ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com

Seven Summits: Mont Blanc

Mont Blanc: Mountain with 4810 Vertical Meters

Is Mont Blanc one of the Seven Summits, meaning it is the highest peak in Europe? Not for most mountain lovers. They give preference to Elbrus, which is on the very edge of Europe, but not yet in Asia either. As the highest peak in the Alps, Central Europe and the EU, Mont Blanc doesn't need any further honours either, it's world famous anyway.

Mont Blanc stretches across France and Italy

If you were to look at a map from the end of the 16th century, Mont Blanc would probably already be on the map. However, you would still have to look for it here under the name "Montagne Maudite" - the cursed mountain. For many centuries, the mountain was considered by the people of the region to be a stronghold of evil. Ghosts were suspected under its glaciers, which should not be disturbed. And dragons? There were dragons too, of course.

If you read the news from today, the question often arises whether the people of that time were perhaps not so wrong. Although neither ghosts nor dragons have been sighted, dozens of climbers die every year, especially in the Mont Blanc massif. They are buried under avalanches of snow while climbing, fall into the depths with overhangs or simply die of hypothermia or overexertion.

Mountaineering on Mont Blanc

But history cannot be turned back, and only very few people would seriously want to do so. The history of mountaineering on Mont Blanc - which is also considered the beginning of modern alpinism - begins in the middle of the 18th century. By then, the mountain had already been surveyed and had earned the title of the highest peak in Europe - a superlative that still arouses desires today. The hunt for the summit began in 1760, spurred on by the Swiss naturalist Horace-Bénédict de Saussure, who not only offered a prize for the first ascent, but also attempted it himself. Like many other mountaineers, he fails, which is probably mainly due to the fact that one always starts from the bottom. Because a night on the "Cursed Mountain"? So far, that's out of the question.

Der Mont Blanc ist der höchste Berg der Alpen.

It was not until 1786 that the local mountaineer Jacques Balmat, born in Chamonix in 1762, suffered a momentous mishap: he became separated from his group and was forced to stay at around 4,000 metres. He bivouacs, survives and learns. Only a few weeks later, on August 7, 1786, he finds a like-minded person in Michel-Gebriel Paccard and climbs with him to an altitude of about 2,300 meters. The following day, early in the morning, the men continued their tour. The result: at 6:23 p.m., the first two people stand on the summit of Mont Blanc, which incidentally still belonged to the Kingdom of Sardinia at the time. Four years later, Balmat also shows his gratitude to the Geneva scientist de Saussure and climbs the highest Alpine peak together with him.

Mountaineering on Mont Blanc Today

The mountain friends who set off today in the direction of the summit are counted in hundreds. Even parents with their underage children set off. This is probably also due to the good infrastructure, which allows a relatively easy ascent - and thus often enough leads to overestimating oneself. 4,810 meters of altitude remain, even if you are not the first.

From Italy and France - the mountain is in the middle - there are several routes that are considered common today. The main route is probably the ascent in the northwest, which most start at just under 2,400 meters of altitude. This is where the cogwheel railway "Tramway du Mont-Blanc" ends, starting in the French village of Le Fayet, some 12 kilometres away. From the vantage point at the cogwheel railway, the route ends via the Bosses ridge to the summit.

Mountaineering at Any Price?

In addition to other routes, especially from the neighboring Aiguille du Midi, which can be reached by cable car, experienced climbers can also try alternative climbing routes of high difficulty. In this way, they escape the mass activity that extreme mountaineer Arved Fuchs castigated in Focus in 2012 with the words, "nature is being degraded to a kind of amusement park". At the time, nine climbers had just died again in an avalanche on Mont Blanc. It is the mountain with the highest accident statistics worldwide. Unfortunately, many climbers underestimate the demanding ascent.

Share article
ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com


ISPO.com Logo
Author:
ISPO.com






Comments

ISPO.com is also available in English ×
 Mont Blanc – Traumgipfel für Berg-Enthusiasten in aller Welt
Outdoor | 23.02.2016

Seven Summits: Mont Blanc

Mont Blanc – Traumgipfel für Berg-Enthusiasten in aller Welt

. Bergsteiger-Wetter: Sonnenschein am Mont Blanc  (Quelle: Thinkstock )
Bergsteiger-Wetter: Sonnenschein am Mont Blanc
Bild: Thinkstock
Artikel bewerten:
Gehört der Mont Blanc zu den Seven Summits, also ist er der höchste Gipfel Europas? Für die meisten Bergfreunde nicht. Sie geben dem Elbrus den Vorzug, der zwar ganz am Rande Europas, aber auch noch nicht in Asien steht. Als höchster Gipfel der Alpen, Mitteleuropas und der EU braucht der Mont Blanc weitere Ehren auch nicht, weltberühmt ist er ohnehin.


