10

Reasons for Zumba

LISTICLE | 04/18/2020
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

Zumba dancing and Zumba as a workout are very trendy. Because Zumba is a somewhat different workout, because it combines dance and training in a sporty rush of joie de vivre. Developed by Colombian fitness trainer Alberto Perez in the 1990s, Zumba is a trend that is now enjoyed by millions of recreational athletes around the world. In this article you will find ten good reasons to start dancing Zumba yourself.

1

Zumba Dancing Is Strength Training for Health

The fitness dance Zumba places high demands on the musculoskeletal system and is therefore considered a highly effective workout. This is also confirmed by sports physicians. Dr. Perikles Simon, head of sports medicine at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, states at gesundheit.de, "through the flexible movements while dancing, not only the large muscle groups are addressed, but also smaller muscle groups, which are especially important for the stabilization of the torso". Zumba is therefore suitable for preventing back pain. At the same time, it gets the cardiovascular system going and trains coordination.

Why Zumba dancing is so sweaty and demanding is best understood when you have tried it yourself.

2

Zumba Means Dancing to Lose Weight

Due to the high intensity of the rhythmic movements, Zumba burns a lot of calories. Those who want to lose weight are therefore in the right place in the courses. Depending on the physical constitution and program, a consumption of up to 1,000 calories per hour is considered realistic.

3

The Motivation Comes with Zumba as If by Itself

Zumba is a group sport, courses of different types are available in almost all major fitness studios. Since you always dance and train with like-minded people, a very special pull is created. While the lone fighter on the treadmill or strength training on the machines must always overcome anew, the anticipation of the next workout drives the Zumba athletes almost by itself back to the gym.

4

Dance and Sport - The Ideal Combination

The combination of dance and sport, rhythm, music and hard workout stands for pure joy of life. Taking part in the course is fun, and at the same time the participants quickly feel the positive effect on health and fitness. Unlike boot camp or other HIIT training, Zumba is a more playful way to train your body.

5

Zumba Is Strength Training Rich in Variety

With Zumba there are two ways of variation, so this form of fitness and strength training in the gym will not be boring so quickly. On the one hand, there are different variations of the dance itself, for example Zumba Sentao, in which a chair is included in the workout. On the other hand, there is always the possibility to qualify as a Zumba instructor and thus perhaps hold training courses yourself.

6

Feel-Good Factor in the Group

In the gym, anyone interested in Zumba should be able to find the right group of participants for them. For example, Zumba Gold is primarily aimed at older participants, while Zumbatomic is aimed at the younger target group of under-twelve-year-olds. Another special feature is that Zumba classes in Germany - unlike in South and North America - are primarily taken by women. Many of the ladies enjoy escaping prying eyes here.

7

Zumba as a Statement and Attitude to Life

Avowed Zumba fans can openly display their love for their sport. Over the years, an independent fashion style has developed that clearly shows the joie de vivre and enthusiasm for the fitness trend: loose cut, fresh, often bright colours, plus the Zumba logo. Of course, there's also the matching shoes, which for sporty reasons largely do without tread soles.

8

Love of Music

No other fitness sport is as closely linked to music as Zumba. Many musical styles flow into the Zumba music, for example Raggeaton, Salsa and Merengue but also Flamenco, Mambo, Samba and many more. Each song has its own choreography, which the dancers can also participate in. Zumba fans can also purchase the songs of the season on CD / DVD and become active at home or at parties beyond the gym.

9

Zumba is Socializing

The common fun and the dancing pleasure are in the foreground with Zumba. Thanks to the Latin American rhythms, there is a party atmosphere despite the hard workout. This feeling also carries over after the courses. The affinity of the participants leads to new contacts and new friendships. With Zumba, socialising is the order of the day.

10

Zumba Dancing Is the Perfect Balance

For some, Zumba is the ideal balance to the sedentary work at work, for others to the strictly timed strength training on the fitness equipment. Dancing clears your head and gives you new energy for life. And in addition you burn a lot of calories. The strengthening of the health refers thus to spirit and body. Zumba not only prevents back pain and damaged intervertebral discs, but also the feeling of stress and a possible burnout.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com


Comments


ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

ISPO.com is also available in English ×
 Zumba – zehn starke Argumente für das beliebte Tanz-Workout
Fitness | 19.04.2016

Top 10: die besten Gründe für Zumba

Zumba – zehn starke Argumente für das beliebte Tanz-Workout

Zumba – zehn starke Argumente für das beliebte Tanz-Workout . Zumba – intensives Fitnesstraining und jede Menge Lebensfreude (Quelle: Thinkstock )
Zumba – intensives Fitnesstraining und jede Menge Lebensfreude
Bild: Thinkstock
Artikel bewerten:
Fitnesstrainer Alberto Perez gelingt es in den 1990ern, Tanz und Workout in einem sportlichen Rausch der Lebensfreude miteinander zu verbinden. Zumba nennt der geschäftstüchtige Kolumbianer seinen Geniestreich, der Millionen Freizeitsportler in aller Welt mitreißt. Zehn gute Gründe für den Tanz-Fitness-Trend.

Grund Nr.1 – Krafttraining für die Gesundheit

Der Fitness-Tanz Zumba stellt hohe Anforderungen an den Bewegungsapparat und gilt damit als höchst effektives Workout. Das wird auch von Sportmedizinern bestätigt. So stellt Dr. Perikles Simon, Leiter der Sportmedizin an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz bei gesundheit.de fest, „durch die flexiblen Bewegungen beim Tanzen werden nicht nur die großen Muskelgruppen angesprochen, sondern auch kleinere Muskelgruppen, die vor allem für die Stabilisierung des Rumpfes von Bedeutung sind“. Zumba sei damit geeignet, Rückenschmerzen vorzubeugen. Zugleich werde das Herz-Kreislaufsystem in Schwung gebracht und die Koordination geschult.


