5

Bouldering: The Stars of the Scene

LISTICLE | 08/04/2021
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

Bouldering not only attracts more and more hobby climbers to the rock wall, but also in the competitive sport new records are set every year. The popularity of the stars of the scene is increasing - we present some professionals who have made it to the top not only on the wall.

Dizzying heights - not a thing with bouldering. But precisely because of the manageable fall height, the unsecured climbing sport is a real challenge for body and mind. Technique, skill and creativity are required, not excessive daring. To master the treacherous passages, you need not least brains paired with the right instinct - your own skills are tested again and again.

In the meantime, bouldering has developed from a sometimes ridiculed fringe sport to a real trend. Newcomers and experienced hobby athletes flock to the bouldering halls. There have also been some changes in the competitive sport. For example, the official World Climbing Cup of the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC) is becoming increasingly important. The top athletes have become real stars in the ever-growing bouldering scene.

 

1

Jan Hojer

In 2008, he won the German championships in difficulty climbing in his very first year in the adult class. In 2014, he came third at the World Bouldering Championships in Munich and also won the overall World Cup. A year later, the European championship title and a second place in the overall World Cup followed.

Boulderer Jan Hojer can boast a whole list of international titles and is not considered an absolute star of the bouldering scene for nothing. For his competitions, the Cologne native trains at least three hours a day and, in addition to targeted fitness and strength training, tries to excel both indoors and on natural rock: "In bouldering, you're strongest when you're young; in ten years, I won't be as good. I would have been sorry to waste the time and miss the chance to experience such a peak in my life," Hojer explains to the German Alpine Club's magazine "Panorama".

2

Early Practice ... - Juliane Wurm

The women's world is also represented in the bouldering scene with some top athletes. At the tender age of 16, Juliane Wurm already became the youngest German champion of all time in the field of climbing. In the course of her career so far, 15 more titles at German championships followed, so that the boulderer can also claim the title of Germany's most successful bouldering athlete.

Wurm is also at the forefront on an international level. In 2014, for example, she not only won the world bouldering title at the 2014 World Climbing Championships, but also took the title at the European Bouldering Championships in Innsbruck the following year.

And what does the record holder love about bouldering? "In bouldering, the moves are more athletic and coordinative and it's often more playful than rope climbing. In training, I like the fact that bouldering is more varied and it doesn't get boring so quickly!", Wurm revealed in an interview with the online magazine "Am Fels".

3

Adam Ondra

At the age of 13, Czech-born Adam Ondra was already among the world's best in sport climbing and bouldering. In his first World Cup participation in the men's class in 2009, the now 27-year-old was able to claim the runner-up title in lead climbing right away. A year later, he won the overall World Cup and finally crowned his performance in 2014 with the World Championship title in bouldering and lead climbing.

In addition to competitive climbing, Ondra is always drawn to the outdoors, where he was able to conquer some of the world's hardest climbing routes at a young age, such as "La Rambla" and "La Dura Dura" - both in Catalonia.
Where does the Czech get the energy to master such devilish routes? "Everybody has animal instincts - I don't mean to scream like mad, but to be completely concentrated, totally absorbed in what you are doing, so that time seems to stand still. But few people can find that animal in themselves - children can do it much better. They play. I play when I climb," Ondra reveals to klettern.de.

4

Two-time world champion - Anna Stöhr

Austria is also a bouldering powerhouse. Women's power is provided by 32-year-old Anna Stöhr, who won the World Youth Championships in Bulgaria at the age of 15. In addition to numerous other national and international titles, the bouldering world championship titles in 2007 and 2011 are among Stöhr's greatest successes.

The sports and English student can also be found on the rock. Her most outstanding achievement was conquering the route "The Riverbed" in Switzerland with a difficulty of 8b: "During the competition period, I tend to be indoors. During the rest of the year I am almost exclusively on the rock! Unfortunately, I can't reveal my secret areas here, because I prefer it quiet when bouldering", Stör reveals in the interview with "Am fels.de".

5

Alex Megos

Alexander Megos is one of the best rock climbers and boulderers in the world, and with his ambition and discipline he became the first climber to climb a 9a rated route on-sight - on his first attempt. Overnight, this made him famous and he has continued to climb relentlessly ever since. Megos has since climbed the hardest routes on the climbing scene, putting him at the top of the world. In 2013, he climbed, among other things, the hardest bouldering route with the so-called "Wheelchair" and the hardest route in Australia with R.E.D of difficulty 9a. He also qualified for the Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com
Topics in this article


ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com






Comments

ISPO.com is also available in English ×
 Trendsport Bouldern: Die Stars der Szene
Outdoor | 07.04.2016

Stars der Boulder-Szene

Trendsport Bouldern: Die Stars der Szene

. Bouldern am Limit – die Stars einer aufstrebenden Szene (Quelle: Thinkstock )
Bouldern am Limit – die Stars einer aufstrebenden Szene
Bild: Thinkstock
Artikel teilen:
Artikel bewerten:
Bouldern zieht nicht nur immer mehr Hobbykletterer an die Felswand, auch im Wettkampfsport werden jährlich neue Bestmarken gesetzt. Die Popularität der Stars der Szene steigt – wir stellen einige Profis vor, die es nicht nur an der Wand bis an die Spitze geschafft haben.

Schwindelerregende Höhen – beim Bouldern Fehlanzeige. Aber gerade wegen der überschaubaren Fallhöhe ist der ungesicherte Klettersport eine echte Herausforderung für Körper und Geist. Technik, Geschick und Kreativität sind gefragt, nicht übertriebener Wagemut. Um die tückischen Passagen zu meistern, braucht es nicht zuletzt Köpfchen gepaart mit dem richtigen Instinkt – die eigenen Fähigkeiten werden dabei immer wieder aufs Neue auf die Probe gestellt.