Nähme man eine Landkarte vom Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts zur Hand, wäre der Mont Blanc wohl schon verzeichnet. Allerdings müsste man ihn hier noch unter dem Namen „Montagne Maudite“ – der verfluchte Berg – suchen. Denn über viele Jahrhunderte galt der Berg bei den Menschen in der Region als Hort des Bösen. Geister wurden unter seinen Gletschern vermutet, die man tunlichst nicht stören sollte. Und Drachen? Die gab es natürlich auch.

Liest man die Nachrichten aus heutiger Zeit, stellt sich oft die Frage, ob die Menschen von damals vielleicht gar nicht so falsch lagen. Zwar wurden bisher weder Geister noch Drachen gesichtet, doch finden gerade im Mont-Blanc-Massiv Jahr für Jahr Dutzende Bergsteiger den Tod. Sie werden beim Bergsteigen unter Schneelawinen begraben, stürzen mit Überhängen in die Tiefe oder sterben schlicht an Unterkühlung oder Überanstrengung.

Bergsteigen am Mont Blanc

Doch zurückdrehen lässt sich die Geschichte nicht, und ernsthaft würden das auch nur die Wenigsten wollen. Die Geschichte des Bergsports am Mont Blanc – die zugleich als Beginn des modernen Alpinismus gilt – beginnt in der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Da ist der Berg bereits vermessen und hat sich dabei den Titel des höchsten Gipfels in Europa erworben – ein Superlativ, der bis heute Begehrlichkeiten weckt. Es beginnt die Jagd auf den Gipfel, um 1760 befeuert durch den Schweizer Naturforscher Horace-Bénédict de Saussure, der nicht nur ein Preisgeld für die Erstbesteigung aussetzt, sondern gleich selbst einen Versuch wagt. Wie viele andere Bergsteiger auch scheitert er, was wohl vor allem im Zusammenhang damit steht, dass man immer wieder von ganz unten beginnt. Denn eine Nacht auf dem „Verfluchten Berg“? Das kommt bis dato nicht in Betracht.


Erst 1786 passiert dem ortsansässigen Bergsteiger Jacques Balmat, geboren 1762 in Chamonix, ein folgenschweres Missgeschick: Er wird von seiner Gruppe getrennt und muss, erzwungener Maßen, auf etwa 4.000 Metern verweilen. Er biwakiert, überlebt und lernt. Nur wenige Wochen später, am 7. August 1786, sucht er sich in Michel-Gebriel Paccard einen Gleichgesinnten und steigt mit ihm bis zu einer Höhe von rund 2.300 Metern auf. Am Folgetag früh am Morgen setzen die Männer ihre Tour fort. Das Resultat: Um 18.23 Uhr stehen die ersten beiden Menschen auf dem Gipfel des Mont Blanc, der damals übrigens noch zum Königreich Sardinien gehört. Vier Jahre später zeigt sich Balmat dann auch noch bei dem Genfer Wissenschaftler de Saussure erkenntlich und steigt mit ihm gemeinsam auf den höchsten Alpengipfel. 

Bergsteigen am Mont Blanc heute

Die Bergfreunde, die heute in Richtung Gipfel aufbrechen, werden in Hunderten gezählt. Selbst Eltern mit ihren minderjährigen Kindern machen sich auf den Weg. Das liegt wohl auch an der guten Infrastruktur, die eine verhältnismäßig einfache Besteigung ermöglicht – und damit oft genug zur Selbstüberschätzung führt. 4.810 Höhenmeter bleiben es, auch wenn man nicht der Erste ist.

Von Italien und Frankreich aus – der Berg liegt in der Mitte – gibt es mehrere Routen, die heute als üblich gelten. Hauptroute ist wohl der Aufstieg im Nordwesten, den die meisten in knapp 2.400 Höhenmetern beginnen. Hier endet die Zahnradbahn „Tramway du Mont-Blanc“, die im rund 12 Kilometer entfernten französischen Ort Le Fayet ihren Anfang nimmt. Vom Aussichtspunkt an der Zahnradbahn geht es am Ende über den Bossesgrat zum Gipfel.

Bergsteigen um jeden Preis?

Neben weiteren Routen, vor allem vom benachbarten Aiguille du Midi, der per Seilbahn erreichbar ist, können erfahrene Bergsteiger auch alternative Kletterwege hoher Schwierigkeit probieren. Sie entgehen so dem Massenbetrieb, den Extrembergsteiger Arved Fuchs 2012 im Focus mit den Worten geißelt, „die Natur wird zu einer Art Freizeitpark degradiert“. Damals waren am Mont Blanc gerade wieder neun Bergsteiger bei einem Lawinenunglück ums Leben gekommen.
    

ISPO (Quelle: ISPO)
Ein Beitrag von ISPO.com, Redaktion
Kommentare
Top Themen
ISPO Newsletter
ISPO Newsletter
Jetzt anmelden
Social Media