Grund Nr.2 – Tanzend abnehmen mit Zumba

Aufgrund der hohen Intensität der rhythmischen Bewegungen werden beim Zumba besonders viele Kalorien verbrannt. Wer abnehmen will, ist in den Kursen daher genau richtig. Je nach körperlicher Konstitution und Programm gilt ein Verbrauch von bis zu 1.000 Kalorien pro Stunde als realistisch.

Grund Nr.3 – die Motivation kommt mit Zumba wie von allein

Zumba ist ein Gruppensport, Kurse unterschiedlicher Art gibt es in fast allen größeren Fitnessstudios. Da man hier stets mit Gleichgesinnten tanzt und trainiert, entsteht eine ganz eigene Sogwirkung. Während sich der Einzelkämpfer auf dem Laufband oder beim Krafttraining an den Maschinen immer neu überwinden muss, treibt die Zumba-Sportler die Vorfreude auf das nächste Training fast von allein wieder ins Fitness-Studio.

Grund Nr.4 – die ideale Kombination

Die Kombination aus Tanz und Sport, Rhythmus, Musik und hartem Workout steht für pure Lebensfreude. Die Kurs-Teilnahme macht Spaß, zugleich spüren die Teilnehmer schnell den positiven Effekt auf Gesundheit und Fitness. Anders als beispielsweise im Bootcamp oder beim Crossfit-Training ist Zumba also eine eher spielerische Art, den eigenen Körper zu trainieren.

Grund Nr.5 – variantenreiches Krafttraining

Beim Zumba gibt es gleich zwei Wege der Variation, langweilig wird diese Form von Fitness- und Krafttraining im Fitnessstudio so schnell also nicht. Zum einen gibt es unterschiedliche Ausprägungen beim Tanz selbst, zum Beispiel Zumba Sentao, beim dem ein Stuhl ins Training einbezogen wird. Zum anderen besteht immer die Möglichkeit, sich zum Zumba Instruktor zu qualifizieren und damit vielleicht selbst Trainingskurse abzuhalten.

Grund Nr.6 – Wohlfühlfaktor in der Gruppe

Im Fitnessstudio sollte es jedem Zumba-Interessierten gelingen, den für ihn geeigneten Teilnehmerkreis zu finden. So richtet sich das Angebot Zumba Gold vorrangig an ältere Teilnehmer, Zumbatomic dagegen an die jüngere Zielgruppe der Unter-Zwölfjährigen. Eine Besonderheit ist auch, dass die Zumba-Kurse in Deutschland – anders als in Süd- und Nordamerika – vorrangig von Frauen belegt werden. Viele der Damen genießen es, hier neugierigen Blicken zu entgehen.


Grund Nr.7 – Zumba als Statement und Lebenseinstellung

Bekennende Zumba-Fans können die Liebe zu ihrem Sport offen zur Schau tragen. So hat sich über die Jahre ein eigenständiger Modestil entwickelt, der die Lebensfreude und die Begeisterung für den Fitness-Trend deutlich zeigt: Lockerer Schnitt, frische, oft knallbunte Farben, dazu das Zumba-Logo. Natürlich gibt’s auch die passenden Schuhe dazu, bei denen aus sportlichen Gründen weitgehend auf Profilsohlen verzichtet wird.

Grund Nr.8 – Zumba aus Liebe zur Musik

Keine andere Fitness-Sportart ist so eng mit der Musik verbunden wie Zumba. Dabei fließen viele Musikstile in die Zumba-Musik ein, zum Beispiel Raggeaton, Salsa und Merengue aber auch Flamenco, Mambo, Samba und viele weitere. Zu jedem Song wird eine eigene Choreografie entwickelt, woran auch die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer mitwirken können. Zumba-Fans können die Songs der Saison auch auf CD / DVD erwerben und zuhause oder auf Partys jenseits des Fitnessstudios aktiv werden.

Grund Nr.9 – Zumba ist Geselligkeit

Der gemeinsame Spaß und das tänzerische Vergnügen stehen bei Zumba im Vordergrund. Schon dank der lateinamerikanischen Rhythmen herrscht trotz des harten Workouts Party-Stimmung. Dieses Gefühl trägt auch nach den Kursen. Die Seelenverwandtschaft der Teilnehmer führt zu neuen Kontakten und neuen Freundschaften. Beim Zumba ist Geselligkeit Programm.

Grund Nr.10 – Zumba ist ein Ausgleich

Für die einen ist Zumba der ideale Ausgleich zur sitzenden Tätigkeit im Beruf, für die anderen zum streng getakteten Krafttraining an den Fitnessgeräten. Beim Tanz bekommt man den Kopf frei und tankt neue Lebensenergie. Die Stärkung der Gesundheit bezieht sich also auf Geist und Körper. So beugt man beim Zumba nicht nur Rückenschmerzen und Bandscheibenschäden vor, sondern auch dem Gefühl von Stress und einem möglichen Burnout.
 

ISPO (Quelle: ISPO)
Ein Beitrag von ISPO.com, Redaktion
Kommentare
Top Themen
ISPO Newsletter
ISPO Newsletter
Jetzt anmelden
Social Media