Mittlerweile hat sich das Bouldern von einer teils belächelten Randsportart zu einem echten Trend entwickelt. Neueinsteiger und erprobte Hobby-Athleten strömen in die Boulder-Hallen. Auch im Wettkampfsport hat sich einiges getan. So gewinnt der offizielle Weltklettercup der International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC) zunehmend an Bedeutung. Die Top-Athleten haben sich in der stetig wachsenden Boulder-Szene zu echten Stars entwickelt.


Das Nachwuchstalent – Jan Hojer

Im Jahr 2008 gewann er gleich in seinem ersten Jahr in der Erwachsenen-Klasse die deutschen Meisterschaften im Schwierigkeitsklettern. 2014 wurde er Dritter bei den Weltmeisterschaften im Bouldern in München und konnte zusätzlich den Sieg im Gesamtweltcup für sich verbuchen. Ein Jahr später folgten der Europameistertitel und ein zweiter Platz beim Gesamtweltcup.

Obwohl erst 24 Jahre alt, kann Boulderer Jan Hojer eine ganze Liste an internationalen Titeln vorweisen und gilt nicht umsonst als bestes Nachwuchstalent und absoluter Star der Boulder-Szene. Für seine Wettkämpfe trainiert der gebürtige Kölner mindestens drei Stunden täglich und versucht, neben gezieltem Fitness- und Krafttraining sowohl in der Halle, als auch am Naturfels zu glänzen: „Beim Bouldern bist du jung am stärksten; in zehn Jahren werde ich nicht mehr so gut sein. Es hätte mir leid getan, die Zeit zu verschwenden und die Chance zu verpassen, in meinem Leben so einen Höhepunkt zu erleben“, erklärt Hojer dem Magazin des Deutschen Alpenvereins „Panorama“.

Früh übt sich … – Juliane Wurm

Auch die Damenwelt ist in der Boulder-Szene mit einigen Top-Athletinnen vertreten. Bereits im zarten Alter von 16 Jahren wurde Juliane Wurm zur jüngsten deutschen Meisterin aller Zeiten im Bereich Klettern. Im Laufe ihrer bisherigen Karriere folgten 15 weitere Titel bei deutschen Meisterschaften, so dass die 25-Jährige auch den Titel der erfolgreichsten Boulder-Sportlerin Deutschlands für sich in Anspruch nehmen kann.

Auch auf internationaler Ebene ist Wurm ganz vorn mit dabei. So konnte sie 2014 nicht nur den Weltmeistertitel im Bereich Bouldern bei der Kletterweltmeisterschaft 2014 gewinnen, sondern im folgenden Jahr auch noch den Titel bei der Boulder-EM in Innsbruck holen.

Und was gefällt der Rekordhalterin so am Bouldern? „Beim Bouldern sind die Züge athletischer und koordinativer und es ist oft verspielter als das Seilklettern. Im Training finde ich es gut, dass das Bouldern abwechslungsreicher ist und es so nicht so schnell langweilig wird!“, verriet Wurm im Interview mit dem Online-Magazin „Am Fels“.

Jünger geht immer – Adam Ondra

Schon mit 13 Jahren gehörte der gebürtige Tscheche Adam Ondra zur Weltspitze im Sportklettern und Bouldern. Bei seiner ersten Weltcup-Teilnahme in der Männerklasse 2009 konnte der heute 23-Jährige auf Anhieb den Vizeweltmeistertitel im Leadklettern für sich herausholen. Ein Jahr darauf entschied er den Gesamtweltcupsieg für sich, um seine Leistung schließlich 2014 mit dem Weltmeistertitel im Bouldern und Leadklettern zu krönen.


Neben dem Wettkampfsport zieht es Ondra immer wieder in Natur, wo er bereits in jungen Jahren einige der schwersten Kletter-Routen der Welt, wie „La Rambla“ und „La Dura Dura“ – beide in Katalonien, bezwingen konnte.
Woher holt der Tscheche die Energie, um derartige Teufelsrouten zu meistern?: „Jeder hat animalische Instinkte - ich meine jetzt nicht wie wild rum zu schreien, aber eben komplett konzentriert zu sein, total vertieft in das, was man gerade tut, so dass die Zeit stehenzubleiben scheint. Aber nur wenige Menschen können dieses Tier in sich selbst finden - Kinder können das viel besser. Sie spielen. Ich spiele, wenn ich klettere.“, verrät Ondra bei klettern.de.

Zweifache Weltmeisterin – Anna Stöhr

Auch in Österreich wird beim Bouldern ordentlich Gas gegeben. Für Frauenpower sorgt hier die 27-jährige Anna Stöhr, die bereits mit 15 Jahren die Jugend-Weltmeisterschaft in Bulgarien für sich entscheiden konnte. Neben zahlreichen weiteren nationalen und internationalen Titeln, gehören die Weltmeistertitel im Bouldern in den Jahren 2007 und 2011 zu Störs größten Erfolgen.

Auch am Fels ist die Sport- und Englischstudentin anzutreffen. Als herausragend gilt hier das Bezwingen der Route „The Riverbed“ in der Schweiz mit einem Schwierigkeitsgrad von 8b: „Unmittelbar während der Wettkampfzeit bin ich eher in der Halle anzutreffen. Im restlichen Jahr bin ich fast ausschließlich am Fels unterwegs! Meine Geheimgebiete kann ich hier leider nicht verraten, denn ich hab es lieber ruhig beim Bouldern“, verrät Stör im Interview mit „Am fels.de“

ISPO (Quelle: ISPO)
Ein Beitrag von ISPO.com, Redaktion
Kommentare
Top Themen
ISPO Newsletter
ISPO Newsletter
Jetzt anmelden
Social Media