum Beispiel Alpinklettern, eine gute Figur machen. Die Trainingspläne von Kletterern basieren zu weiten Teilen auf der Bewältigung von Boulder-Problemen, denn so lassen sich bestimmte Techniken trainieren und Kondition aufbauen.

Grund Nr. 10 – Bouldern geht auch ohne Partner

Bouldern heißt Unabhängigkeit. Da die Sicherung mit dem Seil entfällt, braucht es keinen Partner, den man für den Sport in Anspruch nehmen müsste. Damit kann Bouldern jederzeit als Krafttraining betrieben werden, genau wie beim Training im Fitnessstudio.

ISPO (Quelle: ISPO)
Ein Beitrag von ISPO.com, Redaktion
Kommentare
Top Themen
ISPO Newsletter
ISPO Newsletter
Jetzt anmelden
Social Media